We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Without words

Words cannot possibly describe what you witness during this 50-minutes flight. It feels like... read more

Reviewed 9 October 2018
Daniel M
Truly breathtaking!!

We took the Grand Traverse flight which we couldn’t recommended more!!! The scenery was truly... read more

Reviewed 11 September 2018
Lovestoholiday24
,
Brisbane, Australia
via mobile
Read all 271 reviews
  
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
257
10
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
257
10
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand traverse window seat mt cook southern alps scenic flight franz josef minute flight great flight smooth flight great commentary superb experience new zealand milford sound bucket list highlight of our trip south island snow landing
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2017

This was the most amazing experience, up there with sky diving in Abel Tasman. Was expecting a pretty flight up to see Mt Cook but it was so much more. Pilot Tom loves his job and sharing his knowledge of the geography of this fascinating area, I felt like signing up for a geology degree after this trip. Views are out of this world, it felt a privilege to be blessed to see the sights we did!

1  Thank JaneReigate_Surreyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

We had driven to Lake Tekapo from the west coast of South Island and called in to view both Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers. At the standard viewpoints the views are anything but impressive and this is because of the massive level of glacial retreat. Having seen these iconic glaciers we were uncertain whether a flight would add that much. But it was just wow up there. The views are awesome and it was just incredible to see the full length of the glaciers.

The flight was smooth, the pilot's commentary perfect - informative but not intrusive - and the views and photographic opportunities out of the window during our 50 minute flight truly breathtaking.

If you want a truly memorable experience and are in the Lake Tekapo area then this really is a must do trip. Brilliant company, flight and experience.

Thank mikeedeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Wow! We saw it all during our flight with Air Safari, Mt Cook, Mt Tasman, Franz Josef Glacier, Fox Glacier, Tasman Glacier, Lake Tekapo,... We got a brand new perspective on all the iconic places of the South Island. It was simply an incredible journey!

Thank Robin_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016

What an amazing experience!
We had to wait a day for the weather to settle but on the morning of our flight the wind had dropped and visibility was fantastic.
The reception at the airport was very friendly, and the atmosphere very relaxed.
The 50 minute flight was awesome! The views of the lakes, glaciers and snow capped peaks unforgettable!
Our pilot gave us a running commentary and made sure we got the best photo opportunities.
I'd strongly recommend it to anybody- just do it! You only live once!

Thank rosie_lusznat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2016

We boarded at Lake Tekapo. This is an amazing experience seeing the Alpine scenery from the air. You get an on board guide which is easy to follow and gives you all the details about what you are viewing. We had a beautiful sunny clear day which made the trip even more spectacular .
Firstly you fly over the length of Lake Tekapo ,see the glacial streams winding their way into the lake - beautiful colours against the moraines then the glaciers themselves - awesome and for me the best way to appreciate their beauty, then past the top of Mt .Cook with its sparkling snow and ice fields - skiers dotted on the landscape.
This definitely is the best way to appreciate the beauty of this area . The trip is about an hour and at NZ $720 per person was money well spent . Totally loved this!

Thank Brandylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Air_Safaris, Sales Representive at Air Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Hi Brandylady,

Thank you very much for your detailed review,

Your very much right with that one, experiencing the Alpine scenery from the air is the best way to do so. We do enjoy being able to share these experiences with people coming through Lake Tekapo.

We're glad you had a nice experience with us and thank you again for your lovely comment.

Kind Regards,

The AirSafaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews