We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Flight!”
Review of Air Safaris

Air Safaris
Ranked #4 of 18 things to do in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This premier Aoraki / Mount Cook flightseeing experience, 'The Grand Traverse' encompasses two World Heritage National Parks in a tour of 200kms amongst New Zealand's highest mountains and largest glaciers. From the golden tussock lands, turquoise glacier lakes and huge glacial valleys of the Mackenzie Basin around Aoraki Mt Cook, Mt Tasman and the Tasman Glacier to the coastal plains of Westland and the dramatic icefalls of the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers. Every passenger has a window seat and all aircraft have wings-above to ensure optimum viewing below. Pilots provide a full and informative commentary with multi language commentary brochures supplied. We also offer exciting helicopter flights from Tekapo with alpine landing and an incredible Combo Flightseeing Experience featuring the MacKenzie Explorer heli-flight plus Grand Traverse fixed wing. The best of both worlds!
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Wow! We saw it all during our flight with Air Safari, Mt Cook, Mt Tasman, Franz Josef Glacier, Fox Glacier, Tasman Glacier, Lake Tekapo,... We got a brand new perspective on all the iconic places of the South Island. It was simply an incredible journey!

Thank Robin_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 39 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2016

What an amazing experience!
We had to wait a day for the weather to settle but on the morning of our flight the wind had dropped and visibility was fantastic.
The reception at the airport was very friendly, and the atmosphere very relaxed.
The 50 minute flight was awesome! The views of the lakes, glaciers and snow capped peaks unforgettable!
Our pilot gave us a running commentary and made sure we got the best photo opportunities.
I'd strongly recommend it to anybody- just do it! You only live once!

Thank rosie_lusznat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2016

We boarded at Lake Tekapo. This is an amazing experience seeing the Alpine scenery from the air. You get an on board guide which is easy to follow and gives you all the details about what you are viewing. We had a beautiful sunny clear day which made the trip even more spectacular .
Firstly you fly over the length of Lake Tekapo ,see the glacial streams winding their way into the lake - beautiful colours against the moraines then the glaciers themselves - awesome and for me the best way to appreciate their beauty, then past the top of Mt .Cook with its sparkling snow and ice fields - skiers dotted on the landscape.
This definitely is the best way to appreciate the beauty of this area . The trip is about an hour and at NZ $720 per person was money well spent . Totally loved this!

Thank Brandylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Air_Safaris, Sales Representive at Air Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Hi Brandylady,

Thank you very much for your detailed review,

Your very much right with that one, experiencing the Alpine scenery from the air is the best way to do so. We do enjoy being able to share these experiences with people coming through Lake Tekapo.

We're glad you had a nice experience with us and thank you again for your lovely comment.

Kind Regards,

The AirSafaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

We arrived in Tekapo, the sun was shining and we decided to check is Air Safaris had availability for their Grand Traverse plane flight over the Southern Alps. We expected to book in for the following day, however Lyndsey said they had availability at 4pm that afternoon, so we took advantage of the good weather and jumped on. The tour, flown by Rob, was breathtaking. Up over Lake Tekapo, over the alps, views of the glaciers and past Mt Cook. Rob provided a great commentary of what we were seeing as we flew over also. Very smooth trip, amazing scenery and wonderful service. Highly recommended.

Thank Jenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Air_Safaris, Sales Representive at Air Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Hi Jenn,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience with us,

Good on your for jumping on the earlier flight that day, we do believe in getting people flying when we know the weather and views are perfect at the time!

Glad you had an all round great experience with us and thank you very much for the recommendation we appreciate it.

We hope you enjoy your time Lake Tekapo

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

We had an amazing flight. The ride was smooth. The view was spectacular. The staff was terrific. The plane was comfortable.

Thank Judi912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Air_Safaris, Sales Representive at Air Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Hi Judi,

Thank you very much for your review,

Glad you had a great flight with us and it was smooth enough for you on that day, it makes it all that much better when the weather is on our side.

Thank you again and we hope you enjoyed your time in Lake Tekapo.

Kind Regards,

The Air Safaris Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Air Safaris also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Air Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing