We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVED Barberry Hill!”
Review of Barberry Hill

Barberry Hill
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barberry Hill
Ranked #6 of 8 Stratford B&B and Inns
Haifa District, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We LOVED Barberry Hill!”
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We stayed in The Shed, a modern, clean, spacious well-equipped loft space that had terrific views of the farming landscape. Our hosts, Margaret and Peter, were very nice and helpful. We were extremely comfortable and happy there!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

After looking at booking in Palm North I then asked myself why did I want to stay in a city? I found barberry hill and we had a very nice 2 days of relaxing time here. Being 5 mins from Stratford meant easy access to here and attractions. The room is very generous size and has great views. Aa+recommend

Stayed March 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile


We stayed at Barberry Hill for a couple nights over valentines weekend. Just wanted to say thank you for the lovely services and accommodation. We enjoyed all the goodies set out for breakfast and of course the milk is to die for.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back in the future.

Stayed February 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Julene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2016

We stayed in 6 different places in the north island and this was the hands-down winner, not to mention best value. Other options near Mt Taranaki were full and we're thrilled we ended up at Barberry Hill. I'm not quite sure why the Trip Advisor algorithm doesn't rank this fantastic spot higher.

The hosts are delightful and the setting is lovely, on a small dairy farm which produces delicious raw (not pasteurised or homogenised) milk. The loft itself - we stayed in The Shed - was spacious, tastefully furnished, extremely well equipped and spotlessly clean. The views are beautiful, especially when the weather co-operates. And if it doesn't, I can't think of a better plan than to snuggle on the window seat and relax. The breakfast "basket" was generous and varied: a welcome perk.

The two slight drawbacks for us were a) Some biting flies: use bug spray and you should be OK. b) The town of Stratford was rather uninspiring, especially for dinner options. But, as mentioned, the loft has everything you need to prepare meals (including a barbecue on the deck, if that's your thing), and it's such a beautiful space, eating there is a pleasure.

I kicked myself for only booking two nights here. Despite the 12 hour flight for us to reach NZ, we're already wondering how to justify going back and staying longer. If you're visiting this area, don't hesitate to book.

  • Stayed December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pogmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2015 via mobile

I will never stay anywhere else when in this area now. Fabulous hosts, great rooms (warm, clean, tidy, beautiful) - loved the goodies too. Could not have asked for more! And stunning scenery to boot! Highly recommend a stay here :)

  • Stayed February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WandAWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
18.5 km away
Dawson Falls Mountain Lodge
3.8 km away
Amity Court Motel
Amity Court Motel
#1 of 3 in Stratford
347 reviews
17.3 km away
Ngati Ruanui Stratford Mountain House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
ASURE Antonio Mews Motel
ASURE Antonio Mews Motel
#2 of 3 in Stratford
54 reviews
3.5 km away
Broadway Lodge Motel
Broadway Lodge Motel
#4 of 8 in Stratford
39 reviews
3.3 km away
Stratford Kiwi Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Stratford

Been to Barberry Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barberry Hill

Property: Barberry Hill
Address: 297 Warwick Road | Rd21, Stratford 4391, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > Stratford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price range (per night): $185
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barberry Hill accommodation offers a choice of two upstairs studios. Fully self contained, breakfast basket provided, spacious, comfortable, balcony, wood fire, free WiFi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing