We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$100
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Te Popo Gardens and Accommodation(Stratford)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$99
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stratford Kiwi Motels & Holiday Park(Stratford)(Great Value!)
US$47
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Room Service
Kiwi Court Motel(Hawera)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mount View Motel Hawera(Hawera)(Great Value!)
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tudor Lodge Motel(Hawera)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
12
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbarberrythe barnbreakfast basketa real treatpetemilk
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

After looking at booking in Palm North I then asked myself why did I want to stay in a city? I found barberry hill and we had a very nice 2 days of relaxing time here. Being 5 mins from Stratford meant easy access to here and attractions. The room is very generous size and has great views. Aa+recommend

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile


We stayed at Barberry Hill for a couple nights over valentines weekend. Just wanted to say thank you for the lovely services and accommodation. We enjoyed all the goodies set out for breakfast and of course the milk is to die for.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back in the future.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank Julene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2016

We stayed in 6 different places in the north island and this was the hands-down winner, not to mention best value. Other options near Mt Taranaki were full and we're thrilled we ended up at Barberry Hill. I'm not quite sure why the Trip Advisor algorithm doesn't rank this fantastic spot higher.

The hosts are delightful and the setting is lovely, on a small dairy farm which produces delicious raw (not pasteurised or homogenised) milk. The loft itself - we stayed in The Shed - was spacious, tastefully furnished, extremely well equipped and spotlessly clean. The views are beautiful, especially when the weather co-operates. And if it doesn't, I can't think of a better plan than to snuggle on the window seat and relax. The breakfast "basket" was generous and varied: a welcome perk.

The two slight drawbacks for us were a) Some biting flies: use bug spray and you should be OK. b) The town of Stratford was rather uninspiring, especially for dinner options. But, as mentioned, the loft has everything you need to prepare meals (including a barbecue on the deck, if that's your thing), and it's such a beautiful space, eating there is a pleasure.

I kicked myself for only booking two nights here. Despite the 12 hour flight for us to reach NZ, we're already wondering how to justify going back and staying longer. If you're visiting this area, don't hesitate to book.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pogmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2015 via mobile

I will never stay anywhere else when in this area now. Fabulous hosts, great rooms (warm, clean, tidy, beautiful) - loved the goodies too. Could not have asked for more! And stunning scenery to boot! Highly recommend a stay here :)

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WandAWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2014

What a wonderful place to get away from it all. The accommodation with Marg and Pete is everything we hoped for and more. It is clean, spacious, stylish and comfortable with all the modern amenities. Even the condiments needed to make a tasty meal are included. The views of the Mountain are truly spectacular and the working farm atmosphere is totally relaxing. The units are spotlessly clean and fitted out with everything we needed. The pictures don't really do the place justice. The breakfast basket was perfection. We highly recommend staying here when visiting the beautiful Taranaki Region. And don't forget to enjoy the real milk that's available and ask to have a look at the unique Dolly's Milk venture. This part of New Zealand wasn't on our radar when we decided to visit from Canada but we wouldn't have missed it for the world and we plan to return to Barberry Hill and tell our friends about it as well. I expect people will need to book well in advance once the word gets out.

Room Tip: Either unit is wonderful.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaV8785aa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews