We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay! Highly recommended ”
Review of Barberry Hill

Barberry Hill
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barberry Hill
Ranked #6 of 8 Stratford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile


We stayed at Barberry Hill for a couple nights over valentines weekend. Just wanted to say thank you for the lovely services and accommodation. We enjoyed all the goodies set out for breakfast and of course the milk is to die for.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back in the future.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank Julene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2016

We stayed in 6 different places in the north island and this was the hands-down winner, not to mention best value. Other options near Mt Taranaki were full and we're thrilled we ended up at Barberry Hill. I'm not quite sure why the Trip Advisor algorithm doesn't rank this fantastic spot higher.

The hosts are delightful and the setting is lovely, on a small dairy farm which produces delicious raw (not pasteurised or homogenised) milk. The loft itself - we stayed in The Shed - was spacious, tastefully furnished, extremely well equipped and spotlessly clean. The views are beautiful, especially when the weather co-operates. And if it doesn't, I can't think of a better plan than to snuggle on the window seat and relax. The breakfast "basket" was generous and varied: a welcome perk.

The two slight drawbacks for us were a) Some biting flies: use bug spray and you should be OK. b) The town of Stratford was rather uninspiring, especially for dinner options. But, as mentioned, the loft has everything you need to prepare meals (including a barbecue on the deck, if that's your thing), and it's such a beautiful space, eating there is a pleasure.

I kicked myself for only booking two nights here. Despite the 12 hour flight for us to reach NZ, we're already wondering how to justify going back and staying longer. If you're visiting this area, don't hesitate to book.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pogmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2015 via mobile

I will never stay anywhere else when in this area now. Fabulous hosts, great rooms (warm, clean, tidy, beautiful) - loved the goodies too. Could not have asked for more! And stunning scenery to boot! Highly recommend a stay here :)

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WandAWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2014

What a wonderful place to get away from it all. The accommodation with Marg and Pete is everything we hoped for and more. It is clean, spacious, stylish and comfortable with all the modern amenities. Even the condiments needed to make a tasty meal are included. The views of the Mountain are truly spectacular and the working farm atmosphere is totally relaxing. The units are spotlessly clean and fitted out with everything we needed. The pictures don't really do the place justice. The breakfast basket was perfection. We highly recommend staying here when visiting the beautiful Taranaki Region. And don't forget to enjoy the real milk that's available and ask to have a look at the unique Dolly's Milk venture. This part of New Zealand wasn't on our radar when we decided to visit from Canada but we wouldn't have missed it for the world and we plan to return to Barberry Hill and tell our friends about it as well. I expect people will need to book well in advance once the word gets out.

Room Tip: Either unit is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaV8785aa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at Barberry Hill for two nights in The Shed. The accommodation is spacious and comfortable. Very welcoming hosts who had the fire going after we arrived later than intended on a night of wet and wild weather. It was like old times to have fierce weather one day and stunning blue skies the next. No matter the weather, it was so cozy we didn't want to leave! Superb breakfast provisions including delicious homemade bread. The surrounding countryside is so lovely, such a treat to come back to the town where I grew up.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tammy_Mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
3.8 km away
Amity Court Motel
Amity Court Motel
#1 of 3 in Stratford
361 reviews
2.4 km away
ASURE Antonio Mews Motel
ASURE Antonio Mews Motel
#2 of 3 in Stratford
55 reviews
18.5 km away
Dawson Falls Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 km away
Ngati Ruanui Stratford Mountain House Hotel
3.5 km away
Broadway Lodge Motel
Broadway Lodge Motel
#4 of 8 in Stratford
40 reviews
3.3 km away
Stratford Kiwi Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Stratford

Been to Barberry Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barberry Hill

Address: 297 Warwick Road | Rd21, Stratford 4391, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > Stratford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range: $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barberry Hill accommodation offers a choice of two upstairs studios. Fully self contained, breakfast basket provided, spacious, comfortable, balcony, wood fire, free WiFi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing