We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
31
28
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
28
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main roadroad noiseone nightclean roomscomfortable bedwould stay againmt taranakimotelscissorsheatinghosts
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedrooom just for one night on our way back to wellington
After a day on the road it was just a lovely room and the hosts were so friendly.
They have lovely clean rooms. And reasonable prices .

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017

Easy to find location.
Well maintained complex, with very clean rooms.
Is on the main highway, though once you close up for the night road sounds were minimal.
Found that the room ventilation was only two windows, one in bathroom and main entrance, which at night when main door was closed provided no fresh air to the room as one was behind a curtain facing main road and the other behind the bathroom door.
My experience overall is very positive and they provided me with clean and comfortable accommodation.

Room Tip: Room 6 is great for couples. But corner suites for families.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raylene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Love this place, have stayed here before. Always helpful, spacious rooms, clean and tidy. We usewd a disabled unit this time, they were very helpful when i asked for a shower chair. There is a bit of road noise as it is on a main road, and there is the occassional train passing by but all and all an excellent place to stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

We booked here for three nights towards the end of a five week holiday in NZ. The website offered discounts for two or more nights but we were not able to access these on line. We mentioned it on check in but to no avail! It would have been a nice gesture as we were staying 3 nights and only a couple of rooms were taken.
We were in room 1 . It was spacious, very clean, had a comfortable bed and with a good size bathroom. We found on taking a shower that the shower tray filled up and didn't drain so we had to switch the shower off several times so that it didn't flood. When we mentioned this it appeared they knew about it but had stil put us in this room? Not sure where the thinking is here. We weren't offered another room and nothing was done about it. Also in this room you couldn't have the door open as it was to the side and looked right into the staff house, not very pleasant. Some of the rooms had views of Mt Taranaki which as a tourist would have been lovely and with so few people in must have been possible. The kitchen area was tiny and there were only two of everything so limiting if you want to eat in. This included all cutlery only 2 teaspoons, knives etc and no scissors.
We did find it quite noisy at night with the road traffic on one side and the train line on the other but we are light sleepers anyway so some people may not find this a problem.
I realise that we could have asked to change rooms but having been living out a suitcase for 4 weeks we didn't really want to move again and the shower and sleeping and the view were not apparent when we unpacked.
We enjoyed our stay but it wasn't cheap and could have been so much better so disappointed on the whole.

Room Tip: Not room 1
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gouldsDerby_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MewsStratford, Manager at Antonio Mews Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We have searched back through our records and have found a 2 night booking (not 3 nights) in a basic studio for you at the beginning of March, which was just before we took over the management of this motel. I am sorry you found your experience here less than satisfactory. The shower problem was resolved on our first day. Had we been here we certainly would have upgraded you to one of our other spa studio units. Due to the row of large trees on the roadside along the full frontage of our property views of the mountain are very limited, with only a glimpse from some of our large family units. At $120 per night we feel our standard studios are very reasonably priced when compared to other similar quality properties.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

I was a little concerned, thinking there would be a noise problem, as the Motel is quite near the main road; however, after the normal heavy day traffic, the night turned out to be reasonably quiet. The rooms here are quite large, with heating and air con, the bathroom similarly large again with heating and a wonderful shower. The kitchenette is small yet very functional, with a microwave (there is a master switch below the cabinet to operate it), and sufficient 'tools' and crockery to satisfy any normal requirement. It is a little way out of the main town centre, but a short drive will place you in the middle of town. Hosts were very friendly and accommodating, freely assisting me with my next day's travel planning. I was so looking forward to travelling the Forgotten Highway, but found that there is some 12km of gravel road, and having a hire car with a "no gravel road" caveat, I had to give way and travel the coastal route to Cambridge.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Rod P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews