We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Luxury Napier Shore Excursion - Private Hire and Winemaker Guide
8

Book in advance
from
US$603.25
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Askerne Vineyards
from US$603.25
More Info
from US$266.55
More Info
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
81
10
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
81
10
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting great tasting hawkes bay picnic basket tasting room boutique winery gourmet picnic sauvignon blanc friendly service tasting experience winery tour dessert cheese platter sample havelock range
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2020 via mobile

Talked with Winery people at a food show. Were told of the amazing picnics in the vines. Drove 2 hours with friends to experience this. Got there to find wooden picnic tables under shade cloths in the edge of a paddock. The mist unappealing venue ever. The picnic offerings were minimal. Completely misrepresented to us. Just not worth the energy or effort. Would score zeroing allowed

Date of experience: February 2020
2  Thank alanmcgrathnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Amyl5223, Owner at Askerne Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2020

Hi Alan, we are disappointed that you did not like our picnic offer and could not find sufficient in the 136 food item range to satisfy the requirements of your group. We do understand that this style of picnic offer will not suit everybody, despite most visitors being very satisfied. The wooden tables under shade cloths should not have been a surprise to you as they were exactly as described to your wife in an email exchange 3 days before your visit. I have reviewed our promotional materials and the emails. The foods shown in the photos and described to your wife were all available when you visited. The photos of the venue also accurately reflect what is on offer. I think this is a case of the offer being misunderstood rather than misrepresented. Regards, John (on behalf of the team at Askerne)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2020

We had not heard of this winery previously but we were glad we stopped for a tasting.

As others have noted Giddion, who conducted our tasting, had an obvious enthusiasm for wine and it was interesting to work our way through the wines and to compare them with European wines we both had tasted.

As it took some time to work our way through the list it was a shame there were not chairs available to take a break from standing - my wife was flagging by the end of the tasting. The small tasting room was also quite stuffy - a pity the fans or AC were not turned on. To be honest the enthusiasm for the tasting by Giddion was such that he was probably not aware of the need for such things.

A quirky and enjoyable tasting quite different to the normal cellar door. The wines were interesting, we preferred the drier wines to the sweeter styles. We did not avail ourselves of the cheese and charcuterie selection but we noticed many others did. You can select your own foodstuffs, put them in a hamper and take them outside to eat in the outdoor picnic tables.

An interesting experience.

Date of experience: January 2020
3  Thank 751stephenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Amyl5223, Owner at Askerne Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2020

Hi 751stephenj

Thanks for talking the time to write a review we are glad you had a good tasting with us. We are currently preparing to do some renovations to upgrade the cellar door to give a lot more space :)

Hope to see you again in future :)

Cheers
Askerne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2019 via mobile

The most down to earth vineyard visited in the Hawkes Bay, no charge for tastings, excellent local food which you eat picnic style. Don’t miss Askerne if you are visiting the Hawkes Bay for a wine tasting!

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Amyl5223, Owner at Askerne Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2020

Hi Xyz1867

Thanks for taking the time to write a review :)
Hope to see you again in Future.

Cheers
Askerne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2019 via mobile

Fortunately we have a large boot but still should’ve brought a truck. These wines never fail to please. Great value wines with friendly knowledgeable, free, no pressure tasting. The picnic supplies weren’t needed in this visit but will be back early March with friends in the Camper.

Date of experience: November 2019
1  Thank Adele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Amyl5223, Owner at Askerne Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2019

Hi Adele F

So glad to hear you enjoyed your trip and shared your experience with others.
Hope to see you back in March :)

Cheers
The team at Askerne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2019 via mobile

Wow!
What a fantastic spot. Giddion made us feel at home and in turn, we fell in love with their wine.

8wines and 3dessert wines later, this was our favourite stop. Having bought 4 different varietals we only have 1 disappointment...we didn't purchase more.

For wine to drink today or to cellar for a special occasion, Askerne have it all.

Our favourite vineyard in Hawke's Bay.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank KennethW2081
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Amyl5223, Owner at Askerne Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2019

Hi KennethW2081

Thanks for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience and shared it with others :)
We hope to see you again in future!

Cheers
The team at Askerne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews