We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
lex_rex
Wellington

Little gem in Clive

Review of Clive Studios
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Mar 2018
We recently stayed here with our Newfoundland dog and received a warm welcome when we arrived. The room was immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. The linen on the bed was crisp and fresh. The area out the back was lovely as well. We will definitely be staying here again.
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hydrangea Cottage Living Room
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Clive Studios
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.0 km from Clive Studios
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Clive Motels & Villa
    1.1 km from Clive Studios
    Free parking
    Spa
    Unique glamping experience in a unique setting in the Hawkes Bay.  Close to lots of amenities with private access to Hawkes Bay cycle trail and local Vineyards
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Agoda.com
    0.0 km from Clive Studios
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    2.0 km from Clive Studios
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $463
    Fully refundable
    • Expedia.com
      $463
    • Hotels.com
      $443
    • Priceline
      $463
    5.4 km from Clive Studios
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Conference Centre
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      $218
    • Priceline
    7.6 km from Clive Studios
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Standard studio
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $285
    • Hotels.com
    7.7 km from Clive Studios
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Small Studio
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $195
    • Hotels.com
    7.9 km from Clive Studios
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    The piconic area
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $226
    • Hotels.com
    8.2 km from Clive Studios
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Clive
    Reviews (40)
    Filter reviews
    40 results
    Traveller rating
    21
    15
    3
    1
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    21
    15
    3
    1
    0
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    3 - 8 of 40 reviews
    Reviewed 6 January 2018

    Such a relief to be able to have our dogs with us even though they slept happily in the car, they had access to a lovely fenced garden area from our room number 5. I took a big blanket for the dogs to use when they were in the room which made me feel better!! Kaye is so warm and friendly, the room clean, we were very comfortable. Location is marvellous for walking as it is just around the corner from the track that goes inland and to the beach.

    Room tip: Rooms 5, 6 and 7 have the garden access without bothering other people
    Date of stay: January 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank nzmermaidnz
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 2 April 2017

    We stayed 4 nights during Art Deco week. The rooms were spacious and a tribute to the Art Deco theme. Facilities were excellent and there is a pleasanr outdoot are ( due to the weather we only admired this through the window. My only suggestion would be to improve the lighting, especially in the bathroom. This was a lovely place to return to in the evenings.

    Date of stay: February 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Lynn M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    J4780RJsandraw, Owner at Clive Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

    I appreciate that you made the time to review Clive Studios. I also appreciate the feedback regarding the Art Deco theme, wanted to give just a hint of this wonderful era.
    Please come again and note the Winter Art Deco weekend is 14-16 July, hopefully a better weather report.
    Thank you Kaye

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 March 2017

    We had a very comfortable two nights here. It was the best motel we stayed at during our tour of the North Island. The proprietor was very helpful and friendly, it was clean and the bed superb. Also an added bonus was the hotel across the road which served great food. We would definitely stay here again.

    Date of stay: March 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank rayo180
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    J4780RJsandraw, Owner at Clive Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

    Thank you for taking the time to review my property. I hope you can come and stay again. Kind regards Kaye

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

    I was booked into Clive Motel which is now Clive Studios , as it has a new owner Kaye.
    Kaye was very friendly and welcoming.
    Was really happy after walking in, exceptionally clean and inviting.
    A tidy little unit with all that was wanted.

    Date of stay: March 2017
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    Thank barrykitch
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 24 February 2017

    Now renamed Clive Studios, we are just finishing a week's stay here. Kaye our host, has really made this a great place to stay. The rooms are clean and airy with a private patio area. The king size bed is very comfortable. Our two greyhounds have been made very welcome. Very central for Napier and Hastings. A wonderful wetlands park and dog walking area is very close and very beautiful.

    Room tip: The only variation between rooms is the bed size.
    Date of stay: February 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank ossydave
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews