We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
rayo180
Christchurch, New Zealand

Great little place!

Review of Clive Studios
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Mar 2017
We had a very comfortable two nights here. It was the best motel we stayed at during our tour of the North Island. The proprietor was very helpful and friendly, it was clean and the bed superb. Also an added bonus was the hotel across the road which served great food. We would definitely stay here again.
Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
J4780RJsandraw, Owner at Clive Studios, responded to this review
Responded 17 Apr 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review my property. I hope you can come and stay again. Kind regards Kaye
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hydrangea Cottage Living Room
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
2.0 km from Clive Studios
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bellbird Cottage
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.0 km from Clive Studios
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Clive Motels & Villa
    1.1 km from Clive Studios
    Free parking
    Spa
    Unique glamping experience in a unique setting in the Hawkes Bay.  Close to lots of amenities with private access to Hawkes Bay cycle trail and local Vineyards
    • Hotels.com
    • Agoda.com
    • Expedia.com
    0.0 km from Clive Studios
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    2.0 km from Clive Studios
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $429
    • Expedia.com
      $464
    5.4 km from Clive Studios
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Conference Centre
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $202
    • Priceline
    7.6 km from Clive Studios
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Standard studio
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $285
    • Hotels.com
    7.7 km from Clive Studios
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Small Studio
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $192
    • Hotels.com
    7.9 km from Clive Studios
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Clive
    Reviews (40)
    Filter reviews
    40 results
    Traveller rating
    21
    15
    3
    1
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    21
    15
    3
    1
    0
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    6 - 11 of 40 reviews
    Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

    I was booked into Clive Motel which is now Clive Studios , as it has a new owner Kaye.
    Kaye was very friendly and welcoming.
    Was really happy after walking in, exceptionally clean and inviting.
    A tidy little unit with all that was wanted.

    Date of stay: March 2017
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    Thank barrykitch
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 24 February 2017

    Now renamed Clive Studios, we are just finishing a week's stay here. Kaye our host, has really made this a great place to stay. The rooms are clean and airy with a private patio area. The king size bed is very comfortable. Our two greyhounds have been made very welcome. Very central for Napier and Hastings. A wonderful wetlands park and dog walking area is very close and very beautiful.

    Room tip: The only variation between rooms is the bed size.
    Date of stay: February 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank ossydave
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 15 January 2017

    The motel has changed it's name to the Clive Suites. The owner rung was to tell us of the name change, they were very pleasant to deal with We stayed for two nights. The motel was spotlessly clean and tidy. I would like to have known that after we had used the complimentary tea and coffee that we had to get own for drinks.

    The owners are working very hard to give the motel a make over.

    The interesting thing for me was that the television was bigger than the wall that it was hung on. It protruded over the bathroom door or over the entrance to the kitchen area. I managed to walk into one night. There was plenty of room on the wall at the end of the bed.

    The shower stall is very small and the shower floor( Stainless steel) was very slippery ,could do with a non slip mat.

    I would like to see some net curtains on the windows to the outdoor area for a bit of privacy as you have to draw the curtains if you want privacy

    Date of stay: January 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Mark H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    J4780RJsandraw, Owner at Clive Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

    Good morning
    Apologies for the delay in responding, I am now happy to advise that I have had all the TVs moved and there is now no issue with the TV interfering with the bathroom doorway.
    I hope you can come and stay again and see the changes.
    Kind regards Kaye

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 October 2016

    Clean and tidy room. Basic & average but OK for the business traveller.
    there is a fair bit of road noise early in the morning, as it is on a corner.
    shower size quite small, was OK for me, but would not suit a bigger person.

    Date of stay: October 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank joy532
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

    My wife and I and our daughter were visiting family in Te Awanga and needed a convenient bed for the night. The unit was very clean and comfortable, with a BBQ and outdoor tables, and well set up for the elderly or disabled; safety rails and shower seat.

    Date of stay: December 2015
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank SeftyBay
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews