We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Batman42
Wellington, New Zealand

Nice but really

Review of Clive Studios
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Jan 2017
The motel has changed it's name to the Clive Suites. The owner rung was to tell us of the name change, they were very pleasant to deal with We stayed for two nights. The motel was spotlessly clean and tidy. I would like to have known that after we had used the complimentary tea and coffee that we had to get own for drinks.

The owners are working very hard to give the motel a make over.

The interesting thing for me was that the television was bigger than the wall that it was hung on. It protruded over the bathroom door or over the entrance to the kitchen area. I managed to walk into one night. There was plenty of room on the wall at the end of the bed.

The shower stall is very small and the shower floor( Stainless steel) was very slippery ,could do with a non slip mat.

I would like to see some net curtains on the windows to the outdoor area for a bit of privacy as you have to draw the curtains if you want privacy
Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
J4780RJsandraw, Owner at Clive Studios, responded to this review
Responded 16 Jun 2017
Good morning
Apologies for the delay in responding, I am now happy to advise that I have had all the TVs moved and there is now no issue with the TV interfering with the bathroom doorway.
I hope you can come and stay again and see the changes.
Kind regards Kaye
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hydrangea Cottage Living Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Clive Studios
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.0 km from Clive Studios
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Clive Motels & Villa
    1.1 km from Clive Studios
    Free parking
    Spa
    • Agoda.com
    0.0 km from Clive Studios
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    2.0 km from Clive Studios
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      $460
    • Algotels
    5.4 km from Clive Studios
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $185
    • Hotels.com
    7.6 km from Clive Studios
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Standard studio
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
      $152
    • Vio.com
      $135
    • Priceline
      $141
    7.7 km from Clive Studios
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $150
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      $150
    7.9 km from Clive Studios
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Priceline
      $180
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    8.0 km from Clive Studios
    Free Wifi
    View more hotels in Clive
    Reviews (40)
    Filter reviews
    40 results
    Traveller rating
    21
    15
    3
    1
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    21
    15
    3
    1
    0
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    9 - 14 of 40 reviews
    Reviewed 20 October 2016

    Clean and tidy room. Basic & average but OK for the business traveller.
    there is a fair bit of road noise early in the morning, as it is on a corner.
    shower size quite small, was OK for me, but would not suit a bigger person.

    Date of stay: October 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank joy532
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

    My wife and I and our daughter were visiting family in Te Awanga and needed a convenient bed for the night. The unit was very clean and comfortable, with a BBQ and outdoor tables, and well set up for the elderly or disabled; safety rails and shower seat.

    Date of stay: December 2015
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank SeftyBay
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

    The room was warm, clean, modern, extremely affordable and the location was excellent. Walking distance to shops, bars and restaurants and only a 10 minute drive to the centre of both Hastings and Napier. Cant forget the awesome staff that made my stay all the more memorable. Clive motel has been one of if not the best motel I've stayed at in the country.

    Date of stay: June 2015
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    1  Thank S-partz90
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 9 March 2015

    My room was clean, comfortable and the bed was great but the Motel's strong point is probably the location, very central to Napier, Hastings, Havelock North and Te Awanga (about a 5 - 10 minute drive to anywhere ). If you are into cycling, the cycle trail is about a 2 minute ride from the motel and though I could only walk it this trip, I will certainly be back with the bike, the views (like most places in the Bay ) from the track are amazing.

    Date of stay: March 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank AlistairM1961
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 2 March 2015

    Stayed here over new years. Got a two bedroom apartment with family and kids. This motel is pet friendly. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay here. The rooms were big and spacious. Staff were friendly and helpful. Beds comfortable. Can't say or find anything negative to report on this place. Would definitely consider staying here again when the need arises in future.

    Date of stay: January 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    2  Thank Julie G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews