We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
81
7
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
81
7
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hawkes bay cottages set piece of paradise loaf of bread the bed was super comfortable fresh eggs long weekend guest laundry a great place to stay flax hastings hosts wineries accommodation netflix tv
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2020

Lawn Cottages are an exceptional place to stay in the Bay. Janie is very obliging and accommodating and nothing is too much trouble. The cottages are fully self contained and very well supplied with everything that you need. The cottages are modern and stylish, exceptionally clean and well presented. The kitchen appliances are also modern and easy to use. There is plenty of crockery, cutlery, pots and pans as well as a good selection of sharp knives if you opt to eat in. The bed was super comfortable and the linen was crisp. There were plenty of good quality towels as well. The cottage has a smart tv with free Netflix, sports channels require a personal subscription login. The cottages are exceptional value for money and I can highly recommend them.

Date of stay: October 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie Alexander, General Manager at Lawn Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2020

Why thank you Jill, your comments and feedback is very much appreciated. I will pass them on to Eric and the Lawn Cottages staff.

Thank you so much
J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2020

Fantastic place to stay, handy to Clive, Napier and Hastings. We stayed in the Flax cottage, 2 bedrooms lovely lounge kitchen and bathroom facilities, with incredible peaceful and private surroundings, gardens to sit in or wander around, its own piece of paradise. The woman who booked it for us was fantastic and obliging and sounded like a fun friendly person, the facilities are incredible, with a fridge of helpful items upon our arrival, 10/10 from us ladies.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DiCarswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie Alexander, General Manager at Lawn Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2020

Thanks Ladies for your review.

You girls/ladies sounded like a lovely group of friends, it was great we could accommodate your stay. I am pleased you found it peaceful.

Kind regards
Janie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2020 via mobile

Wow this is a great place to stay if you want to relax. There are a mix of brand new and refurbished cottages set on a semi rural property. The accomodation is superb for families or couples alike. Beds are super comfortable and have lovely linen for the descerning traveller. Relax on the deck, have a bbq, go for a stroll around the garden or down the road. So much to see and do around Clive and the neighbouring area. Will be back again definitely.

Date of stay: May 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LisaPep2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 February 2020 via mobile

I stayed here a while ago sand loved it. Was taken around, shown the place. Thus time. No care, dumped at front door, place full of cobwebs and not looked after- has it changed owners???? There’s no live given to the place, gardens messy not wild, internet awful, just sub par. Won’t stay again.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank HelenP3062
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanieandCraig, Owner at Lawn Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2020

Dear Guest, we are concerned at your experience. As owners we were on site in January and the gardens were not changed and were in a good state. We also checked all cottages for keeping up with our strict standards and we found no issues or departures, Also, in February this was a busy time so the cottage you stayed in was occupied a lot with many guest change overs and frequent cleaning by our dedicated staff. This cottage has been fully renovated with a brand new kitchen and bathroom, full double glazing and new air conditioning. No other guest has made any comment as you did and we did not hear from you on any of these issues you raise in your review at the time of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2020

For our holidays we were doing a road trip and were going to stay in Napier or Hastings. However we found Lawn Cottages in Clive which we eventually booked. The photos of the place looked great and when we arrived it was exactly as per the photos. Very nice cottage with heaps of space to spread out. Location was fantastic being half way between Hastings and Napier The manager was there to greet us and gave us the keys to the cottage and was very laid back. A very nice touch was great loaf of bread and eggs in the fridge for us to use. Fantastic touch. Would highly recommend this to any traveller and would definitely rebook when down in that part of the country again.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank Goodtrip8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews