We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lawn Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Clive Studios(Clive)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Clive Motels & Villa(Clive)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Mangapapa Hotel(Havelock North)
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Magpie Motel(Hastings)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Motor Lodge(Hastings)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valdez Motor Lodge(Hastings)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ballina Motel(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ASURE Colonial Lodge Motel(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ace High Motor Inn(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
59
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhitebaithavelock northmagnolia cottagehawkes baysuperb hostshome away from homeestablished gardensminute drivewe loved our staylocal knowledgebreakfast provisionscottages setfresh fruitstayed here for nightsskiflaxhastings
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We've just had a very comfortable stay at Lawn Cottages in the Hawkes Bay. We were travelling with our in laws and hired two of the cottages. We stayed at the larger Hydrangea cottage and our in laws stayed at Magnolia (which had nice new carpet). We thought the cottages were very comfy and we had everything we needed - even fans which were appreciated on the warm summer evenings. There was nice linen on the (comfortable) beds and found the fresh flowers was a nice touch. We loved the big gardens, ponds and access to the vegetable garden and fruit trees. Our daughter loved gong to pick veggies for dinner and I loved the fresh grapefruits. The hosts Jaquie and Ski were lovely - so friendly and helpful. And the location was handy to Havelock North, Hastings and Napier and the beach (not really a swimming beach though) was a short walk away.
There were a few things which held me back from rating higher - a dishwasher in the kitchen (hate having to do dishes on holiday!), the bathroom was a bit dated - none of us were a fan of the open showers. And some of the outdoor furniture around the property looked a bit run down. But that wasn't a major concern to us.
Overall thought this was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NZ_Scooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquie-and-Ski, Owner at Lawn Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

Thank you for your thorough review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Lawn Cottages and we thank you for your appreciation of the extra touches. We do spend a lot of time ensuring our guests have a good experience here, accessing all the Bay has to offer, as well as enjoying all the special things our property provides.
I know what you mean about doing dishes on holiday - if we had houses rather than cottages we would definitely consider dish washers. The bathrooms have just had their cabinetry refurbished so we are moving on with our plans. The open showers are a compromise to ensure that we are also user friendly for people with disabilities. Thanks for the reminder re the swing seat near our house, the cushions had been used elsewhere and need to be returned :). We do appreciate feedback that assists us to continue to provide our guests with a great place to stay.
Jacquie and Ski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

We stayed at Lawn Cottages for five nights over Christmas. The cottage (Hydrangea) was spacious with two large bedrooms, kitchen facilities and everything we needed. The cottage is in the country surrounded by beautiful well established gardens so there is total privacy from the other cottages. Havelock North, Napier and Hastings are within a 10 minute drive and there are several vineyards close by. My partner brought his bike and the main cycleway that follows the coast from Clifton to Napier is two minutes ride away. Jacqui and Ski were great hosts, friendly and welcoming and they checked every couple of days if we needed anything. They had left us bread, milk ,butter, eggs and jam plus coffee and tea for our stay. Ski even gave us whitebait to take home! We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquie-and-Ski, Owner at Lawn Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

Thank you for your kind review. Many guests are surprised to find how handy we are to the delights of Hawkes Bay. You are right, we get the best of both worlds - a rural feel but not far from anywhere.
I was impressed with your cycling adventures We do look forward to your return here.

Jacquie and Ski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Loved staying here, the cottage had everything we needed, the location was perfect to trip around to the wineries and the setting of the cottage was stunning, we had perfect weather sat outside on the deck drinking wine and relaxing, I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank F6403ZNalexandram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquie-and-Ski, Owner at Lawn Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

We try our best with the weather :) Many of our guests tell us it is difficult to leave the grounds and go and do things because it is so peaceful here - indeed perfect for sitting on the deck drinking wine.
We look forward to your return.

Jacquie and Ski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016

I had to say this one was the most lovely wee cottages I have ever seen. Beautiful garden indeed!!!
We stayed at Magnolia with 2 bedrooms, fully equipped kitchen. Beautiful rooms with comfy big bed, and the room smells of Roses :-)lovely to walk around the garden. It's very quiet place and sometimes at night you can hear waves crashing down the beach. YES the Beach is just 5 mins walk

Lawn Cottages is situated in Clive, it's a very central location...10 mins from Napier, Havelock North and Hastings.
Ski and Jacquie are amazing hosts, very friendly, they made sure we are enjoying our stay. The kids had a Ball there, playing in the garden...all morning and after lunch, even after dinner too.

I don't know what else to say apart from Thank you so much our lovely stay and when/if we are back down Hawkes Bay area again....for sure to stay down the Lawn Cottages.

Another one to add if you want to eat out, Clive hotel with bar and restaurant about 10-15mins walk or you can call them for their courtesy van if you want to have few pints and dinner.

Room Tip: All Cottages have very lovely view, nothing to complain :-)
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mcmasterBALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquie-and-Ski, Public Relations Manager at Lawn Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Lawn Cottages. It was lovely to see your children enjoying themselves.
The initiative taken by the Clive Hotel to have a courtesy van has been well received by our guests.
We will see you again.

Jacquie and Ski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Comfortable, private cottages set in a lovely garden in a quiet location that's convenient to Napier and Havelock North. Jacquie, Ski and their black Labrador made us welcome from the moment we arrived and provided some great recommendations of local restaurants. The cottage we stayed in is modern, well maintained and ideal for our family of 3 adults and a teen. We would happily return for a longer stay than our 2 nights.
Particularly recommended in Spring.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews