We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Secret Garden!!!”
Review of Lawn Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lawn Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2016

I had to say this one was the most lovely wee cottages I have ever seen. Beautiful garden indeed!!!
We stayed at Magnolia with 2 bedrooms, fully equipped kitchen. Beautiful rooms with comfy big bed, and the room smells of Roses :-)lovely to walk around the garden. It's very quiet place and sometimes at night you can hear waves crashing down the beach. YES the Beach is just 5 mins walk

Lawn Cottages is situated in Clive, it's a very central location...10 mins from Napier, Havelock North and Hastings.
Ski and Jacquie are amazing hosts, very friendly, they made sure we are enjoying our stay. The kids had a Ball there, playing in the garden...all morning and after lunch, even after dinner too.

I don't know what else to say apart from Thank you so much our lovely stay and when/if we are back down Hawkes Bay area again....for sure to stay down the Lawn Cottages.

Another one to add if you want to eat out, Clive hotel with bar and restaurant about 10-15mins walk or you can call them for their courtesy van if you want to have few pints and dinner.

Room Tip: All Cottages have very lovely view, nothing to complain :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mcmasterBALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquie-and-Ski, Public Relations Manager at Lawn Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Lawn Cottages. It was lovely to see your children enjoying themselves.
The initiative taken by the Clive Hotel to have a courtesy van has been well received by our guests.
We will see you again.

Jacquie and Ski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2016

Comfortable, private cottages set in a lovely garden in a quiet location that's convenient to Napier and Havelock North. Jacquie, Ski and their black Labrador made us welcome from the moment we arrived and provided some great recommendations of local restaurants. The cottage we stayed in is modern, well maintained and ideal for our family of 3 adults and a teen. We would happily return for a longer stay than our 2 nights.
Particularly recommended in Spring.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Tucked away in your own private slice of heaven, with everything you could wish for, at hand. Each of these cottages has seclusion, privacy and comfort, and the hosts Jacquie and Ski were most accommodating. Our extended family took all 3 cottages for the weekend, wish we could have stayed longer.
Great value & comfort for self catering family or group. A home away from home.

Room Tip: Smaller cottages are perfectly adequate for a short stay - and cheaper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rutledgewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Nice cute little cottage with a beautiful landscaped garden. An absolutely cozy and warm place to stay for holidays. Jacquie and Ski are very friendly and helpful. Too bad that we only got to stay one night. Would love to come back again.
It just one thing that could be improved, the shower. It would be better to have a shower box in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shachen102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquie-and-Ski, Owner at Lawn Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Thank you for your review. We do appreciate people making the effort to do this. I absolutely understand your thoughts re the shower however they were designed this way so that our cottages are also user friendly for people with physical disabilities. Makes for a wee bit of a compromise in design but works for able bodied and those not so.
We look forward to your next stay with us.

Jacquie and Ski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Where do I start? Everything was ideal, these are the words to describe our experience. Delightful, warm, inviting, superb, clean, tidy, great hospitality from the hosts, special touches, everything provided. Independence, freedom to enjoy. Much more than I expected. It is the areas best kept little secret that you don't want to tell anybody else about and keep it all to yourself. That wouldn't be nice. The countryside, the closeness to all amenities, twin cities in either direction, vineyards, beaches, rivers, the sleeping giant, the many Marae in the area, dinner invite to the local Marae. Writers, artists, poets. Would I go again? Oh yes, in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: All of the three are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wikit0ria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clive hotels
2.0 km away
Clive Studios
Clive Studios
#1 of 1 in Clive
36 reviews
0.2 km away
Clive Colonial Cottages
2.5 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawn Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawn Cottages

Address: East Clive 527 Lawn Road RD 10 | Hawke’s Bay, Clive 4180, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Clive
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Clive
Price Range: $273 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lawn Cottages are 3 stand alone, seperate, private, stylish 2 bedroom self catering, self contained Cottages each nestled privately amongst 3 acres of tranquil park-like grounds of expansive lawns, rose gardens, wonderful mature trees and ponds. Centrally located in East Clive and only a 5-10 min drive to Havelock North Village, Napier, Hastings, Te Awanga, Cape Kidnappers Gannet Colony and the award winning World Renown Cape Kidnappers International Golf Course and many local Wineries (Black Barn, Elephant Hill, Clearview, Craggy Range etc). We are surrounded by wonderful walking tracks, the iconic Tuki Tuki river and fabulous Ocean Beach and Wairmarama are an easy 15 - 20 minute drive away. Each Cottage - Flax, Magnolia and Hydrangea - (Hydrangea being the largest of the 3) has 1 Queen Bedroom and 1 Twin Bedroom, open plan kitchen living with French doors opening to wide verandahs, outdoor seating and BBQ's over looking the gardens. All generously equipped with quality bed linens and towels, breakfast provisions including home made jam or jelly', freshly roasted Hawthorne Coffee, Maldon Salt and cracked pepper etc ......Fresh flowers......Flat screen TV's, SKY TV, DVD, Tivoli Audio System with iPOD Port and Wireless Broadband Internet...... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lawn Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing