We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lawn Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Clive Studios(Clive)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Clive Motels & Villa(Clive)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Mangapapa Hotel(Havelock North)
US$227
US$221
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Magpie Motel(Hastings)(Great Value!)
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Motor Lodge(Hastings)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valdez Motor Lodge(Hastings)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$102
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ballina Motel(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ASURE Colonial Lodge Motel(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ace High Motor Inn(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Tuscany Motel(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
59
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhitebaithavelock northmagnolia cottagehawkes baysuperb hostshome away from homeestablished gardensminute drivewe loved our staylocal knowledgebreakfast provisionscottages setfresh fruitstayed here for nightsskiflaxhastings
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Comfortable, private cottages set in a lovely garden in a quiet location that's convenient to Napier and Havelock North. Jacquie, Ski and their black Labrador made us welcome from the moment we arrived and provided some great recommendations of local restaurants. The cottage we stayed in is modern, well maintained and ideal for our family of 3 adults and a teen. We would happily return for a longer stay than our 2 nights.
Particularly recommended in Spring.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Tucked away in your own private slice of heaven, with everything you could wish for, at hand. Each of these cottages has seclusion, privacy and comfort, and the hosts Jacquie and Ski were most accommodating. Our extended family took all 3 cottages for the weekend, wish we could have stayed longer.
Great value & comfort for self catering family or group. A home away from home.

Room Tip: Smaller cottages are perfectly adequate for a short stay - and cheaper!
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rutledgewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Nice cute little cottage with a beautiful landscaped garden. An absolutely cozy and warm place to stay for holidays. Jacquie and Ski are very friendly and helpful. Too bad that we only got to stay one night. Would love to come back again.
It just one thing that could be improved, the shower. It would be better to have a shower box in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shachen102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquie-and-Ski, Owner at Lawn Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Thank you for your review. We do appreciate people making the effort to do this. I absolutely understand your thoughts re the shower however they were designed this way so that our cottages are also user friendly for people with physical disabilities. Makes for a wee bit of a compromise in design but works for able bodied and those not so.
We look forward to your next stay with us.

Jacquie and Ski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Where do I start? Everything was ideal, these are the words to describe our experience. Delightful, warm, inviting, superb, clean, tidy, great hospitality from the hosts, special touches, everything provided. Independence, freedom to enjoy. Much more than I expected. It is the areas best kept little secret that you don't want to tell anybody else about and keep it all to yourself. That wouldn't be nice. The countryside, the closeness to all amenities, twin cities in either direction, vineyards, beaches, rivers, the sleeping giant, the many Marae in the area, dinner invite to the local Marae. Writers, artists, poets. Would I go again? Oh yes, in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: All of the three are good.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wikit0ria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Houston, Texas
2
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Jacquie and Ski were very accommodating to our needs for the trip. They are also responsive to email which was important coming from abroad. You are only 10-15 minutes from all of the towns and wineries. There are even a few low-key restaurants down the road from the cottages. After spending a lot of time in hotels on this trip, it was nice to spend time and relax in this cottage!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquie-and-Ski, Owner at Lawn Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really do appreciate you taking the time to do this.
Over time guests have often decided to have a restful time here and enjoy the cottage and surrounding grounds. It is easy to organise activities from here as well and enjoy the best of both worlds. Heading into spring is also a lovely time with the lambs in the adjoining paddock.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews