We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (954)
Filter reviews
954 results
Traveller rating
224
398
197
68
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
398
197
68
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salt water cannot comment la sal junior suite lovely spa modern hotel swimming cap dressing gowns big room an umbrella pudding visiting family tea and coffee family room we spent most of the time pool bar well worth a visit
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 954 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2018

The Thalasia was basically a good hotel. We know the area quite well and we've been here for drinks and a meal in the past but we have never actually stayed so it was a bit of a let down to find that all was not perfect.

To start with, when we checked in we were told that the Spa was closed, the pool was closed and the rooftop bar was closed. Not a good start and they weren't offering anything off the bill.

To be fair the spa opened the next day and remained open for our 4-night stay and it was great. But the pool remained officially closed as it was "out of season" and there was no lifeguard. It was dirty and needed cleaning but people were still using it "at their own risk" and, of course, the weather was hot so people used the sunbeds on the poolside area. But that too was never cleaned and for the days that we were there the same litter and cigarette ends adorned the area. That was bad for a 4-star hotel; not having a lifeguard does not mean you can't keep the place clean.

The room and bathroom were good, spacious, comfortable and well equipped (except, of course, for the lack of tea/coffee making facilities which is common throughout Spain). Breakfast was mostly good, there was an excellent choice of hot and cold food but here's the silly thing: the hot food wasn't. They had all the equipment for keeping food hot but they didn't use it. You could get eggs freshly fried on the plancha but they were pre-cooking loads and leaving them out in the cold.

The ultimate silly thing was when I went to reception to get an iron I was told that I could borrow one for 10 euros an hour! Come on Thalasia! If you have financial problems you may not be able to afford a lifeguard or someone to sweep up or even electricity to heat the food but I don't suppose hiring out irons is going to solve your problems.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rewallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

This was a pleasant stay, the rooms were spacious and clean with a nice view. The pool and spa was nice. However, Saturday night the hotel had LOUD music directly below our room until 12.30. We would have stayed to enjoy it but after 25 minutes waiting to be served by bar staff we gave up . Actually saw two elderly Spanish gentlemen nearly come to blows over who was next to be served! Sunday morning breakfast was then like Armageddon with jostling over churros. The other mornings were ok, although the breakfast left a lot to be desired. Staff generally disinterested and unwelcoming so further training would be welcome. When asked about opening times for spa - were first questioned about if we were quests and how long we were staying.......

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank primroseryeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

Four night stay.
Good initial & repeated welcome, & generally the service was good throughout the departments during our stay.
Room was spacious, comfy & with a nice sea view. Dreadful smell from the drains in the bathroom - improved somewhat by putting all the plugs in & closing the door, but worse at times...
Live music on Sat night, which we weren’t told about, despite the fact that it was directly under our balcony - the noise was overwhelming & went on til midnight. Bar so busy that, despite 3 staff working behind the bar, after 25 mins of not getting served, we gave up. Complained to reception about noise, who seemed unconcerned about our 1.5 hours of lying in bed being blasted out of it!
Breakfasts were basic, but Ok. Often the baked goods were stale too. The milk/water from the coffee machines was never hot.
On Sunday there was a major problem with breakfast - the area was massively under-staffed, under-managed & under-stocked with food - there were hundreds of people present, with no food, no tables, the place was filthy & the experience was horrible.
The spa is fabulous. The Thalasia salt pool area is gorgeous & the pool was great. The ticketed area was lovely too. Had a massage & facial was wonderful - one of the best I’ve had!
Mixed feelings about this hotel - some good things, some awful, some excellent...

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Little_brown_cutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

First time in 49 years Ive managed to float fully what a relaxing spa wow
Was an ok stay. Balcony door faulty wouldn't lock and bathroom bit dirty. Hairs etc.
Bed amazing so big
Overall ok stay But don't think again

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Arnold2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

I'm not sure that this is a 4 star hotel.
Mid week the bar shut until Friday we were told that we could use the buffet but there was no outside area to sit and have a drink in the buffet.
The outside pool was shut with a short notice posted near to it saying use the spa.
The upstairs cafe / bar on the terrace was shut despite it being May as was the hair dresser and shop.
The free Wi-Fi suddenly just went off mid week as the code had changed and when we got a new code it only worked once.
The reception staff were not really very helpful and seemed more interested in selling the spa to people on the phone.
So I'd find it hard to suggest that this is a good hotel or location.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews