We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
11
26
50
21
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
26
50
21
30
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2016

A very clean and comfortable hotel, with friendly staff. Breakfast was continental style and plentiful. Evening meals were a great disappointment, hence we ate out, the last three nights.
The hotel is only a few hundred yards from a beautiful beach and marina.
We would return to this area but not the hotel, due to the food.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AngleseyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelViveroII, Director General at Hotel Surfances, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

We feel sad about the meals, but I think that this fact depents on the taste of each one, for some people the food is one of the strong points in the hotel.
We feel sorry about this and hope to see you again

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2015

The hotel is clean and has nice size rooms which could do with more electric points a waste bin in the room and more hooks eg; in the bathroom there is nowhere to hang clothes. The main criticism is the really dreadfull food. Most people on the trip were making sure that they ate out at lunchtime so that at least they had a meal. I cant believe that food could be cooked and served so badly. After 2 days of it we didn't bother and went into the village where we found a really wonderfull restaurant which was very inexpensive and with the most exceptional staff and food.Suances and the other areas we visited are lovely . I would go again but not to this hotel.

Stayed: October 2015
2  Thank 133abutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015

Hotel comfortable and ideally sited for beach and harbour. Breakfast ok, not a lot of choice. Evening meal, hit and miss, strange combinations. All meals spoilt by vegetables being over cooked. Staff friendly. Tour very good, plenty to see, lovely tour guide and excellent coach driver. Northern spain very pretty, especially the national park, worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Also back from Newmarket Holidays trip this hotel was clean comfortable with friendly staff and only a few minutes from a lovely beach.The breakfasts were v.good continental style with a good selection. The evening meals were on the whole reasonable although there were a couple of meals that were I thought were of variable quality. The holiday package was v.good the scenery was stunning, and to top it all my fellow travelers were a really great bunch.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2015

Just back from an organised trip to Cantabrica, staying at this Hotel.
We had awful start to the holiday, firstly the Brittany Ferries "Pont Aven" was delayed by three hours due to weather in the Bay of Biscay.( It didn't seem to bad to us.)
Then on arrival we found the Port had suffered a power failure. Escalators not working, foot passengers, mostly oap's and their luggage had to descend about seven flights of stairs in the dark.
To make matters worse they could not open the bow doors of the boat so all the vehicles were stuck! After two hours our erstwhile tour manager Jay Kitcher organised taxi's for us to Sounces.
So six hours late we arrived at our hotel at midnight where a meal had been arranged by Poldo and Eugene the brothers who ran the hotel.
It improved greatly after that, the Hotel was much better than expected clean tidy and everything worked in both the room and bathroom. At least double the size of rooms we have experienced in 3 & 4 star hotels in Southern Spain.
The food is Spanish, robust and plentiful. In some instances for dinner the starters were larger portions than the main, but we enjoyed it. Breakfast was the usual uncooked fare again, very good..
With Wifi in the reception the hotel is about 400 metres from the beautiful sandy beach. Sounces is a lovely resort and we were glad we decided to stay local on saturday. We took the bus up to the upper town and walked back later to the beach, where we enjoyed a plate of Rabas (Calamar fritos in southern Spain) in a seafront cafe. 5 euros each! Strolling along to the small harbour we saw the day's fishing catch come in and packed in ice. Further along there was quite a pleasant atmosphere by the cafes with the locals and tourists chatting with Julio Iglasias music drifting over the conversations.
We had a lovely time and would recommend the hotel The tour was organised by Newmarket Holidays who we could not fault and their Tour Manager Jay who made our other tours around Cantabrica so pleasant.
Pity about the ferry, our return trip was also delayed, which meant we were delivered to the M25 at rush hour.

Room Tip: Side or rear rooms
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Saintsalive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews