We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
13
40
38
28
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
40
38
28
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dinner menu pleasant hotel bathroom reception santander
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2017

Beware - the hotel hosts school parties with the resultant shouting and door slamming until the early hours (3.00 am one night} Soundproofing between room and room and corridor leaves a lot to b desired, if any actually exists.
The hotel is located about 1.5 miles from Suances in the middle of nowhere.
Reception was unmanned on arrival and it took some time before the call bell was answered - check in was slow and not particularly welcoming.
The room was clean but in a "rustic" style - no airconditioning, safe or minibar. Only one power point.. The bathroom was clean with a full size bath but not grab/safety rails. No shaver socket but power socket next to WC. Some toiletries but only one miniscule bar of soap. Hot water came out of the cold tap, and the cistern appeared to fill with warm water.
Breafast was a very basic buffet with no hot food available. The dinner menu however was good, chainging every night with a varied choice at an excellent price.
Staff could do with better English
Would we stop there again - not from choice

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have better views but suffer from road noise
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We spent 2 nights here on a Brittany Ferries short break. Criteria for our stay were; close to Santander - Suances is 20 km approx., on the coast with beaches and fishing port - 3 beaches and a pretty port area, quiet small and friendly hotel with bar/restaurant and free parking - exactly so with the bonus of superb country views and a pool. You will not find modern minimalist fixtures here but the furnishings are traditional with pretty attention to detail and ample storage facilities in the room and bathroom. No safe in the room but reception has one if you need it. We had a delightful view of the countryside and outskirts of Suances town from the room which was above the terrace with the same view. Reception staff were so friendly, as in fact were all we met, the lovely waitresses seem to multi task serving drinks and cleaning frequently. 10 minutes walk to the huge La Concha beach - some steep steps at the bottom of the road the hotel is on cut the corner. Walking back could be difficult for the less mobile who will probably need a car. Plenty of bars and restaurants in the beach area and behind. Walk the length of this beach and you find the port area with even more. We discovered the dinner menu and wine list and decided to sample this. The hotel does not serve snacks, just a "menu of the day" for lunch or dinner with plenty of choice for each of 3 courses currently priced at 15 euros. This is real Spanish food. We loved it but fussy children may not! A really nice bottle of wine or cava for 9 euros too! Another of which we took on to the terrace to peacefully enjoy the view as darkness fell and a little bat flitted around catching insects. You could also eat all meals on the terrace weather permitting. The restaurant has a bar and there is another small one, bright and prettily decorated. Breakfast is self service - no full English (not commonly offered in this part of Spain) but plenty of fruit, yogurt, patisserie, tortilla, ham and cheese and plenty of good coffee and tea. The pool area, as all of the hotel, was spotlessly clean with a shaded area as a refuge from the heat, adjacent to the terrace and sharing the view. The hotel was so relaxed and comfortable we didn't go out in the evenings. Our room was so quiet, no noise from adjacent rooms or from the terrace. One reviewer reported mosquitoes but we found none but always use a plug- in insecticide just in case. The receptionist who greeted us spoke some English but one of us speaks Spanish so we can't tell how much other staff members did. This hotel is a gem in such a picturesque resort - some incredible walks to be had as well. The main town you pass through on the way is very attractive but a bit of a walk uphill. Most of our fellow guests were Spanish, with one French couple and a few Germans. English people seem to mostly by-pass the North of Spain as it does not get the consistent good weather of the South and East and English is not widely spoken. It makes up for this in charm and character and the friendliness of the people. We can not wait to return and for longer (depending on the Ferry timetable).

Room Tip: A room overlooking countryside has best views.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yachties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Spent a week here in June 2016. Good points:- great location, 10 minute walk out of town conveniently away from the hustle, bustle and noise, free parking, good breakfasts (tortilla, cheese, ham,toast, fruit, endless coffee and tea) in a pleasant dining room with friendly accommodating staff, effective black out blinds on the bedroom windows and excellent shower in the bathroom. Superb views & a very pleasant hotel pool and terrace. Not so good: - this looks like an old building which has been converted into a hotel the result being that insulation between rooms is not so effective; so be warned there is a bit of neighbour noise.

Apart from that no other negatives. We had an early flight back and the staff made sure the coffee machine was on at 6am and had we had time breakfast was available.

Room Tip: There is a bar and terrace but the hotel did not encourage use during the late evenings which meant noise was kept to an acceptable level.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pete_56186463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Booked this for a one night stay after arriving on the ferry from Portsmouth and as others have said, the staff were very helpful. The brother on reception recommended the hotel restaurant for our evening meal for 13 euros and it was well worth it with water, wine and bread included in abundance. The rooms are a bit tired but the hotel is well placed for local beaches and lovely sunsets. Wifi was a bit haphazard though, I managed to get on but friends didn't.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I don't know who owns this hotel but they should take notice of this.....whatever they pay each and every member of the staff, from all the receptionists to the wonderful blonde lady who cleans and the amazing staff in the restaurant, they should double their salary. I just spent a week here with my family and I could not imagine harder-working more pleasant staff. And boy, did they work hard. They did not stop from morning till night. I would return here, but only for the staff.

Room Tip: First floor, not second
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews