We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
63
90
57
12
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
90
57
12
15
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night after arriving in Santander, approximately 20 mile journey. The rooms were bright and we enjoyed a lovely dinner and breakfast. There are some great views of the countryside and the hotel is easy walking distance to the town, albeit up hill. Would definitely visit again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A7525DVanneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen M, Director General at Hotel Mar Azul y Surf, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thankyou very much for your comments
We hope We'll see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

We were recommended this place by a local. We had Paella and even if this dish is not typical from this part of Spain, I have to admit that it was quite good and the price quite reasonable. We got coffee for free as we had to wait quite a bit to get the desserts. Other than that service was quite good.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Permart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERENCIA H, Director Comercial at Hotel Mar Azul y Surf, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Thank you for your opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2015

This Hotel is perfectly run by the Staff, very clean and well tended. Within easy walking distance of a superb sandy beach and local amenities, bars, restaurants etc. Although the food available at Hotel Azul is very good.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool area with view towards the hills
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LORr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

As per another recent reviewer, we stayed here to chill-out for a few days after touring, prior to returning to the UK on the ferry. The hotel is conveniently located a few minutes walk to the beach and has both surface and underground parking. Given a spell of stormy weather, we were grateful for the restaurant facilities (table d'hote menu) which avoided having to walk into town. The decor is bright, in a nautical style. The staff were friendly and helpful. In addition to Suances with its beaches, there are other local attractions such as Comillas, Altamira Caves and San Vicente de la Barquera. The narrow gauge railway (FEVE), with a station in Torrelavega, is also a convenient way to go to Santander for the day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights with our 2 teenager boys to conclude our 14 day trip through the north of spain. The hotel is very close (100m) to the beach AND has a open air swimming pool with sun terrace - what is quite exceptional in the north of spain, especially for a 3 star, not too expensive, hotel. I found we had a good price perfomance as we booked early through the internet. The hotel has a certain charm and everything you expect as minimum confort is there, so no worry. Nevertheless, I'm sure more can be done with the same facilities : as an example the sun-terrace could easily be transformed as a cosy place to gather to have a drink or even to have dinner outside (when weather allows in this very 'rainy' part of spain...). The staff is pretty helpful and we found this place a very relaxing spot to end our holidays.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steukerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews