We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Fattoria degli Usignoli(San Donato Fronzano)(Great Value!)
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Il Palagio(Rignano sull'Arno)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Italia(Reggello)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$56
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$82
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Europa(Reggello)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
113
97
46
33
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
97
46
33
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationair conditioningpizzabeautiful placesan gimignanomain buildingtuscan hillsswimming poolfantastic viewsbar staffpeace and quietstunning buildingmezzanine floorrelaxing getawayjunior suitetaxi ridewedding venue
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Villa Pitiana has a good location only half an hour from Florence as well as it is near The Mall shopping area and the surroundings of this place is incrediable. The room we got were spacious, however the carpet were dirty and without being able to substanciate my argument I think there were flees in it beside that I also suspect bedbugs in the bed too. Of course one can say mosquitos could be the sinner, and in fact they were too. However mosquitoes only bit us on arms, legs and bag. I noticed bites at our ankles and feets as well as bites in our faces and under our eyes, which looks horrifying that I do not believe are from mosquitoes. There were not places we weren't bitten. If the hygenic of the room were impeckable I wouldn't mind staying at Villa Pitiana because it is a charming place but because of our struggle we decided to move to another place because we wanted the rest of our vacation to be without fear of being bitten by various bugs.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rattana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Nice place to stay if you want to chill out
Staff friendly. And spoke english
Domino town 15 -20 walk. Town had Basic amendies . Bar restraunts and small supermarket.
Locals friendly
We had no car so transport a bit of an issue.
Villa about 5 know from train station.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tony r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

This is a beautiful location. We really enjoyed the historic villa and the staff was helpful and spoke English. The restaurant was good and had good variety of choices. We did not rent a car so it was challenging getting the local train and then a taxi. I would recommend you rent a car to drive to this location or make sure to have a taxi in advance. The hotel was helpful in booking a taxi but it was 25-30 Euro for the taxi ride from the local train station to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

Only 1 word for it - "Grand"! The main building is magnificent with beautiful chandeliers and terracotta flooring. We stayed in a self service apartment, which was clean and comfortable with all the facility you require. The swimming pool was the real star for us. It is cool, clean and has comfortable loungers under umbrellas looking out on to a glorious manicured garden overlooking the Tuscan countryside. The food at the hotel is remarkable, a true gastronomic experience. I had a different dish every night from fish to meat and pasta - all were exceptional. Staff were polite and helpful. Would love to return soon! You do need a car - I went for a run and found running back up to the hotel really hard work (in the heat!). We visited "The Mall" outlet - fantastic shops and you can find a bargain there. San Gimignano is only 1h20 or so drive too - mind-blowing! Florence is only 20 mins on the train from S Ellero (7 mins drive from the hotel), but driving into Florence is about the same time. Driving is very easy (compared to other European countries!)

Room Tip: Apartment means self serve
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olivia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

My Wife and I have just finished a 5 day stay at Villa Pitiana, situated high in the Tuscan Hills. This 4 star hotel stands in an enviable elevated position looking down on the village of Donnini. We had a junior suite which was very large and had a lounge with adjoining bathroom and stairs to a mezzanine floor which was the very grand bedroom. From a bed and the room below, we had magnificent views over the extremely beautiful countryside. The walls and ceilings of our suite were ornately decorated and although the accommodation was dated, to modernise it would spoil the character and ambience of this historic building, which has origins dating back to the 12th century. We loved the whole place with its many original and quirky features. It was a charming step back in time. The grounds were wonderful to sit in and feature a large outdoor pool, although a little cold at this time of year. Sun beds and towels are provided. We ate in all but for one night, as there are not many restaurants in Donnini, and to walk down the road at night would be dark and dangerous. There was one pizzaria we tried one night which was basic but served good hearty food, The hotel restaurant served excellent food, albeit with a limited menu. The service was rather slow, but the food well worth waiting for. Breakfast was a basic Buffett, but for us, it was quite adequate. Because of the seclusion of the hotel you will need to hire a car to get around. We hired one from Enterprise, pre-booked and picked up at the airport. It cost us £179 for 5 days, no hidden charges and this included an excess waiver. That said, the Italians are maniacal drivers. I was the only one keeping to speed limits and was being overtaken by Italian cars, coaches and lorries. They 'tailgate' and cut you up when overtaking! They all think they are F1 drivers. You will need to keep your wits about you! We had a day trip to Florence, but didn't drive there, We drove to Ellero, just a very short distance away from our hotel, and caught the train. This took us right to the centre of Florence and cost us return, 15 .60 Euros. The train was smart and on time - a pleasurable trip without the stress of driving! The staff at The Pitiana were generally helpful, The Gentleman at the Reception Desk was extremely attentive, happy and helpful, although some of the waiting staff could have been a bit more cheerful. For about 3 nights running, the hotel had three separate Japanese coach party guests staying, who tended to get up at about 6am and were quite noisy wheeling their cases ready for there next stop over - They also did tend to forget other guests were staying at the hotel as they proceeded to talk rather loudly! That said, we've had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay, The Pitiana is certainly on our list of top hotels we've stayed in and exceeded our expectations. We're now relaxed and chilled!

Room Tip: Ask for a front room overlooking the gardens and pool.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank davidfF9412QQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews