We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
31
6
1
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
6
1
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed at La Batterie du Holdy D-Day week. Pascale and Jean made the 4 of us very welcome. Despite us not speaking hardly any French and them not speaking much English, we got by just fine. The house is lovely and the rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. The house is in a perfect location, we walked into Sainte Marie du Mont and is also close to Brecourt Manor (walking distance also). It is also very close to many other WWII sites. The jeep tour that Jean offers is superb and is a must to do. He is a mind of information on all things to do with D-Day and WWII and the passion with which he tells it lets you know straight away it is a labour of love for him. And to do the tour in a real American Jeep just adds to it all. If you do the jeep tour you must book an interpreter in advance. We didn't have one with us so we resorted to charades, which made it all the more fun and a good giggle. The breakfast room was decorated 1940's style, which added to the experience, with lots of memorabilia from the war. We would not think of staying anywhere else, when we hopefully go back. This place is everything you need for a great holiday, experiencing the history of June 6th 1944. If you are coming to Normandy for the history of D-Day and WWII then La Batterie du Holdy is a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We had a wonderful stay at La Batterie du Holdy. The B&B is an old farmhouse in the countryside, complete with horses, dogs, chickens, and geese. The rooms are simple and comfortable. The owners are the friendliest we have ever encountered. Despite us speaking almost no French and them speaking only a little English, we felt welcomed like old friends.

Jean's knowledge of the D-Day events is encyclopedic, and he loves to share it. The Jeep tour he took us on was the highlight of our stay in Normandy. The English-speaking guide who came with us (which must be arranged in advance) was also very good. We had to pay separately for the tour, unlike another reviewer, but it was well worth it. The tour can also be booked even if you don't stay with them.

If you are coming to this area to see the D-Day historical sites, it would be hard to find a better place than this to stay. Like many local B&B's, this house was actually used by soldiers during the war. However, this is surely the only one that features several running WWII vehicles, a reconstructed battery with a gun that you can sit on and aim, and breakfast in a WWII-style bar with enough artifacts to fill a small museum. It is quite inexpensive, as well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

This is a very pleasant chambre d'hote in the Normandy countryside not far from Omaha beach. The rooms are recently refurbished in a simple country style with en suite facilities. Dogs are welcome so long as they're not aggressive to other dogs.
What makes this place something other than a pleasant country B&B is the owner Jean-Noel's passion for second world war history. The breakfast room is decorated in the style of a 1940's French bar and houses his collection of memorabilia displayed as a diaporama of mannequins in US and German uniform.
Included in the price of a stay is a guided tour of the battlefields in Jean Noel's WWII US jeep. With our parachutists helmets on, our family, dog included, climbed into the jeep, with Jean-Noel dressed as ever as a US army mechnic and were taken on an incredibly atmospheric tour of the battlefields at dusk. There is nothing about the events of June 1944 that Jean Noel doesn't know about, and nobody who knows more about the skermishes around St Marie du Mont than himself. Nothing can bring the events to life more than the sounds and smells of being driven around in an open top authentic jeep.
We speak good French so had no problem with language, if you have a basic level of French you'll still enjoy the tour and the stories, but if you require there is the option of having an English speaking guide too if booked in advance.
The children loved staying here, as I did. This place is small and simple, but run with love and passion for the historic events that took place in the area. If you're looking for somewhere different to stay before or after a ferry trip, or if you're in the area specifically for the history, then you will thoroughly enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anataman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews