We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
311
71
26
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
71
26
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la cheneviere dining room main building beautiful chateau d day beaches luxury hotel old trees lovely grounds normandy region deluxe room french chateau fine dining dining experience large bathroom this wonderful hotel dinner one night pool was heated
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

La Cheneviere is an incredibly beautiful 18th Century Norman chateau. The property is a luxurious five star hotel close to the beaches of Normandy. It was occupied by the Germans for a period during WWII until the Americans landed and took over in June 1944. The once private home was restored to a grandeur that celebrates French classic decor. The staff was quite lovely and accommodating. Make sure you walk the grounds!- they are large with incredible foliage. I loved dining at on site restaurant for both breakfast and dinner as the food tasted out of this world and the service was impeccable.
La Cheneviere was a treat that should not be missed.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
Thank DavisEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thefroggieplanet, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau La Cheneviere, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Davis EM,
Thank you for a great review and kind words which were shared with the staff. We hope to welcome you back to la Cheneviere, Best regards, Françoise FAUQUE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

Okay so you're staying in an absolutely stunning French Chateau in the Norman countryside.
The grounds are immaculate, the swimming pool was gorgeous, the tennis court look nice too.
The rooms were nice, beds comfortable - didn't like our bathroom at all - sort of an old person's bath/shower combo that would kill any old person I ever met - the dismount from tub to floor was next to impossible.
Here was the rub - the service. Bunch of very nice, attractive young people but.. We waited forever to get served at the bar... Then the bartender didn't really seem to know what a Kir Royale was..
Dinner was very very fancy - complete with silver coverings for the main course - kids were suitably impressed - but we are in Normandy land of apples and calvados and certain relaxed richness. Instead we were served nouvelle French cuisine with sides of vegetables that consisted of a single roast carrot.
I should note, the sommelier was excellent and picked a perfect bottle.
Then the next day, when we checked out we wanted to know where a good local baker and cheese monger were so we could get stuff for a picnic. The kid at the desk offered us a pre-printed sheet with places an hour away - when we further explained our desires he directed us to the local CarreFour - sort of the French equivalent of a Walmart or Publix.
Anyway it was a lovely stay but the prices are/were pretty steep and for those numbers the service should be exceptional.
But if you want that French Chateau experience and you're touring the battlefields of World War Two our Mount Saint Michelle then maybe this is your spot.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Oskar-Brooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

We spent two wonderful nights at Chateau La Cheneviere in May 2018. The property has been beautifully updated and maintained to perfection. We had a suite with a connecting room for our two eleven-year-old children. The suite was decorated tastefully and luxuriously and had beautiful views of the garden. We brought our two dogs, and were provided with dog bowls and a dog bed. The staff could not have been more friendly and genuinely welcoming to us, our children and our dogs. We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant both nights, because the food and service were superb. We had the tasting menu and the chef made a different meal for our children. The breakfast at the hotel is among the best breakfast of any hotel I have ever stayed at in Europe. At our first breakfast, one of the staff members (I think it was Beatrice?) let us know that the dining room was filling up for the evening and offered to have the kitchen make a special meal for our children at their request. Of course, they asked for spaghetti Bolognese, which was excellent, as well. We spent six weeks in France last summer and this hotel was our favorite. And did I mention, it is well located for visiting the historic beaches of Normandy.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We have just left the hotel, so everything is still fresh - a positive experience, with few things to be improved to make it perfect.

Let's start with the positives - great looking property, perfectly manicured lawns, most of the staff is friendly and helpful. A special thanks to Brian, a very professional and charming person.

The hotel has a romantic atmosphere and it's a great location for exploring both Bayeux and the D-Day Omaha Beach.

Now, for the things to be improved, to make it outstanding:
- turndown service: please remove the empty champagne bottle and dirty glasses from the room;
- try to have a person for the baggage service;
- some of the staff would definitely need to be friendlier.

All in all, a charming place, with just a few improvements to make it perfect.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank adinelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

Huge beautiful property with lots of green spaces , gardens and an outdoor swimming pool. The pool was heated which was great since the days we stayed there , the high during the day was only 70 degrees .

Breakfast was plentiful and delicious . The restaurant at the hotel is fine dining and so we only ate there once . Interesting , contemporary menu with great food . Service excellent

My main suggestion is to inquire ahead of time about the location of your room . There is the main building and there is at least one maybe two additional buildings . They initially put us in one of the separate buildings on the ground floor. We had two rooms and each room had a nice outdoor patio area , however the rooms were small and our room had a mildew smell. We asked to switch rooms which they did for us on the first night into the main house and switched our daughters room the second day into a room in the main house. We were there for three nights. Both rooms were larger than the rooms in the outside building with no increase in price .

I don’t know if there are better rooms in the secondary buildings other than the two we were initially assigned to.

Once our rooms were changed we were completely satisfied and would stay here again if I knew we would be in the main building . Ask about the rooms when you book .

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews