We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning house set in a beautiful bay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dikwella, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
JulesLC
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Stunning house set in a beautiful bay”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were lucky enough to stay in both the main Cove House, as well as in Little Cove. firstly the properties are set in the most stunning location on Hiriketiya beach, a perfect little bay that is great for surfing. The main house has 3 beds, all within the same building. 2 of the bedrooms overlook the bay, the third is has no view. the interior living is to the back of the building, but there are plenty of outdoor areas to use as well. stunning pool overlooking the ocea. chef Jay cooks up a great selection of curries and can also do western meals as well. the house is well run and kept very clean (not always the case with some of the villas we have stayed in!). The team are eager to please and happy to help. The little cove is set back in the gardens (be aware there is no sea view, but it does now have its own plunge pool) and offers 2 bedrooms. for those travelling with young children, be aware that the building itself cannot be locked, only the bedrooms which are on opposite sides of the living area. Both houses are very tastefully furnished and made for a very relaxing stay. Go and check the Beach House on the beach, good also for lunch and a drink.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt19871...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The most extraordinary secret paradise.”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

If you want to find your paradise that's the place what you looking for. Beautiful beach best what we found in Sri Lanka and great to surf . Excellent helpful service let you feel like in home. Great quiet location . Exellenet value for money for luxury holiday escape. Perfect for escape from life and live in paradise for a while.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe W
Leeds, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Paradise Found !”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is a fabulous place to stay and relax.mthe house is beautifully decorated and there are lots of choices of where to put your feet up and enjoy the spectacular view. The little bay where it is set has serious surfing at one end and gentler swimming at the other making it a perfect combination for all. There is also a beach shack serving lovely drinks and food and renting surf boards. Whale watching in nearby mirissa is worth doing...raja and the whales are an ethical company to go with.

The staff at the house are attentive to every need and the chef creates daily masterpieces. A really wonderful place to relax and forget all your daily woes ! We will be back .

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LZ_Aussie...
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unspoiled Paradise”
Reviewed 2 April 2015 for a stay in August 2014

This review is long overdue as we were there over 6 months ago - funny we'd let everyone know straight away when we have bad experience but slow on showing appreciation.

The Cove House is exact that - a big house sitting on a sandy cove. I didn't see any other hotels on the beach. We had it all to ourselves, plus a few local fishermen and expats we ran into from time to time. It was very peaceful and relaxing.

Our room's back entrance led straight to the swimming pool below which was the beach. We had the best view of the ocean from our own bed! Although that was not where we did all the sleeping - there were large padded deckchairs right outside our room next to the pool where we rested under the stars with the sound of the ocean.

We also had an outdoor rain shower.

The house was nicely decorated, I think mostly with furniture made locally which was great to know. The staff was very good, whenever we needed something they'd magically appear out of nowhere, attended to our needs, then left us alone again. As Sri Lanka is not yet a popular tourist destination (which we love!) some staff members were less experienced with our western way of living (which again I see as a positive). But they were all so eager to learn. I tried to order a couple of cocktails by the pool but they weren't sure how to make them. So I jumped into the kitchen/bar and showed them. They were so so excited to learn, and asked me to show them more in the following days. By using fresh local ingredients the drinks turned out better than what I get in a normal bar.

Did I mention the food? Any fresher they would be hopping off the plate. Big complement to the chef.

Interaction with local people is an exciting part of traveling for me. We were invited by a couple of the staff members to a party on the beach with their local friends. (Not sure if it was approved by the management but we went anyway.) I have never encountered people so genuinely friendly. We felt completely safe the whole time. They didn't want anything from us as tourists, only asked us to BYO drinks, just like parties at home. We had a great time, bonfire on the beach and music played from something with unstable battery power. We fell asleep on the beach under the stars (again) and were only waken by the raising tide!

We also had a day trip to an orphanage partly sponsored by the owner of Cove House. It was a truly humbly experience. When we got home we got kids to send their used toys to the orphanage.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The view. Peafulness. Interaction with locals.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIKIDYM
Krakow, Poland
1 review
“Best Stay Ever!”
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed at Little Cove House for a few nights at the end of FEB 2015 and we absolutely loved everything about the Cove Houses! There is nothing that could have been any better - the location, the rooms, the nicest staff, the delicious food…
Located on a beautiful jungle garden, 5 steps from paradise beach, the most beautiful beach we found in Sri Lanka! The place is spotless.
The room standard is excellent. Our rooms had all the luxury you could wish for, were exceptionally clean with tasteful and unusual decor. The interior design is beautifully original. We loved the outside bathroom…
But the best - the staff! Friendly, helpful, and professional. They exceeded our expectations. Excellent service...just couldn't fault anything. Thank You ROMAN!
The Chef is a MASTER. We do enjoyed delicious and exceptional food. The variety, quality and presentation of the food served was perfect.
The Cove Houses are simply stunning. I can't imagine a more beautiful place to relax. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing