We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting, painfully average food. Overpriced.”
Review of The Rock

The Rock
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Pingwe
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Rock Restaurant, in Michamvi Pingwe on Zanzibar Island, is an extraordinary restaurant, located in a unique position, on a rock in the middle of the Indian Ocean. The contrast of the unspoiled natural setting, down played decor and design vs the international standard food preparation and presentation is as novel and rewarding as its location. Serving up to 14 tables, all facing a wonderful terrace on the Ocean, the restaurant is connected to the mainland by boat, within high tide, and reachable by foot within low tide. It is also easy reachable by sea if coming by boat from an excursion. Perfect for a romantic dinner for two, or for a memorable evening with friends or family, it is open for lunch and dinner and is available to be reserved for small groups and ceremonies. The Rock kitchen offers a superlative fresh seafood menu, including vegetarian plates and a kid's menu the service is informal but accurate and elegant.
Reviewed 30 June 2022 via mobile

We had great expectations. The webpage look promising, as well as the restaurants online presence. The promise of dining in the middle of the ocean (make sure you go at high tide!!) sounded delightful. And it was. But other than that we were greatly disappointed with the food. The crab ravioli average. We ordered the Rock Special - lobster, octopus, shrimp - and the food arrived cold. Tasteless. The only dish I enjoyed, was my stewed lobster. Honestly overpriced.

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank julkole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (4,745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 4,745 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2022 via mobile

It’s our second time visiting The Rock and it’s been an absolute pleasure! Best view you will ever see and such great service from Bakar! Still remember him from our previous visit! Bery friendly and helpfull. Will be back soon for sure! Be sure to book when tides are high for an extra nice experience.

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank cathyv286
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 June 2022 via mobile

My friend said that the seafood is delicious but Actually I didn’t try it , i hope next year , but the rock looks beautiful its a little far from the beach you have to get a boat to reach.

Date of visit: June 2022
1  Thank Navigate55399187098
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 June 2022

A "Must" for lovers of fish cuisine and special environments. Wonderful location surrounded by nature, fish dishes, shellfish and seafood cooked divinely, tasty cocktails. the hospitality and friendliness of Reddy (the Italian manager, a true professional in the culinary sector) are impeccable, it feels like to be at home!
TO HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank DamienDamato
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 June 2022

Reading all the reviews of The Rock restaurant on here, my wife and I were excited to visit and sample some fresh seafood, good drinks and beautiful views.

We booked a lunchtime slot to make the journey there and back a viewable one (Travelling to the restaurant from the east coast of Zanzibar is close to an hour’s journey by taxi), of the local villages along the way.

The tide was out when we arrived, leaving an easy 50-80m walk along the man made path to the wooden steps of the restaurant.

When entering, you’re welcomed with a friendly greeting from all the staff and shown to your table. For us, this was the pinnacle of The Rock.

The food; we ordered the lobster tagliatelle and the squid on skewers, was bang average at best. The tagliatelle had a decent texture and consistency, but rather bland in taste. The squid came with potatoes and a little pot of mango salsa. The whole meal’s presentation looked as though a lazy college student had just plonked each beige item on to the plate before sitting in front of a tv not to miss the kick off of a big football game. The lack of flavour didn’t redeem its unappealing aesthetic either, just meh.

Desserts ordered, coconut tiramisu and passion fruit cheesecake. The tiramisu comes in a coconut shell and is pretty much 3/4 full of whipped cream with a sliver of coffee sponge cake amongst it. Similarly, the passion fruit cheesecake’s ratio is equally bad. On top you have a 2mm thin layer (just as well) of extremely sharp passion fruit, followed by a 3” deep layer of cottage cheese and 1mm layer of biscuit at its base, all in a 4” tall glass! Again, they seem half heartedly prepared and made.

All in all, The Rock restaurant for us is a novelty to visit and nowhere near worth the journey time and cost to visit. When going out for a meal we specifically want to eat great food first, combined with good service and atmosphere to create a great experience. Sadly, the food let this experience down and had preferred eating at our hotel.

Date of visit: June 2022
2  Thank fobuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed The Rock also viewed

Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to The Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.