We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Heli-Biking Trip in Cromwell”
Review of Heliview Flights

Heliview Flights
Ranked #1 of 8 Tours in Cromwell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Richard and Jolanda Foale from Heliview Flights invite you to take to the skies over Central Otago, near Queenstown. 5 reasons we make your holiday awesome * Heliview Flights - a family business with the personal touch; we spend more time with you, making your trip special * Cromwell has the best flying weather in New Zealand, with only 400mm of rain per annum! * Dramatic landscapes, majestic vistas or a stunning sunset all from our luxury 7-seater helicopter * Your pilot Richard has extensive experience (over 30 years) including search & rescue, police, corporate and UK Army AirCorps * Experience Cromwell: an authentic, gentler pace, only a 45 minute drive from bustling Queenstown, NZ's adventure capital Blending a luxury helicopter, personalised service, friendly staff and the stunning Central Otago landscape, family-owned Heliview Flights offers a range of scenic helicopter flights and heli-biking trips (guided and self-ride). From their base at Cromwell Racecourse Airfield, flights take in the majestic vista of the surrounding area and Southern Alps. Note: we used to be in New Plymouth, which old reviews reflect, but it's the same people and helicopter as before, so expect the same high standards, combined with new scenery.
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Come over from the day from Queenstown for an amazing Heli-Bike Trip with Yolanda and Richard. They were very professional and very friendly throughout the whole trip. We got dropped at the top of the mountain range with huge views and private trip. We took a heaps of photos on the way down, enjoyed the included packed lunch and gladly welcomed a beer at the Bannokburn Pub at the finish! A really cool day out, and glad to have a bit of a scenic flight and commentary of Cromwell on the way up. Cheers guys, will be back

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank 261jonnym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heliview, Owner at Heliview Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2017

Dear Jonny

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It's great to hear you enjoyed your Self-ride Heli-Bike experience with us.

And thank you also for following our journey on Facebook, and please hashtag any photos you upload on your social media stream with #Heliview so we can enjoy them as well.

We hope we will see you again some day for another great day in the hills. Thanks again for your kind words & feedback.

Kind regards

Richard & Jolanda Foale
Heliview Flights

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hot chocolate"
in 29 reviews
"pisa range"
in 14 reviews
"scenic flight"
in 10 reviews
"great flight"
in 6 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 13 reviews
"great commentary"
in 4 reviews
"mountain top"
in 4 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 6 reviews
"these guys"
in 9 reviews
"points of interest"
in 4 reviews
"my partner"
in 9 reviews
"breathtaking views"
in 4 reviews
"new zealand"
in 4 reviews
"highlands motorsport park"
in 3 reviews
"pilot"
in 36 reviews
"helicopter"
in 62 reviews
"yolanda"
in 36 reviews
Filter

49 - 53 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2017

Really enjoyed the flight and commentary from Richard the Pilot.
Jolanda made us very welcome with a full account of what to expect.
Central Otago is a magnificent countryside on a beautiful day.Enjoyed viewing the video afterwards.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heliview, Owner at Heliview Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Dear Neil

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience with us.

We look forward to seeing you again some day soon! Thanks again for taking the time to give us a review. Your feedback ensures we are keeping up with our customers expectations.

Kind regards

Richard & Jolanda Foale
Heliview Flights

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We were so delighted with Jolanda and Richard for the smooth & exhilarating flight for myself and my family of 5 on the 8 Dec 2016. We were initially worried over the bad weather we encountered days before the planned flight but Jolanda was able to advise us a good schedule for a clear flight. If you are planning for helicopter ride over the mountains, do make it a point to check out Heliview and Jolanda, who's ever so friendly, will make sure you'll have a good flight. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank SKTham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heliview, Owner at Heliview Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

You are sooo welcome! It was a pleasure to meet you and your family and to showcase our area to you from above. One day we'll make it to Singapore and you can show us all the best spots there :).

We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us. Your positive comments really help us to strive to be the best at what we do.

Please follow our journey on Facebook.com/Heliview, and please hashtag any photos you upload on your social media stream with #Heliview so we can enjoy them as well.

Thanks again,

Richard & Jolanda Foale
Heliview Flights

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Thanks to Jolanda our booking process was smooth and seamless. We booked the Heli dine package which was superb. The property was easy to find and we were welcomed by Jolanda. After loading us into the chopper Richard took over, he was extremely knowledgeable and very professional. Views were unforgettable and the landing ( whilst cold) was great. We were dropped to Mount Difficulty for lunch and when we had finished Jolanda picked us up and dropped us back to the our car. We also purchased the go pro footage and photos.
The service from booking to departure cannot be faulted and the price is excellent. Would go again when back in NZ and have recommended to many.
Thank you for a great start to our NZ holiday!

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Nikki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heliview, Owner at Heliview Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2016

Dear Nikki

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

It's great to hear you enjoyed our Mt Difficulty Winery Heli-Dine Package. Your feedback ensures we are keeping up with our customers' expectations and it's great to hear that we have struck a good balance.

We look forward to seeing you again some day soon! Thanks again for taking the time to give us a review.

Kind regards

Richard & Jolanda Foale
Heliview Flights

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2016

What an amazing experience for a really decent price. Even with the video added it was a good price BUT I really really do disagree with the fact that there is a video of other people on the stick. I guess they just use one for everyone but that's not okay. Definitly a bummer when i found out.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heliview, Owner at Heliview Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2016

Hi Dennis

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We really appreciate your feedback but are confused about your comment about the video.

We record each flight with a GoPro and then offer that footage for sale after the flight so passengers can relive the experience and show friends and relatives. The footage is of the landscape we fly over and is plugged into the intercom so you can hear Richard's commentary about the features you fly over. There is no internal footage so no people can be seen.

We do not keep a 'master video file' but copy each individual flight's footage as flight routes can vary a little due to weather considerations. If you buy the video, it is of your flight, not someone else's.

Feel free to email us at info@heliview.co.nz if you wish to discuss this further :).

We trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand and had a safe trip back home to the Netherlands.

Kind regards,

Jolanda and Richard Foale
Heliview flights


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heliview Flights also viewed

Cromwell, Central Otago
Cromwell, Central Otago
 

Been to Heliview Flights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing