We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Awesome experience with great people

How nice to be invited into a home where this craft is just an accepted way. No indemnities and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Karin K
,
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Fantastic Experience - Highlight of NZ!

I called into the Barrytown Knifemaking forge after seeing their sign on the highway. This very... read more

Reviewed 19 September 2018
Bianca C
via mobile
Read all 111 reviews
  
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
104
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
104
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews knife making finished product axe throwing new zealand giant swing wonderful hosts excellent activity small group amazing experience christmas present my husband and son throw axes robyn steel forging forge skills
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

I cannot recommend this enough!! Such an amazing, day throughout! A big highlight to our trip! It's a must do!
Steven and Robyn were both wonderful and awesomely entertaining. They made everyone feel welcome and at home, giving their attention equally to everyone and their knives. 
It's absolutely fantastic the amount of work you put into your own knife! It really is 'Making Your Own'! Robyn and Steven really brilliantly, get you involved with it all, so you can truly watch your bar of steel transform into your very own stunningly beautiful knife. 
We loved the entire day; the amazing knife forging, the awesome axe throwing, the cool giant swing and fun games and wished we could have stayed longer, drinking champagne, listening to Robyn and Steven's brilliantly funny stories and of course, do it all over again!!!
Thank you so much for our fantastic day. We are all so thrilled and proud of our beautiful knives - we cannot stop admiring them!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank MCCOR94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robyn m, Owner at Barrytown Knifemaking, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Thank You!!!!
So glad you enjoyed your day, and LOVE your knives!!!
Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017

What a fantastic day. Regardless of your knife making capabilities, Stephen and Robyn (complete with a smile and brilliant sense of humour) will have you leaving with a beautiful knife.
It was a highlight of our 2 month trip! Could not recommend it highly enough - such great value for money.
Do not drive the west coast without doing this!

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank tinanurse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

We had the most amazing, informative day with Stephen at Barrytown Knife making. Starting from a block of wood and a piece of steel to taking home a knife you could imagine buying in a shop.
Lunch was provided as was sparkling wine and beer at the end of the day. Already planning our next trip when people come out to visit. Would definitely recommend this for people travelling down the West coast, you won't be disappointed!

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Best day ever....Steve & Robyn are awesome - the whole experience is so unique & at the end of it all you go away with a knife you have made.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robyn m, partner at Barrytown Knifemaking, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

thank you James,
was great to have you both along!

all the best
Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

It was an awesome experience! The 2 hosts (Robyn and Steven) are so niec and made the day to one of the funniest ones! The opportunity to make ur own knife is unique and I would definitely recommend it to spend a day at that lovely house. Much love to the 2 hosts!

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews