We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
SandraD
Christchurch, New Zealand

West Coast Escape

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Sept 2020via mobile
Loved the proximity to the ocean and surrounding attractions of the West Coast. The 1 bedroom house was modern with all the amenities. Excellently well apposed with super comfortable bed, white quality linen and full cooking facilities. The spa tub was amazing in its own unique shelter.
Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.2 km from Paparoa Beach Hideaway And Hot Tub
Free Wifi
Free parking
Enjoy a cold beer and sunset at All Nations Barrytown
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
2.3 km from Paparoa Beach Hideaway And Hot Tub
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
2.2 km from Paparoa Beach Hideaway And Hot Tub
Vio.com
    0.3 km from Paparoa Beach Hideaway And Hot Tub
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    14.7 km from Paparoa Beach Hideaway And Hot Tub
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $235
    • Hotels.com
    16.1 km from Paparoa Beach Hideaway And Hot Tub
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    A short walk along the beach, north of our cabin.
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $180
    • Priceline
    17.1 km from Paparoa Beach Hideaway And Hot Tub
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    57.5 km from Paparoa Beach Hideaway And Hot Tub
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Vio.com
    • Lol.travel
    10.6 km from Paparoa Beach Hideaway And Hot Tub
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    58.3 km from Paparoa Beach Hideaway And Hot Tub
    Free Wifi
    View more hotels in Barrytown
    Reviews (96)
    Filter reviews
    96 results
    Traveller rating
    60
    20
    10
    1
    5
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    60
    20
    10
    1
    5
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    2 - 7 of 96 reviews
    Reviewed 17 August 2020 via mobile

    Stayed here for a long weekend with my boyfriend and my dog.
    The location is nice and quiet, set back far enough away from the road. It was nice and quiet and well equipped. My dog really liked the grounds, even toilet time needed to become a leash walk and sniff. The hot tub was really lovely and has skylights that would be great for a view of the stars (pity we had overcast weather all long weekend) and a large window that looks across the bush to the beach.
    Would definitely recommend.

    Date of stay: August 2020
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank LRaeN
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 22 March 2020

    Situated in Barrytown, 30 minutes drive from Greymouth a beautiful stretch of quiet country road surrounded by native bush this remote location offers privacy and relaxing unwind.
    Check in and check out has been easy as per owner instructions. Great guest information provided with details needed.
    We stayed only one night but wish we could make it base for travel around.
    Kitchen was well equipped, gas bbq outside was very handy after our long day. Needs to be cleaned before you leave, as we do at home.
    Bed was big and comfy, bathroom large and well orginised. There was hot tub and fire pit for cosy night, if someone preferes it.
    This place was very clean and should be left clean as per request.
    I would like to stay another night or two if in area again.
    We have enjoyed our stay.
     

    Date of stay: March 2020
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    2  Thank Nina_Most
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 4 January 2020

    This place is amazing, if you want to get away from it all then this is the place.They have made a big effort to ensure your stay is comfortable which is important, especially in a part of New Zealand where the environmental conditions can be rather hostile.
    I love the small extra's like the salt and pepper, handy towels and insect repellent they have their for you to use.
    The hot water tank is small so don't muck around with your showers.
    I did find the instructions from the owner to be rather aggressive though so they might want to tone this down a bit, you can push your message across in a more subtle way

    Do your own dishes
    You will be charged extra if you leave a mess
    You will be charged extra if you don't clean the BBQ

    Access to the beach is a bit of a hike, and you will have to tramp across a small marsh area and you will get wet.

    Besides that it was beautiful and worth it

    Date of stay: January 2020
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank mike999453
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 2 December 2019

    Only stayed 1 night, would have loved to stay longer. We picked up a delicious dinner before arrival from Kiwi Thai Takeaways in Greymouth and it was still hot when we arrived at the cabin. This place is a gem, the grounds, the cottage and the views simply wonderful!

    Date of stay: November 2019
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
    Thank LeanneW978
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 21 November 2019

    Staying in this gorgeous well appointed beautiful cottage now -feel very lucky to have stumbled across it -read one whingers review that objected to doing her own dishes -slovenly cow -if you are averse to looking after this fabulous peaceful cottage then feck off and find a Hilton with a butler .

    Date of stay: November 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank Pomki
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews