We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful place, like in the photos”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

77jennife...
Milano
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A wonderful place, like in the photos”
Reviewed 27 June 2019 for a stay in June 2019
2
people found this review helpful

The location is good, very big and well equipped. My fmily and me, we loved spending our week there, far from the noise of the big cities!

Date of stay: June 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2019
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your generous comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clive1234...
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 17 June 2019 for a stay in June 2019

This is the second time we have visited and we were not disappointed. The hosts are amazing always willing to help and advise with their vast knowledge of the area. With regard to the cottages they are of the highest standard. We stayed in Hazel this time as it suited our needs but they are all of the same high standard. The area is stunning with a large pond and stunning scenery encompassing the whole complex. We are definitely going to return and would have no hesitation in recommending the cottages to anyone seeking a relaxing or adventurous holiday

Date of stay: June 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2019
We are always delighted when guests return and we really appreciate your review and recommendation. Hurry back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DayTrip23...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Family Accommodation!!!”
Reviewed 23 November 2018 for a stay in November 2018

What an amazing fabulous holiday destination!! From the moment we arrived we were overwhelmed by the beauty of the cottages and estate in general. Lily and Jon were so lovely and could not do enough to welcome us.
We stayed in Hazel cottage with our three children and there was more than enough room for us as well as having others in our group (we had relatives staying in some of the other cottages as we were celebrating my 40th Birthday) over for breakfast.
The accommodation itself was fabulous with a nice cosy feel to it and everything was spotlessly clean. The kitchen is well equipped with everything we needed. Even the flasks were utilised and very useful for cold days out and about. The log burning fire was fantastic to wind down at night and we were supplied with a large amount of logs and coal for the fire and if required we could buy more logs at a very reasonable price.
The estate offered a variety of walks and activities to do. The children had lots of space to play football, play in the Wendy house, the games rooms etc. We were even able to borrow the onsite bikes which was an added bonus for some of our group that did not have bikes with them.
At the back of the cottages behind the pond there is a wooded area and fire pit which we were delighted to utilise on the night of my 40th birthday which made the evening even more special.
I could not recommend the highland Holiday Cottages enough as it is a truly spectacular destination which has made lifelong memories for us all!!! We are already looking at dates to come back!

Date of stay: November 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2018
Hi Charlene,

We’re so happy that your birthday celebrations were so special and that your whole family loved the cottages and surrounding area. You guys had amazing weather for your long weekend , the best we’ve had in some time; it wasn’t even that cold! . Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind and detailed review. We’re really looking forward to seeing you all again in the new year! Have a wonderful Xmas .

Best wishes

Lily and Jon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S
Sandown, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Cottage and Perfect Location World Definitely Recommend!”
Reviewed 29 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018

We have just returned from staying at Hazel Cottage for October half term. My husband and I and three children stayed at Hazel Cottage and wow it is beautiful and spotless and we did not want to leave we fell in love with the cottage and the area as it is set in a beautiful location. Everything in this cottage is of high quality and I would definitely rate it as 5 star! Lily and John are so friendly. We did not arrive till late and they had provided milk, tea and coffee with logs ready by the burner. There was also shampoo, conditioner and body lotion provided in the bathrooms which was great. There is so much to do for children nearby. If you have children Landmark is a must and the Highland Wildlife Park the kids loved it. I am already booking up Hazel Cottage for next year and can't wait to return as it was the best holiday ever. I would definitely recommend Highland Holiday Cottages. Thank you Lily and John for a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: October 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2018
Thank you Selina for such a generous and thorough review. We look forward to you returning next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
483kirsty...
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 9 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018

een visiting the Highland Holiday Cottages on & off for around 12 years & it never fails to disappoint!
This time around we booked the Hazel, it sleeps 6 easily & comfortably. The layout of this cottage is perfect, grandparents stayed in the large downstairs bedroom with an ensuite bathroom complete with fluffy towels & toiletries, whilst adults & child were upstairs with a family shower room again with big fluffy towels & toiletries.
We were pleasantly suprised when we arrived to find the cottage had had a make-over, it was lovely & in-keeping with the comfortable, homely feel. Nice, big squishy sofa's, fully equipped kitchen, full size fridge/freezer, dining table for 6, all complemented by lemon tartan finishes. Was lovely to see some local artwork displayed too.
Another really nice touch was the welcome card & pot of homemade marmalade (delicious!).
Cottage was clean & tidy & supplied with essentials when we arrived, tea, coffee, small milk & we were very grateful after the 8 hour drive!
We loved the roaring log burner & used it everyday despite the electric heaters, nice touches to have the tv, dvd player & stereo even though we didn't use them.
We noticed the area was a bit noisier this time around due to more dogs staying in & around the guesthouse but it didn't affect our stay.
Weather wasn't too bad for this time of year, a little chilly, a tad damp on some days & windy, but it didn't stop our party doing anything.
We found crazy golf near Aviemore which was fun on a wet morning, & once it was drier we visited Blair Castle which is beautiful, make sure to see the grounds & some of the tallest evergreens. We also visited Blair Atholl working watermill, very interesting visit & delicious cakes/fresh bread made on site.
We can highly recommend Glen Hotel in Newtonmore, very good food, friendly, reliable service. Advise booking if eating after 7pm.
We took the Jacobite steam train (Harry Potter) from Fort William to Malaig, a very wet day so not much to see on the way & when we got to Mallaig our pre-booked restaurant failed to tell us they had cancelled our booking (would NOT RECOMMEND Chlachain Inn!) booking is essential if you wish to eat in Mallaig, literally everywhere is full! Take a walk along the harbour to see Skye on a clear day & the seals following the fishing boats. Journey home was great, we saw the Glennfinnan viaduct & some truly fantastic scenery!
As a family we absolutely love it here, the scenery, the food & the people, we can't wait to return!

Date of stay: September 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2018
Thank you Kirsty for your kind and detailed review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.