We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply Amazing”

Review of Glentruim Castle

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Glentruim Castle is beautiful whatever the season
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Glentruim Castle is beautiful whatever the season
The newly built Orangery offers a fantastic space for celebrations
Relax in the elegant and inviting Drawing Room
Be enveloped by the warm, cosy atmosphere of the Smoking Room
Enjoy dining with family and friends in the lovely Dining Room
Make an entrance as you sweep down the beautiful staircase
At the end of day, enjoy a drink from the bar
The stunning new kitchen is a fantastic space for family meals and great conversations
Sleep like a king in the glorious four poster in the Master Suite
Bath like a queen in the enormous Master En Suite
Sweet dreams in the Princes Room
Double aspect windows provide stunning views in the Tower Room
The Yellow Bedroom is a warm and cosy bedroom
Showering is a pleasure in the huge walk in shower room en-suite in the Yellow Room en suite
A great nights sleep is to be had in the Servants Room
relax in the bath and enjoy the stunning mountain views
Two small double beds mean this twin room can accommodate a various combinations of guests
The Army Room en-suite
Work out in the gym!
Relax and be pampered in our Beauty Treatment  Room
Enjoy bathing in the hot tub on the front patio(hire can be arranged)
Why not dine out at the fantastic picnic area on the estate?
And enjoy the stuning views from the Picnic Area
Wander the paths around the estate
Sample a malt whisky at Dalwhinnie Distillery only 9 miles away
The Cairngorm and Monadhliath Mountains are on the doorstep
There are lots of short local drives to beautiful locations
Take in the views in the beautiful local area
Ruthven Barracks is just a short drive away
Red deer on the surrounding hills
Loch Laggan is several miles along the road
Dalwhinnie Distillery is on the doorstep
Overview
Castle -
8 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Newtonmore, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Ed S
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I had the honor of being invited to stay at Glentruim Castle for 3 nights for a wedding. The castle was breath taking and the setting also. Glentruim has recently been renovated to a very high standard. It has a perfect balance of discreet high tech living combined with luxurious and sophisticated decor. Lovely to see a place finished to such a great standard without taking away from the original character of the place.

The staff there over the course of the weekend were excellent and the planning of the wedding was executed with no stress or fluster, but with style and smiles putting all at ease.

I would love to come back and visit again at some point as this is definitely a place you want to stay more than once.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2015
Thank you for your very kind review. We at Glentruim feel privileged to host such a special occasion as a wedding and we aim to more than fulfil everyone's expectations, by offering a beautifully presented venue and true Highland hospitality. We are therefore delighted that we have once again succeeded. You would be more than welcome to visit us again and become part of our Glentruim family. Kindest regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chickwith...
Ottawa Lake, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I along with our four adult children and their significant others had the pleasure of staying at Glentruim Castle for 5 days/4 nights. It was the highlight of our trip. This estate is simply amazing.
The arrangements were made through Deirdre Falconer, the estate manager. Deirdre communicated consistently until the time of our arrival. She arranged a butcher to deliver fresh meats, gave us several names of local caterers if we wanted meals cooked for us, and also provided us with the website to have groceries delivered to our door. Her husband even brought fishing gear so we could fish in the rivers that run through the estate.
The castle itself was fabulous. Everything clean, neat and new. A state-of-the-art sound and cinema system even had the techno enthusiasts in our party excited. Sonos multi-room sound system throughout, a cinema room and enormous drop-down cinema screen in the new conservatory gave us plenty to enjoy. The fireplaces in the rooms were filled with wood and ready to use. A favorite room of ours was the smoking room. You could almost feel the history of cigars and port being enjoyed there, although our choice was whiskey and Scrabble. The kitchen is enormous and new. It has everything you would possibly need, including two dishwashers so cleaning up after a crowd would not be a problem. The large gas range and ovens had plenty of room for cooking and the big table was a favorite of ours for breakfast. The evening meal was served in the formal dining room complete with candelabra and fireplace.
The bedrooms are lovely with comfortable beds and luxurious towels. The five couples of our party each had their own room with either a king or double bed with several bedrooms to spare. The best way to "see" the castle is to check out their website. Those pictures are exactly what you get. We only wish we could have spent more time there but our travels took us to the Islands. Glentruim is conveniently located that we were able to take day trips to the west coast/Aberdeen area, Glencoe, Pitlochry and Inverness.
We took evening walks around the estate grounds which consisted of open fields with stunning views of the river as well as woodland areas. There are also plenty of lawn games for everyone to enjoy.
I highly recommend Glentruim, especially for families or groups of travelers. Although my husband and I typically stay in B&Bs, having the castle to ourselves allowed our family to interact more in the evenings than a B&B would have allowed. I cannot say enough good things about Glentruim. We hope to be able to stay there again some day. Well done!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Glentruim Estate and found everything to be as described on the website, but we are especially pleased that your stay here proved to be the highlight of your trip to Scotland. We would love to welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley R
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lauren & Billy's wedding”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Glentruim was beyond everything we expected of it. We viewed it a year previously at the beginning of the refurbishment and believed in Deirde's vision - she didn't let us down!
The viewpoint is breath taking but sadly the weather let us down and the the bride & groom were unable to say 'i do' there, they planted a cherry tree there to mark the date they married. We will return lots of times to see it grow.
Glentruim should be on everyone's bucket list!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
It was an honour to be chosen as the venue for Lauren and Billy's wedding in May,and we are thrilled that the estate lived up to all of your expectations. It really was the most beautiful of occasions and we are so proud to have played a role in making it a very special day for you, and for forging new friendships and help creating treasured memories.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorvernSh...
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
“The one and only place we could imagine getting married and perfect in every way”
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We were back again this year to celebrate our wedding anniversary 3 years on from our amazing day in the stunning surroundings of Glentruim and once again were blessed with the most wonderful snow and the brilliant comforts of the cottages.
We have stayed at Glentruim in all of the cottages and the castle on the estate over several years and each is as lovely as the next in their own unique little ways. So when it came to planning our wedding Glentruim was the only place we wanted it to be. The whole estate and castle itself is simply magical and Deirdre, the estate manager could not have been more welcoming or helpful on any of our visits to both stay for holidays or when we popped up to run through details for our big day.
In 2011 we had the most magical day for our wedding with just a perfect amount of snow on the ground and every last detail was taken care of by Deirdre and her team so that we could simply enjoy our special day. We booked the whole estate for the full weekend to make it a perfect family weekend of celebrations and everyone commented on how beautiful the surroundings were, from the amazing castle interiors, cosy fires and wonderful cinema room to the beautiful surroundings, walks right on your doorstep and amazing wildlife Glentruim is now known in our family as the most magical of places, we have celebrated all of our wedding anniversaries and our first holiday since as a little family and we will be back for many years to come.
We simply can't recommend Glentruim highly enough for anyone planning their wedding or for a wonderful family holiday. I think the biggest compliment for how brilliant it is is that when my sister was planning her wedding nearly 2 years after ours there was no question that she too would want to get married at Glentruim and Deirdre once again went above and beyond to help our family to host another amazing weekend and seeing all of the amazing renovation work that has taken place over the last year made both of us wish that we could have our special days all over again in the most amazing of places :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful welcome, amazing surroundings and beautiful yet homely cottages and castle
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of our stay
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliverBul...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bona fide 5 stars”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Bona fide 5 stars. Wonderful stay. Lodge was charming but also very comfortable, clean and high end, for self catering. Friendly and helpful people who made us feel very welcome. Fishing on the river (Spey) was a dream come true for our 6 year old, so the loan of the fishing rods was a real gift. Our 2 year old had so much fun sledging. We would definitely return.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2015
Thank you, it was lovely to meet you and your lovely family, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Glentruim Estate. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1,567
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing