We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$154
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/08/21
Priceline
US$104
View deal
FindHotel
US$94
View deal
eDreamsUS$154
Trip.comUS$126
Expedia.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,179)
Filter reviews
1,180 results
Traveller rating
525
350
178
79
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
525
350
178
79
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river beautiful location night stay four poster bed both nights both mornings short break yat rock full english cooked breakfast goodrich castle tea and coffee evening meal lovely view forest of dean feel very welcome excellent food
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 1,180 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2021

We've just got back from an amazing week at The Royal Lodge which included our wedding!
This was our third attempt to marry at this venue (due to Covid) and the hotel management adapted for us every step of the way.
Stunning location, delicious food and exceptional service all week from the whole team. Absolutely perfect!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank HayleyKarys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2021

We came to have lunch here on the bank holiday weekend as a group of 10 eating outside. The service was very slow and we had to chase the food up several times; it took over 3 hours to have just a main course.
When we came to pay the bill my sister went in to discuss the possibility of having a discount due to the delay in service - which had spoiled our plans for the rest of the day. The owner spoke to my sister and was very rude - told her she was a gobby cow, to pay the f***ing bill and f*** off! My sister is not confrontational at all and was most upset. He was very aggressive and stood right up close in a threatening manner.
When I went in to see what had gone on and pay the bill he was nowhere to be seen and it was left to the security guard (lovely guy) to apologise.
Please be warned don't go here - they are trying to serve way too many people and the kitchen just can't cope - and the owner should not be allowed to work in hospitality!

Date of stay: May 2021
5  Thank 202paulaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Lodge, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2021

t is most unfortunate that this person decided to pick our venue and be abusive towards our staff team. The General Manager did step in when a dedicated member of our team was being verbally abused at reception with factually incorrect information. The review is false and the party did not wait for the amount of time stated. At the time that the member of the party was complaining they were waiting to pay, they had eaten by this point. The exact and factually correct time that they had waited was only 40 minutes. The guest became abusive towards the member of staff when a discount was declined. It is very sad that this person chooses to be defamatory, abusive and now actually lie about it. I do hope that no other hospitality venue has to deal with these most unreasonable persons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2021 via mobile

Had dinner here one night thought it was going to be a bit up market but was disappointed in its appearance, food was ok and service. My wife had Sea bass which was at the bottom of the plate and couldnโ€™t see it under everything that was on top, I had the lamb shank which was good.But once again limited to where to eat, same people also own the Saracens Head .

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank billtrathen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2021

Stunning location with easy walk from car park along the river, and access to nearby nice boat trip and the Rock. Car park permit provided to save having to feed a meter with coins! Great staff - very helpful - and lovely room, with full Covid-safe precautions. We had read reviews that said the staff had been rude, but we saw absolutely no evidence of this - quite the contrary. We couldn't fault it!

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank P258QGbriand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2021 via mobile

What a lovely family weekend we had! Friendly, hard working staff. Beautiful location. They were very busy with a wedding but still took the time with us. Perfect breakfast each morning and a lovely lunch. Would definitely visit again. Thank you.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews