We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
39
45
15
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
45
15
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird hide perfect location birders hosts base birds hike english sierra terrace mountains floor view parador
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2018

We stayed only one night on a stopover to bird in Monfrague NP. We were unlucky with the weather as it snowed. But our hosts more than made up for it. Lolly is a great cook, and they offered a great value package for breakfast and dinner. Her salad was the best we tasted in our 10 days in Spain!

Property has 2 hides, in good condition. The one attached to the main building is in a corner of the accommodation block and attracts passerrines and smaller birds, like tits, robins, woodpeckers, hoopoes and pigeons. The other is a short trek up the back of the property to view raptors and larger birds ... Lolly put out some fresh meat for the vultures, but we were not so lucky, and none came (probably because of the weather). She also provided extra blankets for us to sit out in the rather cold hides!

The rooms are adequate and clean. We had a room that opens up directly onto the sundeck - excellent light. The floor boards creak ... but that only adds to the charm of the place.

English is spoken ... Lolly is the English speaker.

The platformas de gredos is only a short drive away. All in, this is an excellent place to use as a base to visit the Gredos mountains.

Room tip: Breakfast and dinner package is great value!
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TikTock32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

What a great place. Situated just outside Navarredonda in the heart of the Sierra de Gredos a few hundred metres from the famous Parador on the same main road. Our room was nice & clean. My companions had rooms that exited straight out onto the large sun terrace. Be sure to ask for one of these if you stay. Food was excellent & quite reasonably priced. June is a fantastic time to visit. Not too hot, fewer people & a lot of the summer migrants (birds - not people) have only recently arrived and are still singing or feeding young. Highly recommended.

Room tip: Rooms at the front open out onto a large sun terrace which does look over a not too busy road. Rooms at the back may be slightly quieter.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

We stayed at the hotel recently for one night in glorious Autumn weather. The hotel was great overall. A few random thoughts: The bird hide is fantastic! Lots of birds can be observed and photographed easily. The hotel is very ´spanish´, which may not appeal to Brits! The room was very clean and warm. There are no tea making facilities in the rooms. The T.V. was placed too high on the wall, so you couldn´t get a clear picture, and it had only Spanish channels. There was some noise at night due to the wooden floorboards. We didn´t eat in the restaurant, but we had breakfast, which was traditionally spanish. The terrace was lovely, and I managed to get a star trail photo.
Overall a lovely hotel. Very well priced. We intend to return to it over the New Year.

Room tip: Ask for a terrace room.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Julie1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

A family hotel, where you can (have to) eat late in the evening. Spanish style. In July there were a lot of people, so be patient to get your food.
The food in the restaurant is good/very good. The rooms are a little bit old fashioned. Some have a rather modern bathroom others a rather old one. But it is clean overall. Steep stair to get into you room. Friendly people.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GeDa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

A family run little hotel, in the midst of the impressive Sierra de Gredos in Central Spain, close to Avila. An ideal spot for families with children, or nature lovers. Here they will find a hide in the hotel property from where to watch birds or maybe a fox (early in the morning) or watch the Milky Way at night. The food served at dinner, or the tapas at noon time are fabulous. Simple food, but with a touch of sophistication. Local recipes revisited by Loli and Alfonso, the very professional and welcoming couple in charge of the hotel since many years. Excellent quality for a good price!

Room tip: Rooms facing the mountain range with individual terrace are great, especially in winter.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews