We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,227)
Filter reviews
2,227 results
Traveller rating
898
849
314
86
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
898
849
314
86
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view indoor pool golfing trip pestana dom beach bar minute walk lovely hotel crazy golf bed and breakfast basis fresh fruit direct access bar prices plenty of choice steam room beautiful beach half board alvor town
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 2,227 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a wonderful hotel perfectly situation on the beach at Alvor with direct access to the boardwalk which allows you to walk the whole length of the beautiful beach. The facilities and cleanliness of the hotel are first class - a great place to chill out and relax.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank FarAway572006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excursion51602871299, Manager at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest "FarAway572006",

Thank you very much for your rate and comments about your recent stay at Pestana Hotel Dom João II. Our Guest opinion about our hotel, services and facilities are very important to us.

We are very happy to know you had a good stay with us. The satisfaction of our dear Guests is our main Goal.

We hope to a have a opportunity to see you again in a not too distant future.

With our Best Regards,

Flávio Simão | Guest Service Manager
Pestana Hotel Dom João II

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed recently as a group of 5 couples for a week's golfing. The hotel is situated about 15 minutes'easy walk from the centre of Alvor but is right on the beach across the boardwalk. Check-in was quick and efficient and the room was fine, if a little bit tatty in places with the odd mark on the wall and the veneer on the bathroom door peeling away in places. There is plenty of storage space and the bed was king-size. There was a small balcony which just about allowed a small table and two chairs. There was a small fridge and a safe. The bathroom had a large overhead shower over the bath, but the hot water took a good 3-4 minutes to come through when coming back in the late afternoon.
We ate only breakfast in the hotel, which was buffet and plentiful, with the usual continental offerings of meats; cheeses; different breads and bread rolls; fresh fruit; and yoghurts. There was also a hot buffet of small sausages, fried or scrambled eggs, bacon, tomatoes and potatoes, which didn't vary at all during the week and there is an omelette station where omelettes were made fresh on request. Coffee came out of a machine as did the hot water for the tea bags on offer.
My reason for only awarding an average mark is the bar. The staff were almost always grumpy and on many occasions at busy times (e.g. early evening or lunchtimes), there was only one member of staff available which at times resulted in a 10-15 minute wait to get served. Whilst one expects to pay more in a hotel for drinks, I think that €8 for a Jameson or Glenfiddich, or €4 for a small glass or port is rather expensive. One evening we ordered 2 Gin & Tonics and whilst they were 'only' €11 for the two, it was a cheap gin and the tonic came out of an already opened large bottle of tonic which was almost flat (i.e. not individual tonics), there was hardly any ice and the measures were not particularly large.
Nothing inherently wrong with the hotel, but I would suggest drinking elsewhere!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank specsaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excursion51602871299, Manager at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest "specsaver",

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion about our Hotel, services, facilities and Staff.

Achieving quality and our guests’ satisfaction standards is our daily goal. Thus, we assure you that your comments have benefited from our very best attention and we are doing all in our reach to revise the aspects you consider to need improvement.

Thank you very much for your preference in staying with us. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again, in a near future and to meet all your standards.

Please accept our very best regards,

Flávio Simão | Guest Service Manager
Pestana Hotel Dom João II

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a great few days in your lovely hotel - Fantastic breakfast included, great value. Couldnt have been much better. Will definitely return. Have been going to Alvor many times but never stayed in your hotel - definitely will when I come back

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank Nomad06921615318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excursion51602871299, Manager at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest "Nomad06921615318",

Thank you very much for your excellent rate and comments about your recent stay at Pestana Hotel Dom João II on Tripadvisor.

Your opinion about our Hotel, services and facilities is very important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve.

Thank you very much for your kindly words. Your words represent the best incentive our teams could receive. Thank you for that.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.

Sunny regards from Portugal,

Flávio Simão | Guest Service Manager
Pestana Hotel Dom João II

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We really appreciate the value for money of our stay here as our pension doesn't stretch too far. The rooms are good and the facilities second to none. The food is very good too and lots of it. Will definately be returning.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank Reg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excursion51602871299, Manager at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest "Reg B",

Thank you very much for your wonderful rating and comments regarding our Hotel, services and facilities on Tripadvisor.

Your opinion is highly important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve.

Nothing is more important to us than the satisfaction of our dear Guests and we are extremely happy to know you will return to stay with us.

We thank you again for the great remarks and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.

Our best regards,

Flávio Simão | Guest Service Manager
Pestana Hotel Dom João II

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very relaxing stay in the Pestana hotel. The hotel is in a great location right on the beach rooms are really nice. Only 5 minute walk to the bars and restaurants. Beach was beautiful would return as a couple but very quiet for kids

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank Cosmopolitan580256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excursion51602871299, Manager at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest "Cosmopolitan580256",

Thank you very much for your good review and for recommending our hotel to other Tripadvisor travelers.

Your kind words give us a great feeling of “mission accomplished” and we also look forward to welcoming you soon.
Please return as soon as possible to another good experience.

With kind regards,

Flávio Simão | Guest Service Manager
Pestana Hotel Dom João II

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews