We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful place, wonderful hosts, perfect holiday!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Mochlos, Lasithi Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Sarah1964...
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, wonderful hosts, perfect holiday!”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Before raving about the views, the villa and the animals, I have to rave about the hosts! Annie and Pete are the loveliest people who take great care to make sure they do everything they can to make you welcome and relaxed. After arriving late and in the early hours Pete was a friendly face to greet us and show us around the villa. When we awoke we made breakfast from the plentiful provisions that had been left in the fridge for us; fabulous not to have to worry about going out, just as we had arrived, to find a shop. Then a "welcome" chat with Pete and Annie, who marked out on our map places they recommended to visit and eat at. This proved so helpful as I think we only went to one or two places not on their list. I shan't list them as you will, no doubt , be given these recommendations. Sufficed to say they were correct and we visited them more than once.
The villa is airy and spacious with three balconies to choose from for whichever mood takes you. Annie and Pete live in the same villa but it it is designed in such a way that you feel you have your own place and if you didn't feel like it you wouldn't really have to interact at all; not that you wouldn't want to! Towels for the bathroom and for the beach were provided which was a huge bonus as we travelled only with hand luggage. We soon got into the routine of holiday life and felt like we lived there.
We did want to do more sightseeing than we actually did but it was so hot and we were so relaxed just swimming in the gorgeous pool with stunning views of the mountains , eagles circling in the distance and swallows having a mad five minutes in the late afternoon diving into the pool for water! We would also take a daily trip to Mocholos, about ten minutes down the winding mountain, to snorkel from the tiny beach over to the Minoan island about 150 mtrs away. Very safe, very beautiful and rewarding. My 12yr old boy and 10yr old daughter loved it. We did venture to Sitia to look round the archaeological museum but by the time we looked round the whole town we finally found it had closed 10 minutes before! Tip - it closes at 3pm.
One evening we drove round the coast to Istron where Pete plays the piano, effortlessly, in a hotel. Lovely to meet some of his friends who come to support him. Annie is a trained masseuse and will sort your back problems, but also takes a really friendly yoga class on the patio at the villa once a week where we met some more friends from around the area.With the friendliest three dogs and new addition of a kitten all joining in in their own way! Pete has written a short children's book (although lovely for adults too) about the animals, which are all rescued. My kids loved it, and it brought the holiday, with the dogs around , to life for them.
We had such a memorable holiday at Azure Heights and are very much hoping to go back next year. We were so sad to come away from the new friends we'd made and the beautiful surroundings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
What an amazing review....we are so flattered. The family was exceptional, fun and outgoing...who could not have taken to them and we are delighted that they so enjoyed their stay with us! We look forward very much to a return visit from them as saying goodbye to them felt like saying goodbye to family!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaQ12...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stunning location”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 for a stay in August 2013

Azure Heights is a real gem. Beautiful setting, fabulous part of Crete, excellent facilities - but above all, hosts Anne & Pete are brilliant - like the neighbours everyone wants! Helpful, knowledgeable about the area & where to go, but above all, really good company (but also very unobtrusive). We spent a fab 2 weeks with them in August 2013, even joined them at the local bar for drinks & a meal which was an unusual treat, we couldn't fault a single thing. The rescue animals are also lovely to be around - good natured & always pleased to see you! We were a family of 4 including 2 mature teenagers & it was everything we needed for a relaxing break in a really stunning setting. We all loved it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2014
We are always so thrilled to receive a review such as this one... especially when teenages are in tow. Most gratifying to know that in every aspect, a good holiday was had by all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas...
Oxford, UK
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A wonderful retreat”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Words simply cannot do justice to the great stay we have just had at Azure Heights. Anne and Peter are very kind and thoughtful owners who are very respectful of their guests' privacy but are also extremely welcoming and happy to provide lots of great advice on places to visit. When we arrived much later than expected we still received a very warm reception from Anne. The welcome pack included everything we needed to keep us going for a couple of days, which meant that we could spend the first day relaxing rather than shopping. The house was absolutely spotless and very comfortable. At no point did either of us think "If only there was a ..." because there was everything we needed. The views during the day and at night are stunning - we arrived at night and, like other reviewers, were bowled over when we opened the shutters on our first morning.
Azure Heights is very easy to find, being just one turn off the main road to Sitia - but far enough away from it to mean that there is no disturbance from it. Sfaka is 5 minutes walk from the house and has a small store and two cafes. It is not a tourist trap at all. Mochlos is a 10 minute drive away (45 - 60 minute walk in cooler weather) and offers a great many eating places (we enjoyed Dimitri's most) and a slightly larger store. There is a good, reasonably-priced bus service to Sitia, Iraklion and Agios Nikolaos from Sfaka.
We both had a really lovely, relaxing time and were very sad to say goodbye to our kind, thoughtful and generous hosts. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying there - you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2013
We can return the sentiments of these lovely guests. They were charming and open to our suggestions which is always gratifying. An interesting point is that they used the bus service which afforded them the time to relax and take in the wonderful views without the stress of driving. We do hope they will return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timbo_82
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Stunning scenery, wonderful hosts, we'll be back!”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful week at Azure Heights on our first trip to Crete. First mention must go to our hosts Annie and Pete. Genuinely lovely people who, after a warm welcome spent time advising us on where to visit, where to eat, what to avoid, the best places to shop locally (there's a great butcher in Ierapetra where we bought the biggest pork chops I've ever seen!). Nothing was too much trouble; they obviously care deeply about their guests and were excellent hosts. For animal lovers, you will get to meet some of the most friendly, gentle dogs you could ever find, along with a playful and very soft little cat!

The villa:
Azure Heights itself is in a secluded position, nestled in the mountains near the village of Sfaka (about 10mins walk). The other nearest town is the beautiful seaside village of Mochlos. On arrival we were greeted with a generous welcome pack which was very much appreciated after a long drive. The villa has wifi and satellite TV, though the views outside your window mean that you don't want to be spending much time watching TV! There is air con in the bedroom. There are three different areas where you can eat breakfast/lunch/dinner to catch the shade (or sun if you prefer) whatever time of day it is.
The infinity pool is fab, with views that you won't easily forget.

Food:
There are a couple of options for eating in Sfaka; we ate at the local cafe one evening and this was extremely reasonably priced (around 35 Euros including drinks for 4 people!). We also just went for drinks one night.
For a wider range of options Mochlos is the place to be - about a 10 minute drive. We enjoyed 'Dimitri's' and 'To Bogazi' - again very good value with delicious, fresh Cretan food and beautiful views out over the bay.
One not to miss is the small traditional taverna in the nearby town of Myrsini (about 15mins drive) where you can watch the sunset whilst enjoying delicious food. The owner (Manoli) was a welcoming man who spoke good English.
To be honest, we didn't have a bad meal anywhere in Crete and all the places Annie and Pete recommended were great. There's something about the locally grown produce that you just don't get in the UK!

Places to visit:
We like hiking and found a number of good walks in a book we borrowed from Annie and Pete. We particuarly enjoyed the gorge walk in Zakros ('Dead's Gorge' where the Minoan people apparently used the caves as tombs).
The monastery at Toplou was on the way to Zakros and worth a visit.
There are several beaches nearby which were a lot more unspoilt than those we passed on the way back to the airport in the more touristy areas of Crete.
There was a nice walk starting in Kavousi which takes you up the side of a mountain, past an archeological site and down a track where there is a tiny isolated church you can go inside.

Shopping:
Ierapetra is the best place for supermarket shopping, and if you are going that way, the coastal town of Mirtos is worth a look - several good tavernas. There is a little boutique in Mochlos which sells nice little hand made plates and olive bowls.

In summary, we had a wonderful time at Azure Heights and would not hesitate to recommend it to friends and family. If you like stunning mountain scenery, relaxing sleepy villages and the scent of wild herbs on a soft Cretan breeze then this is the place to be!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, wonderful hosts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2013
How lovely and gratifying to receive such a review. These delightful guests really put a lot of effort into exploring this area in every aspect....as one can see from their comments. They embraced the unique spirit of eastern Crete with enthusiasm. This is so important to us as hosts, that our guests can find their particular interests close at hand and coming up to expectations. We do hope they will return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing!!!!!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Nov 2012
We are so delighted that guests bother to write a review and say that they enjoyed their stay here and in this area so much. More to the point, they would like to return. What more could we ask for?!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing