We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Go there!”
other travellers have booked this property
Watch the sun set  from the roof balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Watch the sun set  from the roof balcony
Stonehouse with street parking Entrance to the Stonehouse-Close the door and enter into the past (with modern amenities)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Watch the sun set  from the roof balcony
Stonehouse with street parking
Entrance to the Stonehouse-Close the door and enter into the past (with modern amenities)
Bedroom #1 facing the ocean , double bed for 2
Dine while watching the ocean waves.
#3 Single bedroom
#2 Bedroom for 2
Cook and watch the waves through the stone arch
Living area
Full bathroom with shower, towels and hair dryer.
Interesting archecture for the kitchen area
Panoramic views  of the ocean from your terrace
Good night!
Stairs to the Natural pool
Natural pool at low tide -December
Natural pool in May
Ed and Bonita invite you to the Stonehouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Mosteiros, Sao Miguel, Azores

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Bctbct
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Go there!”
Reviewed 4 October 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We stayed at the Stone House last summer and liked it so much we came back again this summer for longer. The location is breathtaking - right by the water with its own pool which fills with the waves at high tide. Mosteiros is a sleepy little fishing village, a great place to relax, but they do have several good and inexpensive restaurants and a small grocery store a short walk down the hill from the house.If your idea of a great vacation is to party hearty and bar hop, go somewhere else. If you want to lie in a hammock with a good book and a glass of the local wine, this is your spot. You do need to have a car to get here and to get around. The roads are well-paved, but hilly and curvy. It’s a shortish drive to the famous green and blue lakes of Sete Cidades, and about 40 minutes back to the airport and the capital of Ponta Delgado, where there is more night life if that’s what you want. Mosteiros is on the far western tip of the island, which makes it a bit of a drive to the points of interest on the eastern end, but just make a day trip out of it. And be sure to visit the beautiful botanical garden and hot springs at Furnas.
The house is not large, but it has everything you need.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2018
Thank you for an amazing detailed description of the Stonehouse and village.
We look forward to your next stay !

Have a great year!
Bonita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bctbct
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a fabulous location! ”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

5 of us stayed at the stone house and all agreed it was one of the best vacations we had ever had. The location is fabulous - high up on a bluff overlooking the sea. While the shore itself is rocky there, there is a pool built by the edge and filled by the sea waves so you don't have to venture onto the rocks if you don't want to. We ate most of our meals on the terrace and cooked several times on the wood grill there. The kitchen was well supplied with cooking utensils, the beds were comfortable and the shower had plenty of hot water. A small grocery store is just down the street and it's an easy walk into town where there are a number of good restaurants. The island itself is gorgeous - we drove all over, and yes, you need a car. I would return to this house in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
Thank you and look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Z651HQbre...
British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“perfect! quiet! authentic!”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in December 2016

the location is amazing - panoramic ocean views with nothing in the way ! Mosterios is in the western corner of sao miguel island and away from the city - but close to sete citides. A car is a must ! Hosts speak great english and are very accommodating.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2017
Thank you Brenda. Good description of the location and what is there.
Until next visit, have a great summer!
Bonita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dan D
1 review
“Beautiful ”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here for a week and wish we had stayed for 2. The house sits on 1 of the prettiest spots on the island. The views are breathtaking and everything you need is within walking distance. Loved the terrance and wood fire grill. The only negative is the lack of parking for the house. It is Street parking and never seemed to be any available. A minor inconvenience for such a beautiful getaway.. We highly recommend staying here, you will love it. Oh be sure to over to Americo cafe on the main rd right after the church, the best Lapas and octopus on the island.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2016
Thank you for the great review! During the summer months , the street has vacation homes that everyone comes to stay thus the parking becomes limited. Stay during the off season, October to June and the empty street is perfect to park on. This property is booked 80% percent of the year and highly recommend you reserve your weeks well in advance to avoid disapointment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great view but a bit noisy”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Situated in the North of the island of San Miguel about 45 mins from the airport a car is essential. On street parking outside the house on a narrow street.
The house was clean and there was plenty of room inside (as there was only 2 of us).
The view from the rear of the property out to sea is amazing; however, the shared pool is shared by anyone and our experience was mainly a dozen or more teenagers! Needless to say we never used it, and the noise (as they are teenagers) was very noticeable from the terrace.
The welcome pack consisted of a pack of bread rolls, a couple of cartons of jam and two coffee sachets; for the price i would expect slightly more?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view from the terrace
Liked least: noisy teenagers
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
Dear Jacki and Ian,
We appreciate your letting know of your stay with us.
We are sorry that you did not have a good time at our traditional Stonehouse in the old fishing village of Mosteiros. This property is the favorite for our guests (since we acquired it 4 years ago) who appreciated the old ways with modern conveniences we have added.
As advertised the natural pool below is communal and on government coastline. There fore at times, the village will enjoy it as well.
The Stonehouse is an exclusive location on the island of Sao Miguel and the rental cost does not include the cost of the free welcome gift. We offer a welcome gift pack of traditional sweet breads and variety of coffees to help our guests feel relaxed and at home. Many of our guests can arrive late near midnight and as well very early in the morning and had nothing to eat for hours. Majority of our guests are grateful we thought of it, especially when they could not get to the store prior to settling into the house. In the future, please let us know in advance if you prefer not to accept our free gift. Ask us about other properties on this website that may be more fitting for your visit to Sao Miguel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing