We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
138
37
5
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
37
5
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews e bike soup spa treatments course evening meal recommend this hotel toys guests children skiing present
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights (extended weekend) and were really happy with our choice. The service was really helpful and friendly and the food was absolutely delicious. We liked the evening with the two musicians the most, also because of the barbecue buffet. Generally it was a spontaneous trip so we did not plan a lot ahead but Mr. Ortner, the manager/boss (?) of the hotel, gave us some really nice recommendations for activities. I recommend the e-bike rental to everyone!!! Riding up the mountain with that bike was the best experience ever and still easy to manage for me and my girlfriend! And the lunch at the "Larchenhutte" (?) was a tipp from the receptionist in the hotel. You should ask for the sweet dish with the berries! It was amazing!!! Another thing we liked a lot was the new spa "Kathrein" which just opened this autumn. We liked the pool in the hotel as well but since the spa was just around the corner we tried it as well. Overall I would defenitely recommend this hotel to my friends and my family because I think the price is absolutely reasonable for the value you get.

Room Tip: Our room was in the north wing. Nice and clean. No noice as I recall.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FeelTheFreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerhard O, Geschäftsführer at Ortners Eschenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

My dear regulars, I thank you so much for your compliments. Your story is so authentical, so that everybody who read it feel like within the wonderful world of the Nockberge. I think a very good picture of hiking and biking in der surroundings of the Eschenhof. In fact holidays in Ortners Eschenhof in Bad Kleinkirchheims is full of exciting surprises, especially if you are looking foreward to getting contact to land and people of the region.
We thank you very much for your rating. Yours Hildegard and Gerhard Ortner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel in july with my sons who are 11 and 7. The hotel is nicely situated, spatious and with big interior and exterior public areas. Outside the hotel there are beautiful spaces to play with kids-spatious and intimate. The room is clean and cosy.
The owners are present and active in the hotel life throughout the day. They take care that their guests are well informed about the activities they can attend. The hotel has various programmes for the guests-wandering, bicicles, e-bikes... the children are free to use all kind of toys in or around the hotel.
Above all, we had a feeling of home. Thank you.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Petrunjelica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerhard O, Inhaber at Ortners Eschenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Petrunjelica, Thank you for your very nice description of your holidays in Ortners Eschenhof. Its really reassuring for us to get to know from you, that you felt well in der alpine-slowness world of the Eschenhof, pampered well by a large number of helpful hands from the Eschenhof-Team. It's a big mission of Hildegard and me, the owners of the hotel, to offer our clients an unforgettable stay in Bad Kleinkirchheim.
We are pleased serving you again the next time, Hildegard and Gerhard Ortner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

This time we stayed for 4 days with 4 familes - 3 children under 5 years, one dog, young couples and couples in the 60's. We could not have wished for better holiday! We could enjoy skiing,and also the great variety of programs - organised by the Ortner Family. For the kids and for the adults as well there were very exciting and colorfull events , not to mention the delicious meals and the perfect wellness area. Our smallest member , Maffia the mops had also perfect time with the lovely dogs in the house, and was taken perfect care by the staff. We truly regret that we could only spend 4 days, and we all wished upon a whole 7 -days holiday, becouse we missed so much extra event at the hotel. We all truly advise and recommend Eschenhof for everyone, looking for family holiday, sporty holiday or just relaxing couple days. We will definetly return next year, for at least a week !

Room Tip: You get different rooms with kids, with dogs or with bigger families, just ask :-)
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zsofia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerhard O, Inhaber at Ortners Eschenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Dear Zsofia, thank you very much for the recommendation of Ortners Eschenhof to everyone. Thank you for the compliments for being the first choice for you for family oriented holidays. Kids and dogs find very pleasant attractions in and around the hotel. So we can say that we are specialised for family-holidays with kids and dogs.
We are very happy to be your host even the next winter holidays.
So we send you the best wishes until we meet us again next year.
Yours Hildegard and Gerhard Ortner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We spent Feb half term at the hotel on a half board basis, as a family of four in 2 double rooms. The hotel is about 2 hours drive from Salzburg and has good level parking available. This hotel is one of the most relaxing places we have ever stayed at, especially given that we were skiing the sense of switching from an activity to relaxation was remarkable. The rooms (701 and 702) were light and airy with high pitched ceilings with a pleasant balcony. The spa was perfect for a quick swim indoors or out, steam room and sauna, with a separate area for adults (+15yr) which was a very quiet area. My wife and daughter both had a couple of spa treatments (massage) and were impressed at the care taken as well as range of options.
Breakfast is a buffet and complete enough to last the day, we discovered that the hotel has a mountain restaurant and provided free vouchers for soup at the restaurant which was a big saving over a weeks skiing. The evening meal was waitress service , much more relaxing than a full buffet. The food was excellent and typical Austrian cuisine.
All the staff were very friendly, Petra the restaurant manageress ran a very effective service and was very helpful. Indeed all the staff we met were always friendly and looking for ways to make our stay more pleasant.
If skiing it's worth noting that the ski and boot room was on the same level as reception and a bright airy room unlike many which are in the bowels of the building. You can also walk to the main junction on the lift system, about 300m, you could ski in and out in a good year. Although we didn't need it the children's facilities looked good. It is some distance to shops and bars and our 21 year old daughter was feeling the lack of clubbing experiences. Her parents didn't view this as a drawback

Room Tip: Mobility issues: we had about 12 steps up a wide staircase to get to the lift. Another lift was more accessible.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 40jeremyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerhard O, Inhaber at Ortners Eschenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Dear Jeremy,
Thank you very much for the nice description of your experiences in Ortners Eschenhof. We are very pleased giving you a good basis for recreation and wellfare during your holidays. The hotel is small and family-runned. So the personal contact to our clients is our big advantage for a very special friendly atmosphere.
We would be pleased seeing you again in our home.
With best regards Hildegard and Gerhard Ortner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Family friendly with entertainment and care for children of all ages.
Rooms are well kept.
Spa area as well really comfy, with family and adult areas. No chlorine smell.
Quite delicious food with emphasise on local and organic. Sometimes too much mixing of very different ingredients but otherwise interesting, quite diversified and innovative cuisine. Excellent cheese range.
Service friendly and quite professional (some members more qualified than the others but overall good).

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AlgirdasMuzungu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews