We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ruth
Paihia, New Zealand

Lovely place to stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Dec 2019
Stayed one night and the location is just so peaceful with a lovely garden setting and little outdoor deck which is private. Nice clean, comfy and a great family run motel.
Handy to town and next door to the golf course. Would stay again. The Host was very welcoming and very helpful.
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $177
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
All King Studios can be set up with twin beds
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $178
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $147
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $152
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $215
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $143
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $142
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Aerial View
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $161
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $285
  • Hotels.com
5.6 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $140
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hanmer Springs
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
82
16
11
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
82
16
11
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2019

Beautiful rooms and self catered for all scenarios ! Kids loved the DVD library but spent all day running around with the beautiful golden retrievers on site. Bob and his wife have done an amazing job with this motel, we can’t wait to book our next stay here.
Book with them directly and you will get A class service all around.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ANDREWDominic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RobertS13827, Owner at Alpine Springs Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2019

Thank you for your kind review. We always enjoy 😊 lovely people and very much look forward to seeing you again. The dogs 🐕 can’t wait. Kind Regards Bob and Rhian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2019 via mobile

Great little motel, run with great care and obvious pride. Very helpful and caring attitude from your hosts, clean and well-appointed rooms.

Free DVD library, good selection of Sky tv channels. Full kitchen.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Luke F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 December 2018

This is a lovely tranquil place. Our family of four, enjoyed our three night stay. We were staying in Chalet number 1 which had a lovely view of the golf course. The chalet had a deck, kitchen, lounge, bathroom and 2 bedrooms. The kitchen was well equipped. Our bed was comfy, but the single beds were hard. The bathroom was neat and cosy for one person. The chalet was serviced daily and all supplies were restocked including juice and cookies. The owners were friendly and had thought of any extras required by guests. We would happily recommend this place for a stay in Hanmer Springs.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJG35
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 December 2018 via mobile

On arrival at Alpine Springs we had a very friendly welcome by Rob and Rhiannon, the lodge was perfect ,quiet just the birds singing in the trees , total opposite to the motel we stopped at the night before (wagons all night on Highway 1), the peace and quiet fantastic, a gentle stroll across the golf course took you to the thermal springs ,most relaxing after a long drive if we return to Hanmer Springs we would definitely stop here again, the WiFi
not perfect but when you find a place that is so tranquil not the most important thing, the place was lovely, gardens well maintained . The following day we travelled the road through Molesworth Station 200 km. on a gravel road through the biggest farm in New Zealand, started of up Jacks pass in mist then once reaching the top the rest of the journey in sunshine,

Not a road for the faint hearted no mobile phone signal, rough in places , narrow bridges , fantastic views very remote. Road only open for a few months in the year.
A good place to stay before ,recommend Alpine Springs.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank wandering1farmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RobertS13827, Owner at Alpine Springs Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2018

It was lovely to meet you both and thank you for staying with us and for your kind comments. As you say wifi is a bit Wells Fargo full of arrows and with a mind of its own. But the birds do make up for it. Glad you enjoyed the Molsworth run it’s quite stunning up there. Best wishes Rhian and Bob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2018

We visited in late November and they had put the Heat Pump on for our arrival as it was a bit cold (yes even in November!)
Lovely comfy cabin with a large bathroom and a full kitchen. When the cloud lifted there was an excellent view from the decking. The availability of towels for the Hot Pools was a bonus. Nice quite location, 10 min or so walk to town via shortcut. 3-4 min drive.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ClareFChc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews