We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Clare F
Christchurch, New Zealand

Quite, Comfy and Great View.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Nov 2018
We visited in late November and they had put the Heat Pump on for our arrival as it was a bit cold (yes even in November!)
Lovely comfy cabin with a large bathroom and a full kitchen. When the cloud lifted there was an excellent view from the decking. The availability of towels for the Hot Pools was a bonus. Nice quite location, 10 min or so walk to town via shortcut. 3-4 min drive.
Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$291
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $291
  • Agoda.com
    $259
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$183
  • Expedia.com
    $193
  • Hotels.com
    $193
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$149
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $141
  • Agoda.com
    $161
0.8 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entry to ASPEN LODGE Motel
$180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $181
  • Hotels.com
    $157
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Aerial View
$187
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $179
  • Hotels.com
    $164
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$196
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
    $162
  • Expedia.com
    $186
0.9 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$80
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $80
  • eDreams
    $80
  • Agoda.com
3.1 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free parking
$146
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $146
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $146
1.0 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$265
  • Expedia.com
    $231
  • Agoda.com
    $214
  • Priceline
5.6 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$161
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $158
  • Hotels.com
    $157
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hanmer Springs
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
82
16
11
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
82
16
11
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2018

We arrived on a cold and bleak winters day in the pouring rain, way too early for the normal 2 o'clock check-in. However, this was not an issue for our wonderful host who took us to our unit, explained about tv and air conditioning, gave us a welcome basket of goodies and left us to settle in. When I found I had left my iPad charger behind, he offered to charge it up for me. The beds were very comfy, the electric blankets definitely needed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BeemerBoyF650
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

Wasn’t going to write this but owner seemed unrested so a response was inevitable ......

We shared the room with 7+ spiders which we took care of but the cobwebs were all over the place.....
dirty wine glasses so check the washing up !

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LawrenceR503
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert S, Owner at Alpine Springs Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

I am not sure where you are coming from or what you mean by unrested. When you checked out you said you shared the room with 12+ spiders but your review seems to have lost some. You said that the room was festooned with cobwebs after a very close inspection my wife and I could only find one small cobweb in the top left hand corner of the room. What you did not know was my wife and I do all the cleaning and check everything so we do not take on board your comments in particular dirty wine glasses. Your comments stem from one fact when you asked to stay for a second night you wanted me to drop the price by $50.00 which I would not do you offered to pay cash which you said would save me tax this we definitely would not do. We are very proud of how we run our four plus qualmark rated complex and by the way if we were so bad why did you stay for a second night. As a principle we not respond to reviews we believe the comments made of us speak for themselves. But in your case we felt we needed to put the record straight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

This place is wonderful. Beautiful setting quiet and peaceful. The hosts are fantastic and so easy to deal with. We only stayed one night but would happily spend a week there. Unit number 7 where we stayed is very clean and tidy updated and modern. They are the only place I have stayed that give you a decent amount of milk juice and the most delicious cookies !!! Top work guys I would absolutely stay again. Thank you

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

Had an amazing night away with my partner and the accommodation is amazing and the staff are wonderful. Great room, comfortable bed, spa bath was great, very close to center of town so not far to get to hot pools.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Only stayed one night but this is without doubt the best motel that we stayed in whilst touring the South Island. The owner Bob is the perfect host and we stayed in cabin number two which has recently been completely updated to a very, very high standard. The surrounding gardens where you can relax and take in the beautiful scenery are meticulously maintained. The location is very quiet and is less than a 10 minute walk from the centre of Hanmer Springs. Based on other places we have stayed that were awarded 5 stars then Bob and his motel deserve at least 6 Stars.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews