We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kelly B
Christchurch, New Zealand

Fantastic!!!!! Brilliant stay.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 May 2018via mobile
This place is wonderful. Beautiful setting quiet and peaceful. The hosts are fantastic and so easy to deal with. We only stayed one night but would happily spend a week there. Unit number 7 where we stayed is very clean and tidy updated and modern. They are the only place I have stayed that give you a decent amount of milk juice and the most delicious cookies !!! Top work guys I would absolutely stay again. Thank you
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$291
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $291
  • Vio.com
    $247
  • Hotels.com
    $286
0.8 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$183
  • Expedia.com
    $193
  • Priceline
    $183
  • Hotels.com
    $193
0.8 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$149
  • Priceline
    $149
  • Hotels.com
    $141
  • Agoda.com
    $161
0.8 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entry to ASPEN LODGE Motel
$180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $180
  • Hotels.com
    $157
  • Expedia.com
    $181
0.6 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Aerial View
$187
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $179
  • Hotels.com
    $164
  • Priceline
    $187
0.8 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$196
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $186
  • Lol.travel
    $162
  • Agoda.com
    $175
0.9 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$80
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $80
  • eDreams
    $80
  • Agoda.com
3.1 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free parking
$146
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $146
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $146
1.0 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$265
  • Priceline
    $265
  • Agoda.com
    $214
  • Expedia.com
    $231
5.6 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior of Chalets
$144
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $144
  • Vio.com
    $117
  • Trip.com
1.0 km from Alpine Springs Motel
Free parking
View more hotels in Hanmer Springs
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
82
16
11
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
82
16
11
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

Had an amazing night away with my partner and the accommodation is amazing and the staff are wonderful. Great room, comfortable bed, spa bath was great, very close to center of town so not far to get to hot pools.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Only stayed one night but this is without doubt the best motel that we stayed in whilst touring the South Island. The owner Bob is the perfect host and we stayed in cabin number two which has recently been completely updated to a very, very high standard. The surrounding gardens where you can relax and take in the beautiful scenery are meticulously maintained. The location is very quiet and is less than a 10 minute walk from the centre of Hanmer Springs. Based on other places we have stayed that were awarded 5 stars then Bob and his motel deserve at least 6 Stars.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

The owners have clearly put their all into this property... it is gorgeous! Our unit was fitted out with only the best and the spa was great!
I wouldn’t really call it a motel - it’s definitely a class above that!
It is so peaceful and the owners were willing to accommodate any request- we were also given a little welcome basket with juice and biscuits.
The only downside (if u want to call it that) is that it’s not in town like the majority of the other accommodation in Hanmer Springs (it’s about a 10 minute walk).
We can’t wait to return to check it out in the ski season :)

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KristaMc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 January 2018

Although we have spent many months on the south island and travelled to most places, this was our first visit to Hanmer Springs. Much research preceeded the choice of The Alpine Springs Motel and we were 100% pleased with our choice.

Robert and Rhiana made us most welcome, were friendly and really helpful in providing information and advice. Absolute tranquility ... a wonderful sunrise after sleeping soundly in a comfortable bed in the quietness of the grave!

We wished that we had chosen to stay longer as this place is just the ticket to re-charge the batteries. Robert and Rhiana have provided everything that a guest could possiblyy want. Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. We could relax in comfortable armchairs in an air conditioned environment to watch TV - Sky 50+ channels meant my wife could watch her favourite programmes.

We enjoyed eating breakfast on the terrace. And, our salad supper too in the evening. We meant to sit in the guest garden and watch the sun go down but there were too many pursuits to enjoy.

We intend to return and would definitely recommend this wonderful accomodation to anyone who enjoys quality, fair value and creature comforts.

Room tip: We stayed in chalet 9 and would stay here again.
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

We have visited Alpine Springs before and our return trip was just as good as before. This time the appartment was smaller but had a spa bath in a wet room. Our host Robert was as welcoming as ever with a big basket of welcome goodies that were replenished daily.
There were no cereal included this time -maybe people wasted them -which was a shame as I was asked last time what cereal we liked.
The bed was also a bit on the hard side but otherwise quiet, dark and comfortable.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews