We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
$188
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
AliAnd
Salisbury, United Kingdom
I like this hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Feb 2024via mobile
I like this hotel, it has an old world hotel charm. Yes, the bathrooms and corridors are in need of an update, but the bedrooms are large, clean, have a comfortable bed with crisp bed linen, and a nicely maintained garden to look out on. Not only that, the staff are so friendly and helpful. They really can’t do enough for you. Offering to help with your luggage and offering to have food made for you if you are hungry.

Having been told it was happy hour between 5 & 6, we proceeded along the quiet corridor to the bar, and found it buzzing with a nice atmosphere, lots of families and guests enjoying a large log fire. Loads of people were staying for dinner in the restaurant, which has a good reputation.

I would stay here again, it’s the staff that make it good though.
Date of stay: February 2024
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Hanmer Springs Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Hanmer Springs Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front Entrance
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Hanmer Springs Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.6 km from Hanmer Springs Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Hanmer Springs Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Hanmer Springs Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Alpine views
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Hanmer Springs Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Hanmer Springs Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
One of our upstairs spa suites
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.5 km from Hanmer Springs Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $276
  • Hotels.com
6.0 km from Hanmer Springs Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hanmer Springs
Reviews (1,200)
Filter reviews
1,200 results
Traveller rating
455
429
190
85
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
455
429
190
85
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift heritage hotel hotel restaurant main building lovely grounds garden suite tennis courts hot pools centre of town nice room comfortable bed central location hot springs short walk would stay again a lovely stay hanmer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,200 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2024

We enjoyed the vibe so much we stayed an extra night. Old world charm, everything was clean and lovely, super relaxing space to stay. The grounds are scenic and there’s a great pool area. The restaurant was amazing, beautiful Italian food and great service. Best kids menu I’ve seen anywhere - real food not just fried fish chicken and chips. Continental breakfast is free with room charge which was a nice surprise. Centre of town location so easy to walk where we wanted to go. Super happy will definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AbbDummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2024

We stayed for 4 nights over Xmas and could not have been happier with our experiences. We had a recently renovated superior king room which was pleasant and comfortable, our dining experiences were truly impressive and the staff were delightfully welcoming and pleasant.

We certainly look forward to returning.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DRwanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 January 2024

Hamner springs hotel:
-There is very nice service and food.
- The grounds were well kept and beautiful.
- It is a very clean hotel.
- There is a blend of classical and modern decor which gives a sense of an old-world feeling, which I love.
- It has a great location in the centre of town, within a short walking distance of the Hamner Springs thermal pool and spa.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Journey01294100700
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 November 2023

I always wanted to stay at this Hotel as I had always admired it since I had been to a function here was younger. I can't understand the bad reviews as I love the old hotel feel and creaks of the floor etc. It was just how I remember it and i had the best sleep ever . I feel a lot of people upon entering hotels seem on the lookout for anything out of place to complain, you must remember this hotel is over 100 years old and I am so glad they kept the history. Personally, I would stay again also Super friendly staff.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NeilHenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Jackson, General Manager at Hanmer Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2024

Kia ora,

Thank you very much for the pleasant feedback.
You do get this property and I am glad you came back for long term memories.
We try our best to keep it up despite its age. It has character and a place that has a lot of stories to tell.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2023 via mobile

Only good thing is the location of this hotel.
Rooms outdated, curtains ripped, fridge smell.
Requested a room service next morning and found nothing was done other than hiding my bag in the wardrobe which lead to me asking reception what happened to my bag as I could not find it. Situation was handled badly from there.

Room tip: Avoid this hotel, many others to choose from.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jacques030370
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Jackson, General Manager at Hanmer Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2023

Kia ora Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.
It is always important to hear from our Guests.

We are sorry to make you feel that way. It is never the intention, we strive to provide a friendly and welcoming experience for all guests.

Below are the actions taken after you reported some missing items.

You reported that housekeeping had taken away your clothes and we will have to pay $1000 if not found.

Due to the value of the missing items we called in extra team members to help find the items, we went through all storage rooms and tipped over rubbish bins and peeled through them with no success. It was quite an unpleasant exercise.

We left a message on your phone to advise you of the actions taken and hoping that you might have found it.

It was pleasing to see your message on the desk that you had found your clothes in the cupboard. That was a relief to our team members involved.

It is unfair to say that the team did nothing in your room. They made your bed, cleaned the bathroom, changed rubbish bins, vacuumed, replenished towels and any amenities as usual practice.

We take our guest complaints very seriously and especially when it involves valued items. At the end of the day we are glad that your items were recovered.

With sincere regret of the situation.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews