We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$285
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
Priceline
$285
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Hotels.com
$257
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveller rating
762
54
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
762
54
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deluxe studio hot pools underfloor heating spa bath hot springs afternoon sun room was spotless heated floors within walking distance place to stay the ground floor top quality central location the kitchen restaurants and shops would definitely stay here again excellent accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 824 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2024

This was our first visit since the change of ownership but it was pleasing to see that the very highest standards of service and cleanliness are still the same. Our room was superb in all respects and the management was both helpful and interested in the customer. Well done to the new owners. Without a doubt this is the finest all-round accommodation in Hanmer and over the years we have tried most of them but have always returned to The St James for its reliability and excellent value for money.

Room tip: Upper floor room
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tigersChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2024 via mobile

Although quite expensive it was a great place to stay. Handy to everything. No privacy on the balcony & the bed & pillows were hard. Super clean, good shower pressure, lots of hot water. Good toilet paper haha, assume it was three ply. We stayed on the second floor.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MummaandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2023

What a great place to stay after our day at the pools. Quiet, well appointed room with a nice view. Very comfortable and clean with everything you need. Jan is an excellent host. Will definitely stay again.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Getaway36184504624
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 August 2023

A nice hotel in a great village. Easy to find with on site parking, a short walk to the Thermal Pools and local cafes etc.. We had an upstairs room with a great view over the hills. Very quiet with a comfortable bed. Compared to other NZ hotels of a similar size with similar facilities, perhaps a bit expensive but that could be compensated by the view and location. The only issue we had was the internet connection was appalling. We were told it was because of the snow (?!?!?!?!) Never heard that one before!

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PaulWhitehead-Blair
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 May 2023

Great location great service. I rang them to inform them we would be arriving late after reception had closed. Kathy kindly put the milk in the fridge & closed the curtains for us so when we arrived it was lovely & warm in our unit.
We have always enjoyed out stay at the St James & this trip was no different everything was perfect. Chocolates on arrival.
Love the late check out the next day.
Thank you & yes we will be back again.

Room tip: Great location in the heart of the village. Lovely to be able to park your vehicle & walk around the village.
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NolaI2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews