We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$170
View deal
Expedia.com
US$163
View deal
Hotels.com
US$163
View deal
PricelineUS$170
CheapTicketsUS$163
eDreamsUS$170
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (751)
Filter reviews
751 results
Traveller rating
696
48
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
696
48
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deluxe studio hot pools underfloor heating executive spa hot springs new zealand room was spotless guest laundry walking distance the ground floor the kitchen central location restaurants and shops would definitely stay here again excellent accommodation views of the mountains centre of town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 751 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2021

On the doorstep of everything, beautifully appointed, underfloor heating! Complimentary towels for the pools...couldn't ask for anything more and brilliant welcome and service from Jan. Good intro to the area and things to di/ places to eat.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F2756JJmichaelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rae Baigent, Owner at The St James, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2021

We are pleased you had the perfect stay and were able to enjoy the delights of Hanmer Springs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2021 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at The St James and can’t rate it highly enough. We had a ground floor apartment that was spacious and warm. West facing so the afternoon sun poured in. A great location in easy walking distance of the village and the hot pools. Would definitely stay here again.

Room tip: Parking available, provides towels for the hot pools.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 2_tui
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rae Baigent, Owner at The St James, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2021

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we are pleased you thought it was the perfect place to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2021

Wonderful spacious immaculately clean room. Excellent welcome and assistance from Manager Jan. Everything very warm and spaces well provisioned. Local guidance was excellent for all activities. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyBob2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rae Baigent, Owner at The St James, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2021

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we are pleased you enjoyed our property and Jan's hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2021 via mobile

Having just been to Hanmer with two other couple for three nights we would like to recommend St James. From the time we arrived we were made very welcome, and especially during the power cut we were looked after exceptionally well for five hours during the evening. The motel is very handy to restaurants, shops, hot pools etc. All within walking distance. We will be back again soon it is a lovely place to relax and unwind. Well done.
Thanks Jan.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank GrahamS2224
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rae Baigent, Owner at The St James, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2021

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us despite the village wide power cut and will look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2021 via mobile

Friendly welcome. Wonderful room, exceptionally clean and warm. Towels provided for the hot pools. Great central location. Rooms are very quiet, didn’t hear any other guests. Hosts provided recommendations for local attractions and dining. A very pleasant stay

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Excursion55474039844
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rae Baigent, Owner at The St James, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2021

We are pleased you enjoyed our hospitality and your accommodation. Thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews