We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$201
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/06/21
Expedia.com
US$198
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/06/21
Agoda.com
US$178
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/06/21
Hotels.comUS$199
PricelineUS$200
CheapTicketsUS$199
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (733)
Filter reviews
733 results
Traveller rating
678
48
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
678
48
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deluxe studio hot pools underfloor heating executive spa hot springs new zealand room was spotless guest laundry walking distance the ground floor the kitchen central location restaurants and shops would definitely stay here again excellent accommodation views of the mountains centre of town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 733 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The St James has got to be the cleanest place we have ever stayed. The service was exceptional and the local advice was invaluable. We were told the places to book for dinner and they were incredible! It is in a great location close to everything, yet quiet.
We loved the eco partnership they are involved with to plant native trees in exchange for room servicing. Definitely the place to stay in Hanmer Springs

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 411lyndonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our second visit to the St James and it was just as perfect as the previous time.
Lovely warm greeting by Rae. The room was immaculately clean. Everything you could need was provided. Super comfy bed and so quiet!
We will certainly be back again!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank chchgirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We both totally enjoy staying at the St James. It's completely comfortable, so very warm in winter, totally clean and tidy and so convenient to all that Hanmer has to offer. We have been before and we will be back again.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kim4bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae Baigent, Owner at The St James, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

So pleased you continue to enjoy staying with us, we appreciate your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great accommodation- Very Clean, Nice Kitchenette, Warm room - heating Electric Blankets - Sunny Balcony, pretty views. Very handy to Town Restaurants, Hot Pools can walk or cycle everywhere.
Pool towels - Washing Machines.
Happy to return here

Room tip: Fabulous destination for all ages & families, cyclists, trampers
Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 860janem860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae Baigent, Owner at The St James, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we will look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Due to a change of plans we ended up having 2 nights here after our original one night stay booking - SO pleased we had the 2 nights as it really is a very special place. Great room, clean, warm, and so conveniently located. Only negative was not getting to enjoy the dumpling restaurant as it was booked out both nights, so tip is to book this before you arrive.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank COSreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae Baigent, Owner at The St James, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It's a shame you couldn't get into MK the dumpling restaurant, it is very popular and advance bookings are definitely advised as per your advice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews