We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$212
View Deal
Expedia.com
US$212
View Deal
Agoda.com
US$199
View Deal
Free cancellation until 04/03/21
Booking.comUS$209
eDreamsUS$209
TravelocityUS$212
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveller rating
663
48
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
663
48
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deluxe studio hot pools underfloor heating executive spa hot springs new zealand afternoon sun guest laundry walking distance mt isobel the ground floor room was spotless the kitchen central location restaurants and shops would definitely stay here again excellent accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 718 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed two nights at the St James, the room was lovely, spacious and comfortable and the welcome was warm. I think the bed is the most comfortable we've slept in during our travels. It is very centrally located with a short walk to cafes, shops and the hot pools.
Received recommendations on places to eat and they provide towels for the pools.
I can highly recommend this accommodation to anyone visiting Hamner Springs.

Room tip: Spend a couple of days here and take in the pools and the local adventure tourism or do some retail therapy
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Roadtrippers2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived at this property to a very cordial and friendly welcome. The lady on reception was very efficient and told us all the things we needed to know about the property facilities and things of interest in the area.
The room itself was beautifully presented and the cleanliness superb.
We were very impressed to have the choice of standard or low fat fresh milk provided to us in an age when pre-packed little containers of UHT milk and a nice surprise of a couple of types of biscuit in the room.
The room and the bed were very comfortable and all of this added up to a very nice stay.
This would be our pick of the properties we have stayed at during our road trip of the South Island here in NZ.
We would highly recommend this property.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roaming_CoupleNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

St James, was a lovely place to stay, the staff were very welcoming, and informative of what to do and see while at Hammer Springs. The hotel room was clean with modern facilities, great view of the surrounding mountains. The hotel was within walking distance of all the local eateries, and a short walk to the hotpools. Awesome weekend away, thank you St James.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Charmaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae Baigent, Owner at The St James, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed one night at Hanmer Springs and this was a great place to do it. Beautiful facilities with great views towards the hills and a lovely sunset.
Met with a warm greeting and wonderful explanation of the town and things to do. We took up the suggestion of a walk in the forest trial and had a great time.
Very generous hosts and it was great to have laundry access to get some washing done after being away for a week.
Lovely room and facilities and a very comfortable stay was had.
Easy check-in and out and a very friendly host made staying here a real joy.
Away from the busy roads but a hop, skip and jump to the main part of town and all the attractions.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rinckes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We’re travelling with a baby, so this place is ideal for us with all the cooking facilities and bath. We were happily surprised when we arrived and a porta cot had been beautifully made up for our wee boy without us even requesting it (and it had a lovely woollen mattress added to it). Paul hand delivered us a high chair 5 mins after we arrived. Gorgeous views, close to everything. We love the option of forgoing servicing of the room for a tree being planted . Cannot fault anything here.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank dominiquetennant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae Baigent, Owner at The St James, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and enjoying our property. Our 'Save a Service Plant a Tree' is very popular.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews