We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
$183
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Pru
Southampton, United Kingdom

Welcoming and cosy stay in a stunning location!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Oct 2022via mobile
We had a wonderful time at the Aspen Lodge and would recommend it whole-heartedly! We were a multi-generational group (aged 5-72) spread over three rooms and everyone was happy! Megan was an amazing host and went out of her way to make us all feel welcome. Lovely touches included a free DVD library, a box of towels to borrow for the hot pools and fresh local milk in the fridge. The fact that the hot pools and Hanmer town centre were a tiny stroll away was an added bonus. It was a lovely cosy place to stay in a stunning location and we’ll definitely be back!
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
, Owner at Aspen Lodge Motel, responded to this review
Responded 3 Oct 2022
Hi Sightseer17813554194,
Thank you for writing us a lovely review. It was such a pleasurer to have you stay with us and we are very happy to hear you had a great time during your visit to Hanmer Springs. We really look forward to your next visit!
Warm regards, Megan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $286
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Aspen Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $148
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Aspen Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $187
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Aspen Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
All King Studios can be set up with twin beds
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $169
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Aspen Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $121
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Aspen Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Spa Lodge Motel
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $177
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Aspen Lodge Motel
Free parking
Aerial View
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $183
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Aspen Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $102
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Aspen Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $285
  • Algotels
5.9 km from Aspen Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $155
  • Booking.com
1.2 km from Aspen Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hanmer Springs
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
108
62
12
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
108
62
12
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location hot pools late booking pool towels free dvd library bedroom unit excellent hosts comfortable bed very comfortable stay quiet location washing machine short stay excellent place to stay town centre stayed two nights one night stay motel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2022

Fabulous hosts - Megan is an absolute delight. So helpful and accommodating. The rooms were lovely and warm when we arrived on a cold afternoon, clean and comfortable. They have everything you need. Fab having swimming towels provided. The town, restaurants, cafes and pools within easy walking distance from the motel. We stayed two nights and two weeks later returned when the roads were closed further North and we couldn't get through. Would definitely stay there again. Highly recommend.

Room tip: Lovely accessible units on the ground if you can't stairs
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judithsW7211PJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 4 October 2022

Hi JudithsW7211PJ,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It was lovely to have meet you, and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Warm regards, Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2022 via mobile

Excellent place to stay, the host Megan was very friendly and approachable. Rooms were very warm and completely adequate. The wheelchair friendly room had all that we needed. Easy walking distance ti the Pools and towels were provided. Close to the centre of town also.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Andrew Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 4 October 2022

Hi Mark,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, and thank you for deciding to stay with us. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future! - Warm regards, Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2022

Clean rooms and great service!
Dave carried all of our gear up (which was a lot!) and put it in our room.
We went for the 2 bedroom unit and it was great.
We recommend this to people passing through!!

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank doon_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 27 May 2022

Hi doon_nz,

Thank you so much for taking the time to place a review! It was lovely to have meet you and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope you see you again soon!
The team at Aspen Lodge Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2022

We had a very pleasant 3 night stay in the One bedroom spa unit. It was very clean and spacious with a very comfortable bed. The owners are just fabulous and nothing is a problem. They have also just put in new Mountain Bike storage racks and bike cleaning station, which is an added bonus in Hanmer Springs. The location is super close to the town centre too.

Room tip: The one bedroom unit has a balcony overlooking the beautiful Queen Mary Grounds.
Date of stay: February 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicolamoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 27 May 2022

Hi Nicolamoo,
Thank you so much for taking the time to place a review! It was lovely to have meet you and your husband and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope you see you again soon!
The team at Aspen Lodge Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2021

Stayed one night and opted for one bedroom unit, which was good size and cleanl. Had everything that will want in a motel except may be heat pump though had heater and electric blanket. Heater was good for us as was not very cold though was raining throughout but will recommend for couple and families. We were the only people staying as was weekday and heavy rain forecast in Canterbury was in place.

Host was very warm and friendly and will recommend based on my experience. Also as centrally located everything was close by and it helped as was raining most of the time during my stay ( even though is a tiny town and most motels will be centrally located).

Will like to Thank the host for our stay and will recommend it to friends and family.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gvipin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David and Janice McMillan, Owner at Aspen Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2021

Thankyou for your review and next time you visit Hanmer we look forward to hosting you again, hopefully when it is showing its normal sunny face.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews