We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
146
20
7
0
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
146
20
7
0
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mary jo alpine villa green room plant based the private hot tub set you up for the day definitely recommend this place to anyone south island fantastic weekend fantastic hosts awesome stay bed was very comfortable heat pump hot pools magna fasting relaxation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2019

Beautiful place, beautiful people, beautiful food. It was a great place to relax and unwind. Steve was wonderful to interact with and was very helpful with local knowledge. The place was lovely and welcoming.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maps40914698734
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 January 2019

Lovely overnight trip from Christchurch. We all had a massage while there which was fabulous. We were treated so kindly and all our wants attended to. Having breakfast delivered to our cottage was great. A real treat.

Room tip: Fantastic cottage with 3 bedrooms and large living area great for the whole family.
Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bridget w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 December 2018 via mobile

I will be honest, and say that we had our doubts about this place when we booked it as part of a tour of the South Island. We thought it might be a bit 'hippy', which is not really our thing, but we went with an open mind and we are so pleased we did!

The property is amazing - just outside the village with stunning views over the mountains. It is incredibly peaceful - all you can hear from your room are birds.

The room was fabulous, with so many lovely touches so it felt just like staying in someone's home. The DVD player and selection of movies were a really lovely touch. We walked into town to use the thermal baths and have dinner, then returned home, wrapped ourselves in the fluffy bathrobes and chilled out with a film.

Breakfast was great and the spa package (exfoliation, massage and facial) was better than I've had in a lot of swanky hotels.

Absolutely loved it and would return in a heartbeat! Thank you Steve and Mary-Jo for making us feel so at home!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Carole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveH6057, Owner at Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2019

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in Hanmer Springs and it went beyond your expectation. Steve & Mary jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

A beautiful, peaceful place with wonderful treatments from MaryJo and awesome breakfasts from Steve!
We had crisp mornings with magnificent snow on the nearby mountains... while inside was cozy and warm.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alanedelmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 June 2018

I had the most wonderful time at the vibrant living retreat. It is warn and cosy with yummy food. I found the view to be beautiful and refreshing. A great place to come and get away from the world. Oh yeah and the massages aren't to bad either.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank megankarena
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews