We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ryan G
Howick, New Zealand

Fabulous accom with stunning views

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Jun 2024via mobile
We stayed in the deluxe spa room, which had a 2 person spa bath and spa pool on the deck, with stunning views. Huge room, really well appointed and the lodge itself is also great. Small gym if you’re into that. Had a great 2 night stay and would definitely come back.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $189
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $193
5.4 km from Braemar Lodge & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $198
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $198
5.2 km from Braemar Lodge & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
All King Studios can be set up with twin beds
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $155
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $155
5.7 km from Braemar Lodge & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $285
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $285
6.0 km from Braemar Lodge & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $129
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $129
5.0 km from Braemar Lodge & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $230
  • Lol.travel
    $191
  • Priceline
6.0 km from Braemar Lodge & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entry to ASPEN LODGE Motel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $155
  • Hotels.com
    $184
5.9 km from Braemar Lodge & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $161
  • ZenHotels.com
    $158
  • Priceline
4.8 km from Braemar Lodge & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $64
  • Agoda.com
6.9 km from Braemar Lodge & Spa
Free parking
Exterior of Chalets
$144
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $111
  • Trip.com
6.5 km from Braemar Lodge & Spa
Free parking
View more hotels in Hanmer Springs
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveller rating
355
104
66
35
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
355
104
66
35
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double shower restaurant staff bed was very comfortable little things suite jets luxury hanmer mountains relaxation honeymoon nz retreat onsite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 579 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2024

Many years ago, we enjoyed a two-night stay in this lodge. It was perfect.
But not this time. We have just had a three-night stay and it is clear that standards of maintenance, management, and restaurant have all dropped significantly
Many facilities in our room were not working and/or missing. The housekeeping standards were poor, we suspect due to a lack of adequate supervision, and on one day they forgot to service our room completely.
They messed up our request for a surprise birthday cake to be served as dessert on the second day. It was in our room on arrival. Wrong day. Wrong place.
The restaurant meals were merely average, and service extremely slow. Only one chef, one waiter, and apparently no other assistants.
The hotel’s accounting system was a shambles, and we ended up telling the manager exactly what our final balance should be. Checkout was the first time we had even seen the manager.
There is no reception between 7:00pm and 8:00am and at no time was there any concierge or help with luggage. This could be a problem with elderly guests.
Sadly, this stay which was in celebration of a big birthday, was not what we expected. We will not stay here again.

Room tip: Expect a few problems !
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Vaughan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leezel Daniel, General Manager at Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2024

Dear Vaughan,

We appreciate the time you took to share your valuable feedback with us. It is regrettable to hear that your recent experience with our services did not meet your expectations. As a company that prides itself on excellence, we take all feedback seriously and are committed to addressing your concerns.

We conducted an investigation into the matter and consulted with our team. We were pleased to learn that you gave positive feedback about the food and service during your stay. However, we understand that you were unsatisfied with the value of the extra services offered, which led to the misunderstanding.

We are committed to making things right and providing a more personalized experience that exceeds your expectations in the future. We would like to invite you to a discussion to address your concerns further and provide us with an opportunity to gain additional insights. Your feedback helps us improve our services and ensure that we deliver the highest level of satisfaction to all our guests.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to serving you in the future with improved services.

Best regards,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2024 via mobile

We stayed here one night to go to the hot springs. Lodge is about 10 mins drive away . Firstly we were able to check in early which was most appreciated. Suites are very spacious. Lovely and peaceful. Great bed. We chose to visit pools late afternoon and then have dinner in Hanmer so we could return to lodge early evening and enjoy the room amenities and the gas fire ambience . Buffet breakfast the next morning was good. A selection of hot options and cereal and pastries. Staff were so friendly, we felt really looked after and highly recommend staying here for a break away.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gailo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leezel Daniel, General Manager at Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2024

Dear Guest,

We Many thanks for taking the time write a review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again.

Thank you.
Braemer Manager .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2024

Absolutely beautiful to say the least!
As soon as my wife and I stepped foot in the room we were blown away. Service was exceptional, staff were lovely, the entire experience was fantastic. Thank you guys for the memories and I look forward to coming back again.
Nick & Ari

Room tip: Enjoy the experience
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leezel Daniel, General Manager at Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2024

Hi Nick,

Thank you for your wonderful rereview and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We all at Braemar strive hard to provide the best service. We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you .
Leezel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2024

Went for a romantic night away. We found, no restaurant or bar available that night, hot tub out of order, no bathrobes in the room. We were offered another room, but the hot tub was dirty! It took another attempt to get a suitable room with a clean working hot tub. Location, and view were amazing, but without food or drink within 3 kilometres away was a huge disappointment. I recommend taking something to eat, and drink, if visiting this hotel.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paradise35857802671
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leezel Daniel, General Manager at Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write review.
I am sorry that the spa pool was not cleaned as per your expectations. The colour of the water is not crystal clear because the water is from the wells and not from the publics water pipes.
The restaurant was closed for dinner due to an unavoidable reason and that, so a temporary decision taken. We are open for dinner Thursday to Monday until further notice and breakfast is served all seven days.

I am sorry for that you were not happy, and I hope you will come back so we can turn your memories to a wonderful stay.

Thank you.
Braemar Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2024

After having stayed at Braemar Lodge numerous times, we decided it would be the perfect venue for our winter wedding and it didn’t disappoint. We booked the entire lodge so we had it exclusively and so our guests could also stay. The staff were amazing at ensuring the day ran smoothly and the food was incredible. Thank you again Leezel and staff for the incredible work you all did to ensure our day was perfect! Would definitely recommend as a wedding venue and we can’t wait to come back and celebrate our first year anniversary.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Aimzthecoffeegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leezel Daniel, General Manager at Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2024

Hi ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a such wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and it was a up to your expectations. I will pass on your compliments to the Braemar team, and I look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you.
Leezel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews