We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
$236
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveller rating
353
104
66
35
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
353
104
66
35
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double shower restaurant staff bed was very comfortable little things suite jets luxury hanmer mountains relaxation honeymoon nz retreat onsite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 577 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2024

My partner & managed to book a night through Grab a deal NZ. The hospitality on arrival & all through our dinner, stay & breakfast was 10 out of 10. The food too was delicious, also 10 out of 10. The duty manager went above & beyond & upgraded us a room, even though we had arrived an hour early & there was no record of our booking.
We are just ordinary working class Kiwis that got to feel extra Special for a night’s break away. Something we would love to come back to once every year.
The only downside was the shingle road in that the local council needs to maintain better. Thanks, will certainly recommend Braemar Lodge back in Christchurch 😃

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NorthStar57923676947
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leezel Daniel, General Manager at Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2024

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a beautiful review for us, we all at Braemar strive hard to ensure all our guests are taken care of. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Look forward to seeing you Agin.

Thank you.
Leezel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2023 via mobile

I found this hotel to be of exceptional quality in terms of what was offered in the Superior Spa Suite and in the beautiful surrounds of the venue. I wasn’t expecting the enormous spa bath in the bathroom, or the fantastic shower pressure. The outdoor spa pool was also very comfortable and undercover, so I could enjoy it even on a rainy day. The room was really large with a very comfortable bed & pillows. I did not hear a thing except the sound of the birds outside. And it was also really peaceful in the room. Jason at reception was very welcoming and he made my day. The continental breakfast although small, was of very good quality - and even included a few hot items (also not expected). So it’s worth adding that on.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Kini68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leezel Daniel, General Manager at Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2023

Hellow,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a beautiful review. All staff at Breamar Lodge strive hard to ensure all our guest happy and enjoying their stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your compliments to Jason. Hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
Leezel Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2023

We stayed in one of the spa suites and the room was huge. Bed was really comfy and the hot tub came with a great view. Overall a very comfy room.

However, our meal was average at best with everything feeling under seasoned and fairly run of the mill. I would expect a better meal in a uk gastropub at a cheaper price point.

The biggest let down was breakfast. Maybe this is a British misunderstanding of what bed and breakfast entails but it normally means more than a self serve continental breakfast. The self serve went as far as the tea and coffee with filter coffee available or a flask of hot water for tea. Pre made scrambled eggs and bacon were available but it felt more like powdered egg than actual scrambled eggs. This really wasn’t in keeping with the spa hotel feeling and finished our stay on a poor note.

Should also mention that the staff were friendly when we arrived but correspondence in advance was awful as we emailed a few times without reply.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank paddymedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leezel Daniel, General Manager at Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2023

Hi ,

Thank you for taking the time to write review. However, we are sorry that you did not meet your expectation at breakfast. The breakfast is continental even though we serve hot food.

Thank you.
Regards,
Leezel Daniel



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2023

Great staff.Big room with view out to mountains. Very comfortable bed.
Would recommend Braemar Lodge for a break away from the rat race.
Restaurant serving great food with GF and DF options .
Totally reccomend.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Quentin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leezel Daniel, General Manager at Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2023

Hi,

Many thanks for thanking the time to write a grate review. We at Braemar lodge team are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing again.

Thank you.
Kind Regards.
Leezel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2023

The room was large and well proportioned, with a super-king bed and awesome pillows. Plenty of heating with a gas fire to light up a lovely dark evening, as well as a heatpump or air-conditioning unit to choose from. A double shower and an outside spa topped it off. We enjoyed a beautifully presented meal and dessert, all of very high quality. If you are looking for a peaceful special stay, I can HIGHLY recommend this place.

Room tip: Hanmer is a little drive away if you wanted to get takeaways. However, I recommend the restaurant for quality meals and wine.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Seaside61014233354
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leezel Daniel, General Manager at Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2023

Hello,

Many Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I & the team at Braemar are happy to hear that enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your comments to the team. Look forward to seeing you in the future.

Regards,
Leezel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews