We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Fun Afternoon on Lake Karapiro

Richard the owner was most hospitable and knowledgeable when we booked our 3hr self guided kayak... read more

Reviewed today
Roughy67
,
Auckland, New Zealand
via mobile
Amazing trip!

We had a wonderful time with our guide Trent! He was friendly, helpful and great with our teens... read more

Reviewed 16 December 2018
804linb
,
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 172 reviews
  
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
145
21
3
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
145
21
3
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glow worms kayak trip hot chocolate crackers the river lake karapiro double kayak roasting marshmallows a lot of fun an awesome experience great fun these guys wonderful evening new zealanders milky way whole family magical night
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2018

Right from the start this was a great experience. Following a comprehensive safety briefing and tuturial we set off on our double kayak (singles also available) to cross the lake and enter a magical world of lagoons and waterfalls. Just quietly watching the birdlife was an added bonus. A must do in Cambridge.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank peter_the_traveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

Miki and Shaun led a lovely tour out to a pasture overlooking Maungatautari (Sanctuary Mountain), some pleasant time with wine/cheese/crackers and hot choc whilst waiting for dark - no fire sadly (too dry at the moment). The kayaks were really easy to use and included steering foot paddles - took me a while to get the hang of this but great once I did.

Once dark, we formed a raft of 3-4 kayaks each and floated gently to see the Gloworms. Lovely experience - Miki had great chat and gave lots of interesting information.

Highly recommend this experience - will be back with friends.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank stephendavidadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

This kayak trip was amazing - could definitely give Waitomo a run for its money since its less commercial and touristy and is more of a true Kiwi experience. You do a 45 min kayak trip to a small campsite upstream where you sit around a campfire waiting for the sun to set. We enjoyed wine, cheese and crackers and drinking hot choc while roasting marshmallows. Then we drifted downstream and saw the amazing glowworms. The whole experience was very peaceful and relaxed.

10/10 would recommend our guides Miki, Trent and Taine - they did an awesome job and were super friendly (give these guys a raise!!)

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank bba9015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

Small groups, empty river and loads of glowworms. Not the touristy thing, which makes it well worth it!

Date of experience: December 2017
2  Thank Floris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

My grandson and I had a great evening, the kyacking was easy for someone with only a little experience. The guides were very helpful with initial tuition before we started and getting everyone comfortably into the kyacks and into the water without even getting your feet wet! Guides had good local knowledge and were friendly and approachable. Fireside wine, cheese and crakers was great. Drifting back down the river once dark, to view the glowworms was really stunning. Beautiful location.

Date of experience: December 2017
2  Thank Twisty333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews