We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fifteen years of excellence!”
other travellers have booked this property
Superior Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Superior Cottage
Superior Living Area Superior Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Superior Cottage
Superior Living Area
Superior Bedroom
Superior Fireplace
Regular Cottage
Regular Cottage Living Area
Regular Cottage Bedroom
Suites
Suite Living Area
Suites Twin Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Stanhope, Prince Edward Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Peggy H
Burlington, Canada
1 review
“Fifteen years of excellence!”
Reviewed 30 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

My family of four has been staying at Sandpiper for fifteen years now and every year has been a truly charming and restful holiday. The cottages in which we've stayed are always pristinely clean - very important for a family that suffers from acute allergies.
My boys are teenagesrs now but there has always been lots for them to do from playing in the sandbox and on the swings when they were younger, to playing endless ping pong and air hockey tournaments together and with the other kids staying at Sandpiper with whom they seem to make new friends every year.
I, personally, appreciate that the kitchen is so well equipped which results in less packing for me and easy meal preparations.
Our hosts, Pat and Keith, are very personable and have seen my boys grow up over the years. We can always count on them to share their spot-on recommendations of places to eat, sites to explore, beach conditions, and even current local theatre productions. They've never steered us wrong.
I have and will continue to recommend Sandpiper Cottages to my family and friends. For a relaxing, and stress-free vacation, Sandpiper delivers on its promises year after year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving - otherwise, nothing comes to mind
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davefleet
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Poor experience”
Reviewed 14 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

I stayed at Sandpiper with my wife and mother in July 2012. Unlike the other folks who have written reviews here, we had a profoundly bad experience.

We stayed in a two-bedroom "suite" for one night. On the plus side, the location of Sandpipers is superb - right next to the PEI national part and a glorious drive along the ocean. However, for us that was where the positive side ended. Among the problems we itemized to the owner the next morning:

1. Lots of dog hair in both bedrooms
2 .Long hair in the shower
3. Shower itself was very dirty
4. Chipped glass in the kitchen
5. Dirty glassware in the kitchen
6. Lamp in our bedroom didn't work

On a similarly poor (but less complaint-worthy) front:

- One of the bedrooms in the suite was barely big enough to accommodate the bed - there was maybe a foot or two of room available on two sides of the bed and the other two were against the wall.
- The cabin in which the suites were located was also set up to require you to park on the far side to the door, meaning a long mosquito-laden dash from car to door each time you went out.
- Coffee (from a Keurig machine) was $1.50 to purchase, and only from the front desk.

In the defence of the owners, we did receive a nice email from them apologizing for the cleanliness issue with our sheets (although not addressing the other elements). We appreciated the responsiveness from them after the fact, but we noted that rather than offering a discount from the full rate that we paid for our room, they offered us a discount if we returned to them in future - something that we have no intention of doing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location was the one redeeming feature
Liked least: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2012
We feel badly that Mr. Fleet and his family had this experience while staying on our property and continue to take full responsibility for our mistake. A copy of the email that we sent to them immediately after we’d had a chance to investigate their issues and on the day of their departure, follows our response.

We would like to point out that while Mr. Fleet indicated that we didn’t address all of his concerns, we are quite sure that had we followed our own policy and had we had our own cleaning staff available, the problems would not have existed. We would also like to mention that we are not a hotel, and there is a coffee pot provided in the housekeeping suite. The suite is rated by Canada select as 2 ½ stars, largely due to it’s size. Our website has pictures of the unit, clearly indicating it size and setup. The suites include quite a few of the amenities that are included in our 3 star cottages and we have many young families that love our affordable suite accommodations and return year after year.

Our email to Mr. Fleet and Family follows:

“ First of all, we would like to apologize again that your experience with us was not acceptable and certainly not to the standard that we expect from ourselves. We appreciate the fact that you took the time to let us know where we went wrong.

We have always prided ourselves on providing clean, well appointed spaces in a friendly environment and for the most part have been able to do that. While we can’t change your experience, we have completed a thorough analysis and investigation this morning and we’d like to offer an explanation, still taking full responsibility of course. It has always been our practice to try to leave a day between bookings when we’ve had a dog as a guest in one of our units. Unfortunately, in this case, not only did we not do that but we accepted your booking for one night when that too is against our policy. Our regular cleaners were not scheduled because of this and as a result we had to rely on another service to provide the cleaning. Our mistake was to afford them the trust that we normally provide our own cleaners and because Keith and I had to be out for the evening we were not available to assist you.

We hope you will accept our apology and we’d like to encourage you to visit us again. Please, if you have the opportunity to visit PEI again, please make sure you contact either of us directly and we will be pleased to offer you a discount for your stay.”
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archana S
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location, location, location - best beaches in PEI”
Reviewed 10 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. We stayed in the three-bedroom superior suite, which includes full kitchen, two bathrooms, washer/dryer, and lots of amenities. The location was absolutely perfect - a short stroll onto the beach at PEI National Park (and to Richard's Fish Eatery), and a short drive to the best beaches on the Island. The owners were really nice, and lent us a park pass for the entire week. Plus, they had beach chairs and umbrellas for rent at a very cheap rate.

The suite is really roomy, with nice beds and linens, and a huge TV with DVD player. There are a couple of box A/Cs for really hot days, plus a couple of fans.

I would say that the only downside was the cottage suite itself - which could have used a bit more TLC in terms of cleanliness/maintenance/upgrading. The dishwasher didn't clean the dishes well and the bath could use a plastic liner to avoid mold on the curtain. One of the toilet tanks wouldn't stop running, so we had to keep pulling the chain to fix it (and it was filthy). But, it is a cottage and meant to be fairly rustic.

I would definitely stay there again given the great space and the incredible location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and service
Liked least: Maintenance/cleanliness of the unit
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are really glad you enjoyed your vacation with us and will look forward to your return. We are however a bit disappointed that you didn't tell us of the few issues you had with your suite.

We have a saying around the Sandpiper "If you are happy and satisfied with us, tell your friends - if you have a problem, tell us!". In fact, when we cleaned the unit for the next folks coming in, we realized the dishwasher hot water hadn't been turned on and that was fixed immediately. We didn't notice the running toilets (or the condition inside the tanks) but when our next guests let us know, we changed out the stoppers on the spot. We moved away from the plastic shower curtains a few years back for that exact reason - we now have washable curtains that get changed out regularly.

I hope we have addressed your concerns and would really love to have you come back and visit again!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ON
Reviewed 3 July 2012 for a stay in July 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
I_love_PE...
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Can't wait to go back!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We came for almost a week with our 5 young children, and we loved it at Sandpiper Cottages. The location is excellent, especially for young children, since it is away from roads or water (although it is walking distance from the breathtaking Northern shore of PEI and Prince Edward National Park).

The central play area is great for the kids, it was nice that they could just run out and play without me worrying (although there was a very friendly dog on premises whom my older kids loved to play with but my toddler was terrified of!)

The actual cottage was beautiful (we stayed in the superior housekeeping cottage, which I recommend), we really enjoyed the all-wood interior, and it was spacious enough for all seven of us! It was clean, everything was working, and the furnishings were nice, (although the couch was a little worn out/old and could be replaced).

The service from the owners was very kind and accomodating, they were very helpful and went very far to help us be comfortable: receiving us even though we got lost and came past the office closing time, giving us extra towels, helping me light the barbeque, putting in a playpen for the baby to sleep in, clearing out the fire pit and setting it up, putting ant traps in the cottage to help reduce their numbers (hey its a cottage!), giving us a map of the island, giving recomendations on what to see and where to go, and immediately fixing an unexpected leak from the pipe under the kitchen sink). Thank you for all those things!

We loved our trip to PEI and our stay at Sandpiper and can't wait to go back one day!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2011
Thanks for your kind words. We work hard to keep our cottages and our property well maintained and upgraded on a regular basis. Being first footers at the beginning of the season, we appreciated your letting us know the few things that needed attention.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing