We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place”
other travellers have booked this property
The original farmhouse (Elm cottage)  at Barnwell restored to its former glory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The original farmhouse (Elm cottage)  at Barnwell restored to its former glory
Elm kitchen Elm twin bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The original farmhouse (Elm cottage)  at Barnwell restored to its former glory
Elm kitchen
Elm twin bedroom
Summer outside Clover cottage
Brooks bedroom en suite
Brooks lounge
Brooks kitchen
Autumn garden outside Clover cottage
View from Flax cottage
Games/Function room
Games/Function room
Flax cottage lounge
Clover cottage
Barley cottage
Barley kitchen area
Barnwell Logo
Games Room set up for function
Our new fishing lake
Nearby Mt.Stewart gardens in spring
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Greyabbey, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jasper L
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Lovely cottages to stay in very good inside and out wash rooms for laundry just out side ,internet available very clean and every thing you need .

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norahs296
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is a really lovely place to stay. Both the location and the property met all our needs. The cottage was really well equipped and comfortable. The games room with all the toys was excellent for our two year old grandson. The friendly welcome certainly got the holiday off to a great start. Northern Ireland exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed beautiful weather during our stay and appreciated much gorgeous scenery.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm Irish welcome”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived, we knew we'd chosen the right place. The cottages are set in the most beautiful location, Irish countryside at it's very best. I was so impressed by the 2 cottages we rented; they were modern, clean and comfortable, but still had a traditional farmhouse feel. Everything was beautifully decorated, and the kitchens had all utensils and even a proper coffee machine! Anne, the housekeeper who lives on site, made us feel very welcome, like friends coming to stay. She also was great for recommending all the best local places to visit. A really lovely holiday!

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josjuar L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“five star”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Not my first time staying here, is's been my third actually!! Absolutely LOVE this place made so many happy memories here!! Five star service lovely little cottages and a great games room!! I am definitely coming back again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAG2013
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have now stayed in a variety of the cottages at Barnwell. We have always had a great time. The cottages are clean and well equipped. The games room is excellent for children as are the surrounding fields and gardens. This time we were able to enjoy the trails which have been put in place and just add an extra thing to do. We are going back next year as it's hard to beat when you have a young family and want to entertain them and their friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Games room
Liked least: No bin liners for bin - just an oversight I expect
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing