We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a fantastic place for a relaxing break”
other travellers have booked this property
The original farmhouse (Elm cottage)  at Barnwell restored to its former glory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The original farmhouse (Elm cottage)  at Barnwell restored to its former glory
Elm kitchen Elm twin bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
The original farmhouse (Elm cottage)  at Barnwell restored to its former glory
Elm kitchen
Elm twin bedroom
Summer outside Clover cottage
Brooks bedroom en suite
Brooks lounge
Brooks kitchen
Autumn garden outside Clover cottage
View from Flax cottage
Games/Function room
Games/Function room
Flax cottage lounge
Clover cottage
Barley cottage
Barley kitchen area
Barnwell Logo
Games Room set up for function
Our new fishing lake
Nearby Mt.Stewart gardens in spring
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Greyabbey, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cathmoret
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place for a relaxing break”
Reviewed 8 July 2011 for a stay in April 2011
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the cottages and loved every minute. It was perfect for our two year old with a variety of animals on hand, all the equipment you could possibly need and a fantastic games barn to keep us all happy and busy. We stayed before pre-children and it was equally good with a log fire, comfortable bedrooms, really well equipped kitchens and everything of a very high standard. We can't wait to go back.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveller...
Preston
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Welcoming, relaxing and friendly. A wonderful place to stay.”
Reviewed 7 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011
4
people found this review helpful

We have stayed at these cottages quite a few times, visiting family locally, and found them to be lovely and welcoming no matter what the season. In winter the wood burning stoves (with free wood) are great, and in summer the lovely, peaceful location is gorgeous.
This time, we booked the whole place for a family reunion. Michael and Vi couldn’t have been more helpful, and nor could Anne, the housekeeper. Everyone thought the cottages were kept to a really high standard, and the games room provided entertainment for the young – and some of the not so young!
The rural setting is lovely, but so close to Strangford Lough on one side, and the beaches of the peninsula on the other. Some of the younger/braver members of the party went for a swim on Ballywalter beach.
All in all, wonderfully comfortable cottages in a great location, with extremely helpful owners and housekeeper. We will be back!

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eatonsof6...
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Simply superb!”
Reviewed 10 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011
4
people found this review helpful

Barnwell Farm Cottages are simply the best. We stayed with our two younger children for 10 days and it was definitely a home away from home. We stayed in Brooks Cottage which we found to be extremely comfortable and well appointed - we even had a large family gathering with no worries at all. Anne was always on hand to provide advice and Michael couldn't have made us feel more welcome. I would highly recommend these cottages to anyone who would like a bit of peace, quiet and space. They are close to Newtownards and not that far from Belfast itself. There is so much to do in the local area, we could have stayed a month.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lievenort...
Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to get married!!!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2009 for a stay in July 2009
4
people found this review helpful

My now husband and me got married here and rented all the cottages for our friends and family to stay. We have also been able to use one of the fields to put up a big marquee for the big day. The cottages are excellent and everybody just loved their stay! The cottages and surroundings are up to a high standard and all kept verry clean. It was fantastic to get married here and have friends and family stay for a week, which made it al so much more relaxing. Anne, the keeper, was verry helpfull and extremely friendly! If you are looking for a nice relaxing trip to northern ireland and a good base to discover it from don't miss out on this place!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethelred
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“First choice for self catering”
Reviewed 29 October 2007 for a stay in October 2007
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Clover cottage 22-26/10/07 after having stayed at the slightly smaller cottage theprevious year.The accomodation is faultless,clean tidy with little extras such as fresh milk,bread,orange juice and cereals for when you arrive. The rooms though small are really well and really tastefully decorated,equipped with all mod cons and a log burning fire fuelled with logs supplied free. The staff are realy friendly and welcoming and there is the added plus of a well equipped games room with free pool,table tennis and air hockey.

Onequick read of the visitorsbook in every cottage exemplifies that every other visitor feels likewise.

The site is an excellant base for exploring the quaint and pictureesque Ards Peninisula. There are nearby good restauants such as The Wildfowler Inn in Greyabbey and the quirkky White Satin Chinese restauant where for a mere £6.50 you can get a four coursemeal you can also take your own wine for an additional £2.50 corkage fee. Furtherafield there are excellant pubs at Donaghadee (Grace o' Neills reputedly the oldest pub in Northern Ireland) and the Saltwater brig at Kirkcubbin. Sample the chips at any establishment and revel at how chips should taste.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Clean,value for money accomodation
Liked least: There was not a pub next door
Visit was for: Quality time with friends
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing