We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best ever.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Millpond Cottage

River view Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
River view Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
River view Balcony
Sat on the River Holme
Sat on the River Holme
Sat on the River Holme
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tetra80
north west england,
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best ever.”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My partner and I stayed here at millpond cottage from thurs the 5th May till weds the 11th May 2016. a total of 6 nights and believe me that was no where near long enough. we had booked it as my daughter was getting married in holmfirth. and having the dog made it easier rather then a bed and breakfast. from first booking the cottage till our arrival was made so easy by the lovely Kate the owner.as i had to change the length of stay a couple of times due to our 12 hour shifts nothing was to much trouble and was done with ease. we were met on arrival by the lovely kate. and the provisions provided of which there is alot. is very thoughtful.

the cottage is lovely and very tastefully decorated.the different lights definately give it a homily feel and what we loved was sitting out on the balcony either just listening to the tranquility of the water and i got alot of pleasure feeding the ducks and the chicks. . and as we were blessed with lovely weather. the walk along side the river into holmfirth is a must. even the dog had a paddle in there. there is an abundence of shops to choose from. and some spectacular walks as the scenery is just breath taking. digley reservoir is also lovely to have a walk round. i kept finding new roads id never been down and still havent explored them all. the pubs are very close by and nearly all welcome dogs. which to us is important, lots of places to get food from. and a londis for emergency supplies. but most of them are in the provisions left by kate and Steve. .steve and i were fascinated by the old mill faceing and was able to look up the history of it which we found exciteing. and there is some history provided in the cottage of holmfirth which again is thoughtful. I really didnt want to leave the cottage and felt quite emotional doing so never had that before and we have stayed at a few. This is a gem of a cottage and very very well equipped, and i cant speak highly enough of Kate and Steve. who go that extra mile for people. and i will be sending some wedding photos for kate to have a look at. we will definately be staying here again. infact i cant wait to do so. thank you so much to Kate and steve for a fabulous holiday. love Yvonne Steve & Teisha the dog.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sitting on the balcony listening to the water. and the cosiness of the cottage.
Liked least: loved it all.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn S
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Millpond Cottage”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in July 2015

We had a lovely welcome from Kate when we stayed at Millpond cottage. It's in a good location, it's about 15 / 20 min walk into Holmfirth. We would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCW4
Sevenoaks
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Compact little gem”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Cozy cottage with interesting little barony over stream. Saw kingfisher and gold rests within half and hour. Quiet location at edge of village. Enough equipment provided; storage space is at a premium. Warm and helpful welcome from Kate. Supplied her own eggs, milk, bread and locally-made marmalade.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomadmuso
England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very cosy,would happily go again”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had a lovely few days here, lovely evenings with the log burner. Great communication with the owner, Kate. Definitely recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish J
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Beautiful Cottage With A Fabulous View!”
Reviewed 16 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is our 3rd visit to this beautiful cottage....Kate & Steve have now had a balcony built & what a difference it has made!....It was lovely being able to sit out of a morning having breakfast, listening to the birds & feeding the ducks our left over toast...equally beautiful of an evening sitting out whilst partaking of a glass of something cool, especially with the balcony fairy lights on!....The space it has made inside the cottage is amazing too..It's a gorgeous cottage comfy & spotlessly clean ...a little heaven to stay in...Must mention the Stumble Inn we called in for lunch a couple of times..It's a cosy traditional pub & the Sunday lunch is amazing so if anyone has the chance it's well worth a visit...In the middle of our holiday Abby our pooch had an unfortunate accident & had to be rushed into Abbey House Veterinary Hospital in Leeds & was hospitalized for 5 days therefore we had to extend our stay for an extra night, I just want to thank Kate for her kindness & hospitality as she let us stay on at no extra charge...What a lovely genuine person she really is.... Glad to say Abby is now on the way to a full recovery so all's well & we are looking forward to our next visit to the beautiful cottage that now has a fabulous view!.......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Love all of it but the new balcony has made such a difference.
Liked least: All good nothing at all to complain about..
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$79
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing