We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Compact little gem”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Millpond Cottage

River view Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
River view Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
River view Balcony
Sat on the River Holme
Sat on the River Holme
Sat on the River Holme
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HCW4
Sevenoaks
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Compact little gem”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Cozy cottage with interesting little barony over stream. Saw kingfisher and gold rests within half and hour. Quiet location at edge of village. Enough equipment provided; storage space is at a premium. Warm and helpful welcome from Kate. Supplied her own eggs, milk, bread and locally-made marmalade.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomadmuso
England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very cosy,would happily go again”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had a lovely few days here, lovely evenings with the log burner. Great communication with the owner, Kate. Definitely recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish J
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Beautiful Cottage With A Fabulous View!”
Reviewed 16 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is our 3rd visit to this beautiful cottage....Kate & Steve have now had a balcony built & what a difference it has made!....It was lovely being able to sit out of a morning having breakfast, listening to the birds & feeding the ducks our left over toast...equally beautiful of an evening sitting out whilst partaking of a glass of something cool, especially with the balcony fairy lights on!....The space it has made inside the cottage is amazing too..It's a gorgeous cottage comfy & spotlessly clean ...a little heaven to stay in...Must mention the Stumble Inn we called in for lunch a couple of times..It's a cosy traditional pub & the Sunday lunch is amazing so if anyone has the chance it's well worth a visit...In the middle of our holiday Abby our pooch had an unfortunate accident & had to be rushed into Abbey House Veterinary Hospital in Leeds & was hospitalized for 5 days therefore we had to extend our stay for an extra night, I just want to thank Kate for her kindness & hospitality as she let us stay on at no extra charge...What a lovely genuine person she really is.... Glad to say Abby is now on the way to a full recovery so all's well & we are looking forward to our next visit to the beautiful cottage that now has a fabulous view!.......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Love all of it but the new balcony has made such a difference.
Liked least: All good nothing at all to complain about..
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn12...
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent cottage with wonderful views”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Wonderful holiday cottage with excellent walks to Holmfirth and surrounding area. So much to do that we did not have time to do all we wanted. The welcome pack with bread, marmalade, milk and butter, tea bags when arriving after a long journey was great. Great restaurants and cafes as in all of Yorkshire. So nice to see that wool and yarns are being spun in Yorkshire again and many mills have now re-opened. Loved Byram Arcade in Huddersfield. Hope to go back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful views completely unspoiled
Liked least: Beds a little uncomfortable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren090...
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“British Summer Wine Experience”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Seriously, what's not to like about this cottage? A beautiful cottage in an idyllic location.

When we arrived we were greeted by Kate who told us about all the places we could visit, the local pubs and eateries and suggested walks. All welcome information.

We stayed three nights and the evening weather wasn't great, thunder storms two nights in a row, but we had a couple of lovely afternoons out. And staying in, playing cards, watching TV (and the rain) was still enjoyable because Millpond Cottage is so homely.
The view out the back window is lovely. The ducks swim up and down all day. Keep an eye out for the heron on the roof of the building opposite, he visited two mornings in a row. Many other birds to see too. Note to self: bring binoculars next time. I also heard that a kingfisher frequents the area although we didn't catch a glimpse.

I'd highly recommend a walk to Holmfirth. For those of a certain age that grew up watching Last of the Summer Wine, the exhibition is well worth the entrance fee. We also walked to Ramsden Reservoir which offers some beautiful and scenic views.

All in all, we look forward to returning to Millpond Cottage. And next time, we hope, there will be access on to the new balcony.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful cottage in idyllic surroundings
Liked least: Trustworthy and reliable British weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$67
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing